We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and super service”
Review of Iris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iris Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and super service”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed on and off for two weeks at this hotel will in Rwanda on a consultant assignment. I had never heard of it before this stay. I found it to be a lovely place, although maybe a bit on the expensive side $75, it was very clean, friendly and hot water was always there. It is a typical African hotel so expect a satin bedspread, hand held showers and heavy drapes. But it is indeed better than most. The table and chairs outside of the room are very private with a lovely view of the gardens.
The breakfast was good, cheese, various breads (once some nice fresh rolls) fruit, pineapple, bananas, and paw paw and hard boiled eggs. The coffee is strong and a nice refreshing change from Nescafe.
The best part about staying at the Iris guesthouse was the service. Everytime I came back they greeted me warmly, the service was prompt, and they accommodated my requests when possible. I didn't have an electrical adaptor and they provided on and I didn't have a camera USB cable and the manager went out of his way to find me one that would work. The staff is the reason I am writing this review-they were refreshingly attentive without being too much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
22
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Iris Guesthouse is a charming oasis just a few minutes walk from the centre of Kigali. Set around a verdant courtyard and fountain, each room is simply furnished, but clean and comfortable with a television, free wifi and ample hot water. There is also a restaurant serving simple but good fare at reasonable prices. The main attraction for me however are the staff who are extremely helpful in every way, and were even kind enough to book me in to a sister hotel when they did not have available rooms and to arrange for an airport pickup at reasonable prices ($15). The only downside is that having been recommended the guesthouse by a friend who lives in Kigali I was not able to find either a website or up to date contact details; so, if you would like to stay at Iris, and I suggest that you do, then contact them via:

Email: iris1@rwanda1.com
Phone: +254 (0)782501181

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank muciriwaweru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

the Iris Guesthouse is tucked away on a quiet street so it is really peaceful. The rooms are small and clean and there is lots of hot water. I really liked the sitting area outside the room where you could use the WiFi and relax. The restaurant was good and pretty decent value. All of the staff we met were extremely helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely garden, smallish rooms but good bathrooms and ok restaurant. Can't go wrong for a few nights here. Clean with wifi, tv and close to the city centre.

Room Tip: take rooms on the upper level away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KabulPastryChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Iris Guesthouse for 2 nights en route to a volunteer experience in the Rwandan countryside. It is a nice choice for a short stay. Kigali is surprisingly expensive, and Iris is a decent choice for the price. The rooms are basic and quite small, but the grounds are pretty, and the restaurant has a good menu and very friendly staff. It's a short walk to a great upscale restaurant called 'Heaven'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlr541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This reasonably priced hotel is great for those staying in Kigali for a few days - I work for an NGO and there's a good reason many NGOs put their visitors in here. It's clean, safe & comfortable but also reasonably priced - certainly far cheaper than the likes of Milles Collines (whcih is fantastic but then at that price it damn well should be!).

The rooms are reasonably spacious, plenty of hot water & decent water pressure. The staff are very helpful - I mentioned a football match I hoped to watch and they sent someone to retune my TV specially, they asked each day if I needed anythingg, and the restaurant is fine. Ok it doesn't have the widest selection but you'd need to be here around two weeks to eat all of the options so there is plenty to chose from and it is decent quality. There's also an extremely good Indian restaurant 200 metres away (Khana Kazana) if you fancy a change.

I am back in Rwanda next month and I have already booked my room

Room Tip: Suggest the second floor - a bit more airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Unless you are splurging, this is definitely a great choice in Kigali. I've stayed here more than 6 times over the last 5 years. The Iris Guesthouse is great value. Friendly, helpful staff and simple, clean rooms on 2 floors that surround a fragrant garden and patio dining area. Located in a lovely, hilltop, upscale residential neighbourhood, only minutes from great restaurants. The city centre is nearby and the very short, easy stroll commands fabulous views of the hills of the city and the mountains further out. And free, reliable WiFi keeps a fascinating and eclectic array of tourists, NGOs and international business reps connected!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.6 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kigali
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#7 of 48 in Kigali
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
0.7 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kigali
725 reviews
3.0 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#12 of 48 in Kigali
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Guesthouse

Property: Iris Guesthouse
Address: Avenue Kamuzinzi | no. 8, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel with some apartments available, includes breakfast, operated by presbyterian church ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Iris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Guesthouse Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing