We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Reviewed May 6, 2014

With no map available from Europcar and driving from airport at midnight this is a hard hotel to find until the signs become prominent.
Pleasant, large room with lovely view over pool. Gorgeous views to ocean but the pool is tops. Only stayed overnight but would happily stay again versus in the town.

Room Tip: A view over the pool adds to the room experience
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisavanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURECreolia, Directeur général at Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear client,

We are glad you have a nice experience at Hotel Mercure Créolia, I'll send your comments to all the team.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.

Concerning the way to find our Hotel, we will send a request to Europcar to include a map in each car in order to make your arrival much easier.

Best regards,

Pascal TURONNET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 587 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Agree with the other reviews... large; what you would expect for 3 stars in Europe; a little far away from the airport (20-30 minutes at 6am; much longer in rush hour), but the best of very limited options available.

Booked through Expedia, which mentioned a room with pool or sea views, and was given a room with neither. Nice staff on the desk 'spoke with the manager' and changed it without too much hassle to room 418.

Good points
- View and sunset
- Room service.. very nicely presented and tasty Reunion specialities and fruit salad

Poor points
- Bathroom needs an update, including a new shower head, which faces you, rather than the middle of the room

Room Tip: Fourth floor, room 418 has great views
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeistyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is one of the best on the island. It's clean, staff is very friendly and professional and reacted very responsive to special wishes always thinking ahead and with great initiative. Obviously it should not be compared to 5 star touristic hotels as it is a hotel majorly used for business travelers. But it has the biggest pool in St. Denis (to my knowledge) and good breakfast and wifi works in the rooms. I would definitively use it next time again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wuaschts0l0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was here for a week long conference being held in the Mercure Creolia. I chose to stay in this hotel for the conference and was glad i did. The hotel is a 45 min walk from the centre of St Denis and a little longer on the way back uphill. Buses cease running early in the evening and a taxi to town will set you back anywhere between 20 and 30 Euro (depending on your taxi driver), making a dinner out quite expensive. So while the hotel was convenient for me, if your interest is in spending a lot of time in St Denis, it may not be such a great choice for you. If you hire a car, get a GPS as it is not easy to find from the airport!
The restaurant in the hotel is quite good but a week long stay has you making repeat menu choices. Breakfast is fine and getting hold of a real coffee is a bonus. Service in the restaurant is good if you have the time, and splitting group meals became a long process at the end of the night.
The foyer area, pool and bar are all nicely presented, with the view from the pool being a real drawcard and the ideal place for sunset cocktails. Rooms were adequate although have obviously not been updated for many years. The concierge are as helpful as they can be, however, if you don't speak at least a little french, you may run into some problems depending on who you get. Rooms are generally well insulated and quiet and have air conditioning to help make the adjustment to the tropics.
Overall i would recommend this hotel, but make sure it is well located for your purposes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crick_crick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Reception was friendly but was unable to offer recommendations for dinner and shopping in the city.
Rooms had a surprisingly dark brown paintjob on the walls, furniture was dark as well. We did not expect this from a room on La Reunion, especially after seeing the pool and outside of the hotel. Bathroom was nice and clean.
Construction going on across our room which started at 07:00 in the morning.
Difficulties finding the hotel after getting back to St. Denis at night. No proper maps provided by the reception. Would recommend a GPS.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped here overnight on the way home from Mauritius.
The hotel was far from the air port (travel consultant problem)
The room decor was outdated, bathroom not that clean and quite small, breakfast selection average.
Foyer area quite dark. Noisy nightclub over night.
English speaking concierge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The first face on arrival made an impression - receptionist Philippe, always cheerful, always happy to help and always good for a quick chat on anything to do with 'his' island, and in good English!
Hence, check in was quick, key card handed over once the forms were signed and I was on my way to my room, non smoking as requested. This is not a hotel where you find slippers and bath robes, or have porters stand by or a concierge at your beck and call but it does provide all one needs for a few days stay, be it on business or for conferences, even to start or end a tour of the island as a tourist.
Located half way up one of Reunion's slopes in the capital St. Denis, the view is sweeping, across the city and over the ocean and in part at least also up the mountains.
The rooms are equipped with all essentials, especially added sockets available to plug in chargers and laptop AT ONCE, and the internet, at times a little intermittent, worked generally just fine and was free. All equipment worked, all lamps did too speaking for housekeeping doing their job well. I moved the electric kettle from the desk to avoid an accident with my ever open laptop and cameras downloading videos and pictures but it allowed me to have tea for my overnight work session and creamer and sugar / sweetener were always in generous supply. Admittedly, and with no objection from the dining room staff, I did take a pot of fresh milk to my room and kept it in the fridge to make a decent cuppa.
The large pool area presented itself deserted most of the time, perhaps because the often stiff breeze from the ocean hit the pool deck in a frontal way, making it maybe a shade uncomfortable to sunbath or else come out of the water wet and getting blue lips before reaching the towels.
Breakfast was the most enjoyable meal of the day, a wide selection of cereals, fruits, cold cuts and French cheese plus the hot dishes, and of course the bread ... original French baguettes ... the aroma of coffee filled the dining room in the morning like in a French bistro, making this tea drinker wonder what he might miss.
Dinner though ... on arrival with a Nigerian colleague we were just among a handful of guests and while the food, when it came, was tasty, well presented and PLENTY it took a while to get this all into gear. Getting the bill was another issue to the point of finding it pushed under my room door to sign in retrospect, which I did.
The next day though, with the hotel on the full side, the waiters clearly struggled to serve meals and offering a buffet might have solved those issues. The presence of a manager might have helped but alas, none was seen. In his or her absence, self help was called for and at least our table of 5 had bread and butter procured 'directly' from the service area, while starter and main course staggered along.
This notwithstanding, I did enjoy the stay and the staff, all of them, were friendly and warm, if not always in full command of the English language, a challenge the entire island seems to be working on as they try to attract more international tourists - 80+ percent right now come from mainland France.
It is a hotel where that half or three quarter star would come in handy as it is way above 3 star but not quite up to the four star level, internationally speaking. I had read reviews of past guests and found the safe working, the mattresses firm and fabrics and fittings 'current'. Overall a good stay and yes, I would return again, armed with the knowledge how to make those small issues I mentioned work.
And on check out again, thank you Philippe for having my bill ready to sign and get on the bus without delay.

Room Tip: There are larger rooms on every floor, not quite suites but larger anyway, a good choice to have a b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Denis
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellepierre
Hotel Bellepierre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Denis
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Sainte Clotilde La Reunion
20.1 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Juliette Dodu
Le Juliette Dodu
#2 of 12 in Saint-Denis
327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Saint Denis
Le Saint Denis
#9 of 12 in Saint-Denis
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Angelique
Villa Angelique
#4 of 12 in Saint-Denis
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion

Address: 14 Rue du Stade Montgaillard | 14 rue du Stade Montgaillard 97400 Saint-Denis - Ile de La Réunion, Saint-Denis 97400, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range: $125 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
107 Rooms hotel including superior, luxury and 2 disabled rooms. Located near the airport, the city center and overhanging St Denis bay. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, swimming pool with terrace, jacuzzi and fitness center. The Mercure Creolia offers a piano bar with good atmosphere each day of the week and thematic evenings with entertainment around the pool. Also offers 7 meeting rooms (300 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion Hotel Saint-Denis
Mercure Saint Denis
Accor Saint Denis
Mercure Creolia Saint-Denis La Reunion Reunion Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing