We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but needs some refinements”
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed for 5 days - rooms are large enough and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but the restaurant (where I had many meals) was subpar, overpriced, and poorly managed. That part of the operation must bleed money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emfassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

My advice - look elsewhere if you want good value, internet that actually works and reception staff that can smile and be helpful just once in a while because you will not find that at The ChelseaHotel despite what their website might promise.

I was there for a conference in May and, of course, paying top dollar for a 'business hotel'. The reception staff were miserable and rude every single day. The promised wireless internet did not work for 90% of the time despite heroic support by the one friendly member of staff on site, know as IK, who is their IT guru who did a magnificent workaround on my computer (thanks IK). I work around the world and visit London and at least there when they charge crazy prices, you get what you pay for - here they charge the prices but don't deliver. I unwittingly ordered a room service club sandwich - £15 Sterling!!! A cup of awful instant coffee in their 'coffee' shop was £2. The restaurant food was so ridiculously expensive, we simply ate out every night so they lost the business. When will hotels like this realise that if you are going to charge grown up prices, you have to give grown up service - go elsewhere guys because if we keep using these places they will keep charging big bucks for bottom line service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank businesscameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed in a superior room which was quite comfortable without being in the Sheraton Hilton class. Spacious bathroom with amenities. Everything clean. Quiet enabling me to rest. Didn't try hotel INTERNET access because I had my own. Food uninspiring bland buffet type but friendly staff. Apparently there is to be a Chinese restaurant in the near future. Expensive as is everywhere in Abuja.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I spent 4 nights at the Chelsea Hotel. The room was quite large though dated and as was the bathroom and not especially clean. The beds, although large, were rock hard; sleeping on the floor would have been softer. We were even left completely without water for an entire day and received just a simple letter of apology but no compensation. On the plus side there was free internet so I was able to use skype and other voip internet programs in order to call home. These programs were especially valuable because the front desk did not receive phone calls, at least after 10pm and otherwise family members would not have been able to contact me.

Service overall was quite poor and especially unfriendly, not a smile among the bunch. The food was very expensive and almost inedible. In summery the hotel is not a good value for money, I would suggest to anyone to pay a little more and stay at Sheraton.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EkiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YarMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anetka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.6 mi away
Reiz Continental Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#13 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nippon Grand Hotel
Nippon Grand Hotel
#20 of 83 in Abuja
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#17 of 83 in Abuja
8 reviews
2.1 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
4.1 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: Plot 123 Cadastral Zone A0, Central Business District | PO Box 7069, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: $130 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Hotel Central Area-Promoting the essence of exquisite style in the capital of Nigeria. Located 40 mins from the Airport in the Central Business District of Abuja. It offers a touch of African style to its already celebrated International appeal. Its facilities include - kitchenettes, suites, swimming pool, gym, 400-person conference hall, free wireless and many more.Chelsea Hotel Wuse 2 - New boutique hotel for business travelers located in the city center. It's facilities are limited but it compensates for this with its higher service standard and cheaper rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing