We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stipp Hotel Kacyiru
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. The reception staff are always friendly and welcoming and any problems usually get resolved.

The rooms are satisfactory albeit dimly lit. The bathrooms are large and the shower great but could do with some general maintenance. Some rooms have better internet connectivity than others due to a fairly ad-hoc method of router locations and the internet generally works well and is adequate and free.

The restaurant staff struggle with English but are keen to assist. The food is well presented and whilst the quantity is good - the quality is not great. Many of the things are seriously overcooked.

The hotel has a good swimming pool but limited facilities for sitting around it. There is a spa/health centre which is a little difficult to use since the staff speak no English at all - but the massage is excellent and very resonable priced.

Room Tip: The hotel is split across two areas. Walking to the 2nd area whilst only a few mins - will prove irr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Please check my review under STIPP HOTEL ( 2 words) as they are the same Hotel. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed only one night prior to an early morning departure and did not eat any food here so we can't comment on that, however, we did require a couple of drinks before retiring for the night. I did not think it possible to interpret " one Jack Daniels and a beer " so many different ways. Between ordering this at the pool and the same order at our room, 9 attempts were made, with all manner of things being bought to us, reminiscent of 'Manuel' at his finest! English obviously is not the 2nd. 3rd. or 4th. language required by the staff here. The front desk do fare better, which was probably necessary in order to perpetuate their shuttle scam on us. As we were leaving at 4am. I settled the room bill before turning in . At this time I also booked and paid ( US $30 ) for a taxi to the Airport. In the morning, the taxi was there waiting as promised and all seemed well until the staff suddenly sent him away and told us we would be put on the Hotel shuttle bus. Apparently the taxi driver expected to be paid by us at trips end and when the morning desk staff were informed that it had been pre-paid, their English fell away quite quickly. After more than half an hours' delay and increasing panic and frustration on our part they finally dug up a vehicle complete with unlicensed under-aged driver and got us to the Airport ( barely ) and no doubt celebrated with their thirty dollar profit and their bad review! Cheers.

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had seen this rated as a 2* hotel but I have seen worse 3* hotels in the world.

Having just come from Uganda, we found staff not particularly friendly - but they weren't rude, just lacking the warmth we had become accustomed to. Compared with the friendly smiling Ugandans who would chat away, staff here barely nodded an acknowledgement when you said hello.

Our room was well equipped with tv, ample lighting, comfy bed, a very good hot shower and bath (lovely after a fortnight of jungle type accommodation) and a good selection of toiletries. Ok, the bathroom is starting to look a bit "tired" and it is not a flat screen tv but it was perfectly clean and I don't need the most up to date tv. Wifi is also available.

Food was a bit disappointing with quantity over quality but we loved a chocolate mousse which was on the set menu. Not light or fluffy, more like solid good quality dark chocolate which was refrigerated but we enjoyed it.

The only real negative were the very noisy creaking doors - I'm sure a bit of oil would make a difference... The pool had lots of tables but only 2 sunloungers which seemed a bit odd. The decor is also very odd - the neon lights at night around the hotel and in the pool are a bit weird in my opinion. Similarly, the swan figures on a rock pool by the swimming pool just seem odd - way too eclectic a mix of things going on.

Incidentally they don't have a tip box system so if you are staying, best to tip porters, waitresses individually if you wish to.

Overall, an acceptable place to stay for a night or even 2 which won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is more of a resort with beautiful flowering trees everywhere.
The food in the restaurant is very good if somewhat pricey and the staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaints would be that the electronic keys for the rooms constantly need to be reprogrammed which can become extremely frustrating if you are in and out of your room all day and laundry service is ridiculously expensive. There is wifi, but the signal is spotty and weak in certain locations.
Because of the hills and altitude, walking can get tiring fast. There are only really two restaurants within walking distance; Chez John and Saffron. Therefore you must take a taxi anywhere, which are quite expensive considering that this is a developing country. It's better to take a moto taxi, but it can be difficult to explain locations since most address are just given neighborhood and not actual street address.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaguelyVagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here 1 night courtesy of Kenya airways who had canceled my flight to Nairobi. Hotel room well fitted but no attention had been paid to mosquitos - was buzzed and bitten by one.
Manager was very welcoming but receptionist was insistent that I was noit staying there, the communication issue was quickly resolved however.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed one night in the hotel while waiting for the trip to Ruhengeri. The hotel is quite calm and we could sleep very well there. The staff are friendly but as it was a short stay, we did not need so much attention from them. The food was quite bad and so was the breakfast, partly maybe due to late wake up so we were among the last to eat. We did not get WIFI to work of some reason despite it should be free of charge.
Good basic hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK7907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.9 mi away
Great Appartment Hotel
Great Appartment Hotel
#20 of 49 in Kigali
1 reviews
4.7 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#8 of 49 in Kigali
244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Portofino Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kigali
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#13 of 49 in Kigali
136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 49 in Kigali
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stipp Hotel Kacyiru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stipp Hotel Kacyiru

Address: Boulevard de l'Umuganda, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing