We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Hills Residence- clean and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golf Hills Residence
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golf Hills Residence- clean and accomodating”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Golf Hills Residence in Kigali. Perched on a hillside, we enjoyed the daily breezes and cooler nights.
The food: Breakfast of fresh fruit, breads, eggs-to-order, samosas, porridge and beverages filled us for much of ours day's activity. Dinners are made-from-scratch and filling (beef, chicken or fish with choice of starch and mixed vegetables), and cost less than comparable quality/quantity at other Kigali restaurants. There is a Rwandan tendency to cook everything "well-done", but that is a food safety measure in a developing country.
The rooms: large with king-size bed, clothes wardrobe, desk, table, nightstands; baths have showers. The rooms were kept clean and sprayed to discourage any insect invasion. Two complimentary bottles of water provided daily (shouldn't drink tap water in Rwanda), and more can be purchased at reception, or a short walk down the street to the local supermarket.
Reception will arrange taxi service for guests, both from the hotel and from any location in the area. They can also arrange for a private driver if you'd like to take tours into the countryside.
Two beautiful crested cranes hang out on the front lawn- beautiful to see these elegant birds every morning.
The pool was not in working order at the time of our visit, but we didn't go to Rwanda to swim. No gym facilities, but a walk or run around anywhere in hilly Kigali will keep you in shape.
My husband was working with a school accreditation team of 7; everyone had a private room and the upstairs "common area" of our building was dedicated as their working area. Only his team's members were given rooms on that floor to ensure the privacy of the working team. Some team members chose to work on the balcony at times, enjoying the warm Rwandan days. Golf Hills accommodated their odd working hours, serving their pre-ordered dinner in the restaurant at the time team requested. The management and staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Free wi-fi throughout, too!

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped the same. The building is two floors and there is no elevator. The staff ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
20
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a great hotel! Great value for money and really comfortable. It offers an authentic Rwandan experience with the comforts of home thrown in. The manager Antoinette was so lovely and helpful. When we mentioned we were going on to Tanzania and hadn't organised it yet she was straight on the phone helping set us up and got us a great price too! Couldn't be happier!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-michelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here in March 2013, and have to say the accommodation and staff were fantastic. Great location, quiet area, impressive views. Rooms really comfortable and well appointed. The atmosphere brilliant and staff were friendly and so helpful. We had some problems with flight delays and they went out of their way to help us with extra accommodation, and getting to and from the airport. They just couldn't do enough to help. I would highly recommend this, especially to females traveling on their own as you can be assured Antoinette and her staff will take great care of you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila000_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Kigali. I think it is really good value for money. The rooms are really big and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are also big and the showers are great. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free wi-fi throughout.
All in all a good choice in Kigali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Golf Hills Residence is a gem! Out of the busy city centre it is ideally located and 15min from the airport! The rooms are very clean, spacious and the staff go the extra mile to make sure you have all the comfort you need! Our plane was cancelled and Antoinette took us up for an extra 12 hours so that we can rest and have a shower before the next flight out!

Loved the free services of cleaning your shoes (especialy if you have been in the forests and gorilla tracking!). The food at the restaurant is well prepared and good value for money!

I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is just amazing. The facilities are excellent and clean, the staff are friendly and always helpful, the manager Antoinette is an angel really. My best experience is the view of Kigali at night. From my room the room was just magical. Security is top notch and the environment clean and serene. Totally recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with excellent customer service. The rooms are clean, pleasant and well proportioned. The views from the hotel overlook the city's golf resort and are a treat. The decor of the hotel is pleasant and uplifting. The manager is hospitable, friendly and kind - she will look after your interests. Five stars and well deserved. I will definitely come again - you wont find better value for money in Rwanda!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.2 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
2.5 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
119 reviews
2.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#10 of 47 in Kigali
113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#7 of 47 in Kigali
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Property: Golf Hills Residence
Address: Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf Hills Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golf Hills Residence A place you feel at home away from your home with a mixture of Western-African interior designing and a warmth welcome from our highly trained staff and outstanding services. We are always overwhelmed each time we receive new guests because it is another occasion to show how much we care about them. It is a legacy we have built over the years among our guests across the world since Golf Hills Residence started, where we are also honored to have received a traveler’s choice award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Golf Hills Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing