We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your stay checking out 21st october 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
“your stay checking out 21st october 2013”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

covers every necessary and impotant areas that has to do with welfare. Overall it was very good.My stay was okay, safety and security put in place is adequate. The HH staff were quick to respond to issues or request made. I can not sincerely say that there was no hicupp but they were successfully handled. It is my candid opinion that certain incentives could further enhance quality customer's participation if introduced. There is room for improvement to make HH a truly world class hotel. It needs to strive in all areas not only to meet customers needs but to exceed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Olufemi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am so glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    401
    218
    78
    29
See reviews for
64
40
69
856
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed one night before travelling on to Lagos. Huge business hotel that does a good job at looking after the business traveller. My luggage had gone missing on the inbound flight and it was a bonus to find a set of clothes boutiques on the ground floor that were able to provide some essentials until my bag turned up on the next flight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad our hotel provided a one-solution to your essential travel needs. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

When security concerns leave you with no other options, it must get quite easy for a hotel to become complacent. Not a bad place though overly expensive. The foyer is full of hookers (possibly the fault of the clientèle, but still a nuisance), the internet connection is terrible and, worst of all, my credit card was cloned whilst staying there and attempts were made to take over $20,000 over three transactions. Although the hotel itself is safe, losing such a great deal of money whilst staying there doesn't give you the piece of mind you might hope for when staying at one of the countries top hotels.

Overall disappointing, however the hotel is a real marvel with its 70's chique interior.

Room Tip: be careful with your credit card
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaceout88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to leave a feedback.

I am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and I would like to apologise for all inconveniences you might have experienced. I am especially concerned about your credit card transaction experience; I would appreciate you contact me directly with the details so that we can conduct a thorough investigation.

Thank you once again for your views and we do hope you will give us another opportunity of being of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As an American, I am accustomed to high standards. That said, I am a reasonable person who has traveled extensively and I was not expecting a hotel in Nigeria to be anything to write home about because it is an incredibly poor country. However, because this hotel is a Hilton and we paid roughly $525 US per night, I expected better. Following are my observations with a + or - by each point.

1) queue of cars entering premises for security purposes was annoying but necessary +
2) check-in was a pain; they kept running our credit card and telling us it was declined -
3) we called our bank in the US and were told there was not a hold on any of our cards +
4) after 5 different attempts over 2 hours, the card worked; surprise! It was a network problem -
5) I felt that overall the staff was friendly and helpful +
6) a bellboy helped us with our bags and was delightful +
7) when we got to our room (7th floor), it was not made up or cleaned -
8) bellboy took care of everything, contacted front desk, got us a new room (upgraded w/o us needing to ask) and saw us to the new room +
9) nice room, spacious, large bathroom with double sinks, tub, separate shower, and bidet +
10) the room smelled horribly of mildew, even with the air conditioner on full blast -
11) bottom sheet and then a duvet: no sheet in between -
12) duvet was not large enough for the bed and when my husband and I crawled under the cover, it was difficult for both of us to "stay covered" completely; weird -
13) the shower curtain fell several inches ABOVE the tile shower surround and water leaked all over the floor and I do mean all over; my husband and I used all the towels, the bathrobe, and a bath mat to soak up the mess; just add a couple more inches to the curtain!!! -
14) beautiful lobby except for the handbag display case with broken glass; it looked like it had been shot, really; disconcerting in a dangerous area; either fix it fast or remove the broken glass -
15) we ate at the hotel's restaurant with the buffet; very disappointing at over $50 a person -
16) we both came down with either a stomach flu or food poisoning about 36 hours later -
17) Internet was a pain -
18) only employee at the hotel that was a total dud was the business center manager; wouldn't even look at me OR his employees; definitely came across as rude -

In summary, I think this is a case of a hotel overcharging because it can. All the dignitaries stay there (I didn't see any) because it has the veneer of high-end establishments but it could be so much better. At over $500 a night, even Americans are reluctant to stay there but I'm afraid they're the only game in town. Can't somebody build a beautiful, secure hotel in Abouja with a reasonable price tag? I'm sooo disappointed that this property is a Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent say with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to leave a detailed feedback.

Our desire is to deliver the best-in-class experience to all our guests all the time and I am disappointed that we did not succeed at exceeding your expectations during your stay with us.I would like to apologise for all inconveniences you must have experienced whilst staying with us. Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the points you have highlighted as our failures with a view to improving our overall service delivery.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

if you ever need to go to this unsafe place, transcorp hilton is relatively safe and secure. rooms are clean and spacious. limited options for food and beverages but considered to be one of the good places to eat at in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for staying at our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the comfort of our spacious rooms and had a taste of our warm, caring service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Generally, the accommodation is tired, the majority of the staff are not really interested in customer service and the prices are very inflated. Wifi is not available in your room, despite for over a month there being a notice in the room to say that it will be available soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the review of your experience at Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am disappointed we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and would like to apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced. I am pleased to inform you that we have completed the upgrade of our internet infrastructure and our Guests can now enjoy Wi-Fi connection in the comfort of their bedrooms in addition to wired connection.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hotel is well located and well maintained. Better than what I expected but extremely expensive for what you get compared to other Hilton facilities around the world. Over USD $425/night is quite outrageous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for leaving a feedback about your experience.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and comfort of our hotel. Your comments about our rates are noted; Whilst our prices are determined largely by the cost of providing service, please be assured that we are committed to making sure that our Guests get value for money spent in our hotel.

Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
450 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.3 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Property: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing