We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How away from Home: 5 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golf Hills Residence
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“How away from Home: 5 Star Service”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My friends, family and I stayed at the Golf Hills Residence Hotel from the 18th to 20th during our 'Gusaba' or traditional Rwandan Introduction.

The team at Golf Hills residence went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The breakfast as the most important meal of the day, we must say, was very well prepared with a variety of food at the buffet. The range of beverages including our 'African Tea', what we call mixed tea was superbly prepared and the hot stuff (omlette's) were universally well: We still don't know how they did it!. The Manager was hands on in ensuring the the hotel accommodated our diverse needs. The service was excellently:

The rooms were simple, running hot water (it was really there!) when you turned on the taps. The view of the golf course, the quietness and its design as simply a home meets the needs of travelers like us who are so used to hotel type accommodation.

The young ones were kept downstairs while the elderly members of the family were given rooms in the quietness of upstairs, far away from the noise and laughter of the night crawlers!, yes, this was a celebratory trip.

This is my tenth time to Kigali and what a surprise! I honestly could not compare it to any of the highly rated hotels in the city: and the Wi-Fi works! for the geeks in us, this was heaven.

Its location makes the city center accessible via the less congested road (not that Kigali has traffic!), a convenient store is a walking distance and MTN center is about 3,000 amafaranga away by cab.

If there was a hotel that gives value for money and yet provides that sense of being at home, then this is the right prescription. We now have a place to stay in our visits to Kigali! now that we are officially in-laws!

I unreservedly offer my highest recommendation (if you fancy the stuff that I have described above) for anyone to stay in this place. I dare you, these guys know what they are doing!.

Philip

Room Tip: Well if you are a party person, the downstairs is for you! but for those looking for a quiet stay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
20
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I am always really suspicious when I see that a place that is rated top in a town/city is full of reviews by people who have only ever posted one review. And after spending a night at the disappointingly sterile Mille Collines hotel I thought I would try it anyway and I wasnt disappointed.

This place lives up to its reviews. Yes it is a little far out if you dont have your own transport (it took me an hour to walk to the genocide museum along a very safe road) but it more than makes up for it in the size of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. My room was huge and was a suite all for $60 a night which is fantastic value for Kigali.

I had a few minor issues with the food one night and the bathroom - both of which was solved quickly by the hotel.

There is a nice veranda for sitting having a sundowner and a comfortable lounge area where you can chat to other guests. Great breakfast too. If I am ever back in Kigali I wouldn't hestitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becksupeverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I spent a while at the residence on a business trip in Kigali. The rooms are very clean and modern and the hotel staff is extremely friendly, responsive and helpful. The wifi actually worked very well relative to the Serena's and the food was great too.
I will definitely go back to the residence on my next trip to Kigali!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FKNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am really pleased to have booked myself at the Golf Hills Residence - I stayed there for 3 weeks and all through the time I had the impression that the hotel staff - at the reception, in the kitchen and the cleaners were always ready to help - and they were attentive to my comfort. I'd recommend it anyone looking for a small-scale and comfortable place in Kigali :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ミニム
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Coming back from Congo it was a marvellous choice: Mme Antoinette
gave us a warm welcome, her team is very helpful, rooms are quiet, spacious
and very clean. Good bathroom, beautiful view (terrasse), good Wi-Fi network.
And as for the breakfast: best coffee and omelettes in town! Really good
prices for all that. Whenever in Kigali - I'll choose this hotel!-
MERCI BEAUCOUP, MADAME!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have lived at the Golf Residence twice, it has always been up to standards and has a homely feel to it. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The Manager Antoinette has always been very helpful and kind. I highly recommend it and wish I had more words to describe Golf Hills...It's a lovely place with lovely people

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahim34334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I visited Ruanda first time ever and choose a hotel near the golf course. Golf Hills residence was the only one answering within 3 days, in fact Antoinette answered in 2 hours. We got a very warm welcome, even if we arrived at 3 oclock at night. The driver was at the airport as promised and Antoinette was waiting for us. During our 2 day stay we could feel like home and the rooms were very clean and big. Absolutely safe place to stay and enjoy the clean and nice city of Kigali!

Room Tip: A double room was very spacious, like a suite. A balcony of our own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kigali
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
2.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#12 of 48 in Kigali
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kigali
165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#7 of 48 in Kigali
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Property: Golf Hills Residence
Address: Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf Hills Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golf Hills Residence A place you feel at home away from your home with a mixture of Western-African interior designing and a warmth welcome from our highly trained staff and outstanding services. We are always overwhelmed each time we receive new guests because it is another occasion to show how much we care about them. It is a legacy we have built over the years among our guests across the world since Golf Hills Residence started, where we are also honored to have received a traveler’s choice award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golf Hills Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing