We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed impressions”
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Things started out poorly when they failed to honor my confirmed reservation at their main location.

They did get me a room in their Wuse 2 location, and upgraded to a larger room.

The room itself was very comfortable, especially compared to others in Abuja.

But in the morning, I had no running water in my room. They had fixed it by the evening.

Staff were polite and helpful, except for the front desk staff. When checking out, they refused to believe I hadn't used anything from the minibar, and wouldn't let me leave until they sent someone up to check.

Restaurant food was bad, and it takes 60-90 minutes to get anything. The Wuse 2 location has basically no amenities, which is why I hadn't booked there.

Wireless worked most of the time. Signal strength wasn't great, but was good enough, though you can only use it on one device at a time, and have to keep logging back in.

But I still rate as Average because I'm not sure there is anything better in Abuja.

Room Tip: Make sure to distinguish between the "main" and "Wuse 2" locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
3
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I'm staying here now. The hotel staff is friendly, but the customer service is bad. For example, tonight, I had to call three times (during the span of three hours) to request a room service menu after the front desk attendant called someone to ask the first time. My husband tried to call me on the hotel's main line (the one at the top of the website) and no one picked up; I called the housekeeping line and no one picked up. The worst part of this evening is ongoing. It's almost 1 a.m. and the entire hotel is rocking because of a wedding reception (my toiletries fell off my sink because of the vibrations). For the last six hours, I have not been able to hear the TV in my room--no matter how much I crank it up--because of the extremely loud wedding reception. When I called the front desk to complain (twice) no action was taken. I even suggested accommodating the wedding by moving to another room but the front desk attendant didn't respond to that. He finally said a few minutes ago that the party would be ending soon. That hasn't helped me focus in the past six hours on my work or relax in my room. A few other complaints: The food is mediocre at best; the room is dated, its carpet is dirty and its bathroom appears unfinished; and I'm in a smoking room despite booking a nonsmoking room. Stay in the Hilton or Bolingo or another hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, at least related to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel staff were invariably pleasant and helpful. Internet access in all rooms worked well if a little slow. WiFi not functioning at time of the visit but was likely to be in the near future.
Food good (as good as it gets in Nigeria for vegetarians). Room service prompt and accurate. Breakfasts good.
I've stayed in the Rockview and Immaculate. This is the best the three.

Room Tip: If you're noise-sensitive, choose a room that does not overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

WUSE 2 location is ideal for people working in the Wuse 2 zone. Near the Hilton and Embassies in Wuse 2. Rooms are new, amenities are really nice and overall environment is clean. The breakfast is a bit spartan, and the food quality is ok, yet they can improve some aspect of their kitchen service, particularly the food preparation and preparation. The internet is a bit spotty at night but predictable during the day. The best asset of the Wuse 2 location is the people. Give it a try!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Summing up what most reviewers say - the hotel is VERY pricey and pretty poor. Our room was moldy as well and the carpets were actively filthy. That said, the restaurant was OK and the staff all friendly and willing to ignore our every complaint!

I get the sense that this is standard fare in Abuja so maybe not a bad bet...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This rated as a 4-star hotel ... I don't think so, although maybe this the standard in Nigeria. The prices seem to say it is of a high standard This is a relatively new hotel where the lobby looks fresh & attractive along with the pool area and bar. However, I was located in a room on the 4th floor and the decor is, to say the least, tatty. It just seems the attention is lacking; for example, only seem to fumigate the room if something like ants are reported, rather than having a schedule.
The Mediterraneo restaurant is the most frustrating thing. Breakfast always the same; with loads of staff there but only a couple actually doing anything. The "suited" staff on the desk in the restaurant will eventually deal with you once they stop their chatting. What exactly do they all do? Several of the staff make it feel like the customer is an inconvenience to their day at work. Dinner buffet - not too bad.
Room service - quite good service but, although there are are a couple of pages of orderable food, lots of it is rarely available. For example, 4 or 5 different pasta dishes listed, normally only 1 or 2 available. If you order something thay have not got, the usual comment is "don't you want a burger?"
Unfortunately, I was there for work on a long stay basis, and had to learn to rotate around about 4 dishes or the buffet.
I think the sky high prices are the normal reflection of the fact there is no real competition.
I don't think the bigger hotels (Sheraton) etc. are a lot better in the standard of accommodation but certaily are in regards to choice of eating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momma_and_PoppaHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here Nov 2011 for 3 nights, and that was possibly too long. Hotel looks great from outside/entrance, but once you get to the rooms you notice that its quite tired. Had to change from my first room as the bathroom was mouldy, thankfully the second room wasn't too bad although it did have an infestation of ants in the bathroom!! Front desk staff are possibly the rudest I have encountered, with most requests too much of a problem for them. Overall this hotel is ok for a night or two, and (for Abuja) is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnlySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
3.4 mi away
BON Hotel Abuja
BON Hotel Abuja
#16 of 82 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.1 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 82 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
#31 of 82 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.1 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#43 of 82 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Property: Chelsea Hotel
Address: Plot 123 Cadastral Zone A0, Central Business District | PO Box 7069, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Hotel Central Area-Promoting the essence of exquisite style in the capital of Nigeria. Located 40 mins from the Airport in the Central Business District of Abuja. It offers a touch of African style to its already celebrated International appeal. Its facilities include - kitchenettes, suites, swimming pool, gym, 400-person conference hall, free wireless and many more.Chelsea Hotel Wuse 2 - New boutique hotel for business travelers located in the city center. It's facilities are limited but it compensates for this with its higher service standard and cheaper rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing