We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golf Hills Residence
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I'm not entirely sure how this received such good reviews. My friend and I found it to be a deeply average midrange hotel with mediocre service.

Golf Hills looks nice from the outside, but the rooms are bland and small, and lacking the basics: for a business style hotel at more than USD100 per night, you expect better than small foam mattresses, no provided toiletries and a small bottle of drinking water in a city where the tap water is off limits.

The service was a real disappointment: when my friend rang to ask for more water, he was instantly accused of asking for too much and scolded that he was lucky to get the "free water" he did. Except for the same price room in Ruhengeri, a rural area with much less competition, we had more water, included toiletries and real mattresses.

Ordering food was another pain: a margarita pizza took more than an hour to arrive, for no good reason, no apologies and when it wasn't busy. Not good enough - although seems to be a theme, reading other reviews. We were later told they "forgot" the order, which only makes it worse.

Could be a nice place with a bit more care and a bit less stingy cost cutting. Ruhengeri proved this price point in Rwanda need not be threadbare

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mosbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
19
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A real find. Stayed here after a safari. Safari company had us stay one night at Kigali Serena and we were "on our own" for a second night - decided to stay at a smaller, local place - Golf Hills was great. Quiet at night. Good value - $100 USD compared with about $350 for the Serena. Rooms were large, comfortable & clean with nice bathroom. Nice patio/balcony area where we sat outside and had a gin & tonic while looking out over the city with glimpse of in-town golf course. Staff very friendly & helpful, especially a young man named Edige who works in evenings - really pleasant & helpful, good English skills - helped get us dinner in their small dining room (food very fresh, large portions, reasonably priced - one of us had a vegetable curry and the other one tilapia.) Edige brought coffee & toast to our room at 3:30am as we had to leave for airport at 4. They will arrange a pick up at airport but since we arrived on our own they provided our return to airport. Has swimming pool but not functioning when we stayed here. 2 cranes walking around the property provide some pretty entertainment. Didn't have breakfast due to our early departure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshaw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is great. Rooms are large and clean and safe. The showers are great and there's lots of hot water (no solar showers here!).

Owner is very helpful but the staff are pretty incompetent and their language skills (English and French) are poor. Breakfast could be improved.

It's not near the town centre so you'll need to rent a car / get expensive taxis everywhere (or get a moto!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I rarely drum about places have been to but this was as an exception.We there first week of July. Golf Hills residence made us feel more at home than a hotel, more like an affordable boutique hotel. We travelled with our son, picked from the airport by Ananie taxi driver arranged by the hotel.
Reception was excellent. The room was good and an extra bed was arranged for our son. Apart from breakfast taken in the dining room, food was prepared as you ordered and was brought to your room or the balcony or dining room. The cooks would go out of their way to make what you want. My wife had missed chapati for a long time, we thought we'd give it a try and requested Mugabe the young man serving us if it was possible, knowing Kigalians, chapati is not their speciality. But they did make some good chapatis for my wife.

They also arranged for a taxi to take us round Kigali, and even advised us on places to see.
Antoinette the manager also came to our rescue when the taxi driver wanted to overcharge us.
To many the rooms may be basic and all that but the brilliant staff are the ones that make this place tick, I also liked the quietness of the place. We only spent 3 days but by the time I left I knew almost everyone in Golf Hills by name.
Will surely be going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkiawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Golf Hills Residence is located about 15 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the center of Kigali by car. It is comprised of 2 two-storey buildings next to one another that look like large houses. Taxis sometimes have difficulty finding it, so I would take advantage of their free airport pick-up service.

The rooms are basic but spacious and very clean. The team is unbelievably professional, polite and service-oriented. Breakfast is included in the room rate and consists of fruit juice, coffee, fresh cut fruit, crepes, bread and eggs to order. The restaurant is open 24 hours a day and can prepare very reasonably-priced dishes from a fixed menu. Wifi is free but occasionally, upload speeds are slow.

This is a great small hotel that's well worth the price. The only downsides I can think of are location (it's not conveniently to the center, but that might be a reason why someone would stay there) and the rooms feel a bit stuffy (no a/c or fans). Also, because there's a lot of tile and hard surfaces in the common areas, noise can be a problem when people come and go.

All of the guests I encountered during my 3-night stay were American or European tourists and seemed quite happy with the place. It has a homey feel and offers nice common-use balconies on which you can have a drink or meal. If you're on a budget, it's a nice, safe, clean option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveryCountryBy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Golf Hills was a perfect choice for my fist visit to Kigali. Away from the bustle of the city centre it's perched on a hill looking over to the golf course. It's on a busy road but raised above so although you can hear traffic you forget its there and can't see it.
I had a single room - great value - large room with comfy double bed and en-suite, fridge, and big bay window. the bathroom was fine...a few little things like the shower head didn't stay in the bracket and the towel rail kept dropping off but these are little niggles and not important. Plenty of hot water and everything very clean. Wifi not always reliable in the rooms but worked much of the time and always good in reception / lounge area.
Breakfasts were lovely and ample - I can recommend the spanish omelette with ham and cheese! The dining room lacked a little atmosphere and would have benefitted from a view, but I grabbed the one balcony table each morning, which was a great place to sit, looking over the gardens.
The staff could not have been more helpful and charming - especially Egide and Esperance. Nothing was too much trouble and when I arrived back the first evening and asked for a mosquito net, (which I'm not sure I really needed, in retrospect) it was there in a flash.
The most difficult thing was directing taxis and moto taxis to the hotel, as no-one seemed to have heard of it - I recommend you ask reception to give you some clues to help the drivers (maps dont work). This worked well.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a big room with double bed, which I had as a single. Excellent value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 with my family (including 2 kids under 3 years)... The hotel has basic amenities but the friendly, helpful staff make up for this. Accommodation is pretty basic, swimming pool is out of order, TV in one of the rooms did not work, meals were not the best with the exception of breakfast which was pretty good.

I would definitely recommend the hotel on account of the good service they offer. They even allowed us access into the kitchen to prepare baby food whenever we needed to! Great manager too...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanjiru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 48 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#10 of 48 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 48 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Property: Golf Hills Residence
Address: Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf Hills Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golf Hills Residence A place you feel at home away from your home with a mixture of Western-African interior designing and a warmth welcome from our highly trained staff and outstanding services. We are always overwhelmed each time we receive new guests because it is another occasion to show how much we care about them. It is a legacy we have built over the years among our guests across the world since Golf Hills Residence started, where we are also honored to have received a traveler’s choice award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Golf Hills Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing