We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Go!”

Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 140 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel is an American-owned, private, serene property opened in May of 2008 in the lovely neighborhood of Kiyovu. Started as a social enterprise to improve service levels in the hospitality sector and create employment, Heaven is consistently ranked one of the country's top restaurants with a spectacular ambience on a custom-built outdoor terrace overlooking the entire city. Heaven Boutique Hotel has 22 beautifully appointed hotel rooms with a salt water swimming pool, ensuite private bathrooms, local artwork, free wifi, unlimited coffee/tea/purified water, 24 hour security, just steps from downtown Kigali. In addition to 22 rooms currently in operation, a new luxury hotel expansion is underway just next door to Heaven Restaurant; in Summer 2017 Heaven will open a new wing with 11 luxury rooms all with peaked ceilings and private outdoor terraces, a gym, spa and swimming pool!
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Go!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are visiting, I would highly recommend checking this spot out! Order a Dawa (local cocktail) to kick of your night and try to visit when they are having music or live painting! Sunday brunch can also be very good! If you are large group, it may be best to call ahead and get a set menu!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BS28_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    214
    77
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best meal I've had in Rwanda, or even Africa”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The pan-seared Nile Perch special washed down with with a Dawa cocktail was the best meal I've had in Rwanda, possibly the best I've eaten anywhere in Africa. The service and the cocktail were easily the best I've had on the continent. Fantastic experience all around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Movie Nights”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The movie nights is what wowed me over. The fact that they provided blankets in the cold chilly outdoors was a plus. I think they are freshly laundered (my nose is source) which is nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tandeamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! Don't Miss It.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant has amazing food, service, staff and views. One of the best restaurants I ate at in Kigali. The carrot soup was a favorite! Heaven also has a few guest rooms that I stayed in a handful of times which are also very nicely equipped. Check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dining in Kigali!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Relax on Heaven's veranda overlooking Kigali, and enjoy the wonderful cooking at this lovely restaurant! Start with one of the imaginative house cocktails; the one with black pepper syrup really gets your attention and makes for great sipping, "south of the equator" I think it's called. My favorite entree, the Grilled Filet of Beef with cassava leaf chimichurri, green beans, brown butter mashed sweet potatoes, was absolutely delicious - a generous portion, but everything on the plate was so tasty, I just had to eat every bit! My husband's favorite was the fish tacos. We very much enjoyed the chef's tasting menu, which gave us the opportunity to try several different items, with each course described in detail as served. Don't overlook the several specials offered each day, and do save room for dessert... Homemade ice creams, nutmeg cake, rhubarb bread pudding and more (the banana bread is many cuts above any other I've ever had). We've eaten at Heaven a few times and have never been disappointed!

Heaven filters its water in-house, so it's perfectly fine to drink, the ice and salads are safe too. The chef incorporates many Rwandan foods, e.g. dodo (tasty local greens), pumpkin (in the excellent risotto), Nile perch and avocados (fried like French fries, in cheesecake and ice cream).

The service is quite competent and friendly, and one feels welcome to linger on after dining. A nice extra touch are the lap blankets if you feel a chill. Besides the delicious food and great atmosphere, another reason to dine here: Heaven supports the local community in several ways, providing its employees with vocational training in the hospitality industry, and providing an outlet for local art and crafts to be displayed and sold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing