We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit.”

Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel is an American-owned, private, serene property opened in May of 2008 in the lovely neighborhood of Kiyovu. Started as a social enterprise to improve service levels in the hospitality sector and create employment, Heaven is consistently ranked one of the country's top restaurants with a spectacular ambience on a custom-built outdoor terrace overlooking the entire city. Heaven Boutique Hotel has 22 beautifully appointed hotel rooms with a salt water swimming pool, ensuite private bathrooms, local artwork, free wifi, unlimited coffee/tea/purified water, 24 hour security, just steps from downtown Kigali. In addition to 22 rooms currently in operation, a new luxury hotel expansion is underway just next door to Heaven Restaurant; in Summer 2017 Heaven will open a new wing with 11 luxury rooms all with peaked ceilings and private outdoor terraces, a gym, spa and swimming pool!
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant is worth the visit as they are not only a restaurant but a food services professional teaching establishment. The staff is well trained and working hard to make the Rwandan experience first rate.
I have not read the book but I am going to do so.
If u can afford the trip to Rwanda, you can afford to eat here. It's more about their mission, than what they serve on a plate. Although the food was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sambo2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    218
    78
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The prices are incredibly high for the quality of the food and especially the service.

Waiting over 90 minutes for a brunch dish that gets to the table cold and you still get charged over 30 USD is ridiculous.
It is one of the few places where you can get a cocktail in Kigali (though when they do not have tomato juice they serve you a bloody mary with watermelon instead without telling you in advance), and it has a really pleasant setting.

Dinner menu is fine, nothing spectacular, the tacos may help some expats with homesickness, but overall, it is not really worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mafalda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heaven_Restaurant, Owner at Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear that we did not impress you during your recent visit to Heaven. We try to ensure that every customer has a good experience so it sounds as though you visited Heaven during a very busy brunch and may have been slightly neglected by our staff and we apologize! As for your opinion on dinner we have a wide range of menu options and weekly rotating specials to offer variety in both pricing and flavor. We are a teaching facility and constantly trying to improve the overall customer experience and quality of the food we serve. We hope you decide to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere and great international food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After reading the reviews i decided to give Heaven a try. I was staying just up the road in the Mille Collines. Heaven is just a few streets away down the hill. I walked there and back in the evening at night. One reviewer says over-friendly, i don't think you can be too friendly in the hospitality trade and I kind of liked it. So this is personal taste thing.
The restaurant is mainly undercover, but there are a few tables out in the open, these ones have the best views. The menu is interesting, not to many things but just enough choice and variety. There is a 5 course tasting menu option for 25000 Rwandan Francs. (about £25) The waiter recommended it, but I went for my own choices on the main menu. I didn't regret my choices , the chapati style flatbread was tasty with a garlicky dip, and the squash risotto with peanuts was amazing.
The only minor niggle was the price, which I think is high by Kigali's standards, but if you were in London or another European city it would be normal. But for the quality of service, food and the surroundings. I think it was worth paying the extra.
So I'd definitely go back again, and would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who isn't on a budget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had been to Kigali twice and wasn't able to get to Heaven. This time it was a must. I then had the good fortune of reading the new book (A Thousand Hills to Heaven) on the flight over. What a delight! The staff was very terrific and we had the pleasure of meeting and talking with Alissa, the founder/owner. I loved the guac and banana chips and my fish tacos. My traveling companion loved her meal and the special drink of the day, too. The coffee was too weak, but that certainly wouldn't deter me from returning. It's an absolutely beautiful setting in a restaurant with a terrific mission. It's a bit pricey by Rwandan standards, but that won't keep me from returning. It will be a must on any future trips to Kigali!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great brunch - wonderful view - expat haven”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went for brunch and was delighted - amazing eggs benedict on fresh fluffy local biscuits with a home made hollandaise sauce.

The view is spectacular and there is also a bed and breakfast and a cool shop and separate art gallery(that accepts credit cards!) for souvenirs. Recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing