We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
77
41
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
41
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar modern hotel infinity pool the city view rooms roof restaurant comfortable bed and pillows goat stew breakfast spread rooms are nice an excellent hotel tea and coffee the general manager great shower first floor great facilities kigali city conference facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 131 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. The rooms were good, the service was awesome, and the food was top notch too. I particularly enjoyed the hotel terrace where you can get a splendid view of the hills of Kigali

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Runsewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear Runsewe,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us and for the wonderful feedback.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time your in Kigali.
Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Fine place for holding meetings (availability of nice tables and chairs, audio-visual systems well set, air conditioning systems to adapt people good feelings, etc.), enough staff to interact with visitors while fulfilling their needs regarding provision of foods, drinks and any other service legally offered in the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seemeon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear Seemeon, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us and for the wonderful review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again the next tie your in Kigali.
Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Entire Hotel Staff was very friendly. Rooftop with good food, local beer choices and night life. There were live bands throughout the week. Sweeping views of the city. My room was clean and in good order the entire time. Breakfast and lunch buffets offers wide selections of gastronomic pleasantries; to include omelette station, stir fry/pasta and espresso machine. Table service is swift. The fitness room is not so large, and neither is the roof top pool. If you time your workouts accordingly you can keep fit at this hotel. Multi-purpose rooms are scattered throughout the hotel, ideal for meeting and reception. Everyone at this hotel was accommodating and pleasant.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Akili3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Akili,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your time to review us and for the wonderful feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again the next time our in Kigali.
Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

My review relates to visiting the rooftop bar for drinks and not to a hotel stay or restaurant use. Firstly if you don't have a head for heights don't go - the canvas drapes are pulled back and you're open on the 12th floor with only just over waist level glass keeping you in, but the views across Kigali are great. Good range of beers at similar prices to other restaurants and bars across the city - around £2 or $2.25 for a bottle with the selection including the darker more bitter type Virunga Mist which is unusual in a country which is more for lager drinkers

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Dear Richard, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel.

Thank so very much for choosing to stay with us and for finding time to review us.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that you are not a fun of heights.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time your in Kigali.


Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

At the recommendation of our trip planner, We arranged to stay at Ubumwe Grande for two nights at the start of our visit to Rwanda and again the night before we were to fly to Tanzania. During our first stay, we found our room to be very attractive and comfortable (especially loved the rain shower). Staff were helpful and we enjoyed dinner one night in the restaurant. We were looking forward to an equally pleasant stay at the end of our trip, and were pleased to be recognized by one of the staff, Eric, and welcomed back. We explained to him that we would need to depart for the airport promptly at 4:30 am in order to make our flight to Ndutu. He promptly brought us a “breakfast to go” menu and took great care to take our order and double check that it was correct. We also asked for a 4:00 am wake-up call. We were assured that all would be taken care of and that our breakfast boxes would be waiting at reception at 4:30 am. We were pleased with Eric’s attentiveness and gave him a very nice tip.

It is fortunate that we set the alarm on one of our phones because our wake up call camera 3:40 (not 4:00 am as requested) and took the form of two buzzes of our room phone—not a call which we had to answer to confirm that we were indeed awake.

When we went to the lobby at 4:25 and asked for our breakfast boxes, the staff member there had no record that breakfast had been ordered. We were told it would be put together, and we reminded him that we were due to be picked up any moment. Our driver came at 4:30, and we informed him of the situation. He said we could wait a few minutes and the staff member told him the box would be ready in five minutes.

At 4:42, with no breakfast insight, we left the hotel to avoid problems checking in for our flight. We had no time for breakfast there ( and almost nothing appeared open at that hour) and thus we ate nothing until lunch at our safari camp in Ndutu.

Until this experience, I was inclined to give Ubumwe Grande a rating of 4 or 5. The enormous lapse in service led me to give only a 2. We expected much better from this hotel which had been so promising at the beginning of our trip.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank atastefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Dear beloved guest, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel !
We appreciate you time for reviewing us and for the feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are rather very sorry that all that smile was wiped away by a small mis-followup that our staff failed to follow up with what you had asked them to follow up on to the extent of missing breakfast. We apologize and promise that the next time we host you, you will not go though the same and any thing close to that experience because the issue has been amended and solved.

Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews