We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nyamata Church”
Review of Nyamata Church

Nyamata Church
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nyamata Church”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very good compliment to the Genocide Museum in Kigali centre; this church really humanizes the events and atrocities. Well worth the effort to get there; it is 40km from town centre. Bring some tissue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DLH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very impacting, Reality of Genocide”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This church shows the reality of one of the mass killing sites during the 1994 genocide in Rwanda. It is disturbing and might be more than some people can handle, but I think it helps Rwanda depict the severity of this horrific event. I had been to Rwanda 2 times and studied its history. This memorial still opened my eyes to the reality in a new way. I suggest you take time to process what you see here. My first reaction was very negative and surprised me. I had to take a long look at why I reacted the way I did. I don't want it to be true, but it is necessary for the world to know it was.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very sad story”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a very poignant memorial, and very sad. What happened here was horrible, and difficult to hear about. The roll that the catholic church (at least many individual priests - though not all) played in the genocide, and the abandonment and betrayal of parishoners should not be forgotten. This is an important story.
Unfortunately on the day we went, the english-speaking tour guide was unavailable. Fortunately, our taxi driver was willing to interpret for us. He had never been to the memorial himself, and so he appreciated the chance to do so.
Seeing the still blood-stained altercloth, and the torn, bloodied clothing and possessions of the victims was unforgettable. There are also crypts below and outside with row upon row of coffins and bones from those who were dismembered. It really gives some perspective.
Unbelievable. The refrain is "Forgive, but never forget", this will make sure others do not forget.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank xclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poignant memorial”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This church is filled with the clothes of the more than 6 000 people who were massacred here during the genocide. The cloth covering the alter still bears the blood stains of that horrible day and in the basement there are skulls showing the many injuries suffered by the victims. There is also a coffin containing the remains of one women who was brutally tortured before being killed - an homage to the women who often suffered the most horrific treatment during the genocide.Outside there is an underground mass grave that displays the bones of the victims.

This memorial is exceptionally poignant and really brings out the horror of the genocide. You can easily get there with a bus/ moto combination and it is definitely worth it. It will not take long, but the memories will definitely stay with you. I would recommend going to the Memorial Center in Kigali first in order to get a better understanding of the context.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

One of Rwanda's most impressive memorials. The clothes of the victims are kept in the church which brings the events scarily close. Also, there are open tombs with thousands of skulls. A terrible place, but a good and impressive memorial site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyamata Church also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Nyamata Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing