We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to mingle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papyrus

Papyrus
Ranked #16 of 137 Restaurants in Kigali
Cuisines: Italian, African, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to mingle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went there on a Friday night to have a friend who lives in Kigali. Seems like it is a good place to meet new people. I only saw Friday late night, so, I'm not sure how it is earlier in the evening, but when I was there, the music was pretty loud that it wasn't particularly suitable if you want to talk with people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MI1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    61
    26
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I heard that Papyrus was great fun, but when we went on Saturday night, it was a pretty empty, average restaurant with slow service. The chairs were kind of awkward and uncomfortable and we didn't get a view. Maybe it's more fun if you go on Thursday or Friday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dissapointing pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband bought take away Pizza from there and it was the strangest thing how everyone of us could not eat it. I'm not sure how to describe why other than they just weren't nice. We would not buy Pizza form there again. We also went for drinks and the place is big and I suppose vibrant but I judge a place by if I can get my drink. I normally drink Cosmos of Vodka Cranberry but have not found a place in Kigali that make them. My alternative is vodka with fruit cocktail. By the time we got the Papyrus, the only juice available was apple juice. Needless to say I did not have a drink. I'm not sure I would be keen to go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mschana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's difficult to find a good pizza in Rwanda, most of them are local interpretations of what a pizza should be. Papyrus, in my taste, goes a bit further. Okay, there still not the same as the ones i'm used to, but they're getting there. Baked in a stone oven, they use actual cheese and actual tomato sauce... bonus points! and the setting is fabulous, I was afraid of the service, but no complaints there (we had to ask 6 different people for the bill, but there was no problem with the food order, which is the most important!)...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bart_b1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun place, good drinks & atmosphere...even on a Sunday night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited here in July while on a business trip.

Went here with colleagues on a Sunday night, and the day after was a holiday, so the place was quite busy.

We watched the Confederation's Football Final here, and there is a club downstairs too that we went to until the early hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papyrus also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Papyrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing