We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great food, great dinner”

Bourbon Coffee Ltd -Rwanda
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Kigali
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Fast Food, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Broadband wire-less internet,a conference room, Custom drinks made to your desire, Exclusive souvenirs, Premium food, great ambiance, outside catering, Anniversaries, cakes and Bourbon coffee roasted beans. Green arabica specialty coffee beans for export.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great dinner”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I eat regularly at the Bourbon cafe in the Union Trade Centre whenever I am in Kigali, and I visited it again on my most recent trip.

Diners have the choice of eating indoors or on the terrace - both locations have their benefits. In my experience, the terrace always fills up first, so if you really want to eat on the terrace, you had best get to the cafe before the dinner or lunch hour.

The Bourbon Cafe has good vegetarian options and most of them can be veganized just by omitting cheese. I had the veggie burger and really enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank torontorita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    196
    103
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good cafe but highly variable wireless!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A good cafe (with excellent appropriate strength coffee!) but with usual Rwanda style of service with some things missed, and a very staggered fashion! The staff are always very friendly and clearly trained to be so but slight in attention to detail slips the service down. Wireless can be a nightmare when there is no effort to make sure that coverage is consistent throughout the cafes.

Helpful?
Thank PaulNorman117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good coffee and food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the best espressos in town, food is good. Service might be a bit faster and the internet was down often. When seated outside you forget the soulless environment of the UTC Mall and the Nakumatt supermarket.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible Staff, Delicious Coffee, Amazing Food, Good Wifi”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

While in Rwanda for two months, Bourbon was my go-to. After months of travel the staff made me feel at home, the coffee was sourced from within Rwanda and my regular latte better than other coffee shops in the UK/US. In fact the latte's were some of the best I've ever had period.

The food is delicious, you will be hard pressed to find something you won't like on it. I loved the Chicken Wraps and Chicken sandwiches, highly recommend, makes me hungry just thinking about them.

Another reason I spent most of my time working or relaxing here was the fairly consistent wifi, it was some of the fastest and most consistent in Kigali. When finally I had to move on to Uganda I was sad to say goodbye to the staff who made my time in Rwanda a great one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to chill”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A great place to relax and use wifi. Good food and known for its local coffee, though I didn't think it was great coffee. Try getting a table on the terrace- it's light and airy and a much nicer place to sit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Coffee Ltd -Rwanda also viewed

 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Bourbon Coffee Ltd -Rwanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing