We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Didn't Get What I Paid For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As an American, I am accustomed to high standards. That said, I am a reasonable person who has traveled extensively and I was not expecting a hotel in Nigeria to be anything to write home about because it is an incredibly poor country. However, because this hotel is a Hilton and we paid roughly $525 US per night, I expected better. Following are my observations with a + or - by each point.

1) queue of cars entering premises for security purposes was annoying but necessary +
2) check-in was a pain; they kept running our credit card and telling us it was declined -
3) we called our bank in the US and were told there was not a hold on any of our cards +
4) after 5 different attempts over 2 hours, the card worked; surprise! It was a network problem -
5) I felt that overall the staff was friendly and helpful +
6) a bellboy helped us with our bags and was delightful +
7) when we got to our room (7th floor), it was not made up or cleaned -
8) bellboy took care of everything, contacted front desk, got us a new room (upgraded w/o us needing to ask) and saw us to the new room +
9) nice room, spacious, large bathroom with double sinks, tub, separate shower, and bidet +
10) the room smelled horribly of mildew, even with the air conditioner on full blast -
11) bottom sheet and then a duvet: no sheet in between -
12) duvet was not large enough for the bed and when my husband and I crawled under the cover, it was difficult for both of us to "stay covered" completely; weird -
13) the shower curtain fell several inches ABOVE the tile shower surround and water leaked all over the floor and I do mean all over; my husband and I used all the towels, the bathrobe, and a bath mat to soak up the mess; just add a couple more inches to the curtain!!! -
14) beautiful lobby except for the handbag display case with broken glass; it looked like it had been shot, really; disconcerting in a dangerous area; either fix it fast or remove the broken glass -
15) we ate at the hotel's restaurant with the buffet; very disappointing at over $50 a person -
16) we both came down with either a stomach flu or food poisoning about 36 hours later -
17) Internet was a pain -
18) only employee at the hotel that was a total dud was the business center manager; wouldn't even look at me OR his employees; definitely came across as rude -

In summary, I think this is a case of a hotel overcharging because it can. All the dignitaries stay there (I didn't see any) because it has the veneer of high-end establishments but it could be so much better. At over $500 a night, even Americans are reluctant to stay there but I'm afraid they're the only game in town. Can't somebody build a beautiful, secure hotel in Abouja with a reasonable price tag? I'm sooo disappointed that this property is a Hilton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent say with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for taking the time to leave a detailed feedback.

Our desire is to deliver the best-in-class experience to all our guests all the time and I am disappointed that we did not succeed at exceeding your expectations during your stay with us.I would like to apologise for all inconveniences you must have experienced whilst staying with us. Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the points you have highlighted as our failures with a view to improving our overall service delivery.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Transcorp Hilton Abuja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

if you ever need to go to this unsafe place, transcorp hilton is relatively safe and secure. rooms are clean and spacious. limited options for food and beverages but considered to be one of the good places to eat at in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks for staying at our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the comfort of our spacious rooms and had a taste of our warm, caring service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Generally, the accommodation is tired, the majority of the staff are not really interested in customer service and the prices are very inflated. Wifi is not available in your room, despite for over a month there being a notice in the room to say that it will be available soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for the review of your experience at Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am disappointed we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and would like to apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced. I am pleased to inform you that we have completed the upgrade of our internet infrastructure and our Guests can now enjoy Wi-Fi connection in the comfort of their bedrooms in addition to wired connection.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hotel is well located and well maintained. Better than what I expected but extremely expensive for what you get compared to other Hilton facilities around the world. Over USD $425/night is quite outrageous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for leaving a feedback about your experience.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and comfort of our hotel. Your comments about our rates are noted; Whilst our prices are determined largely by the cost of providing service, please be assured that we are committed to making sure that our Guests get value for money spent in our hotel.

Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well, this place needs a serious revamp. No idea why on earth people are willing to pay these rates for an establishment that has not been updated in a decade or two. The rooms, while comfortable, are a flash back to the 70s. Lots of mirrors and shining faux wood veneer and panels. No WiFi in large section of the hotel (seriously) - you would think internet access was a basic service to get right nowadays.
Staff are awesome and really try so service is really good.

All in all I am sure there are better options in Abuja at the price of the Hilton.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with WiFi.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWillyStyle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that our Team Members were helpful and they delighted you with their service delivery.

Permit me to mention that our hotel was built over 27 years ago and furnished in the style of that period. We have, however, consistently implemented planned refurbishment projects over the years. Plans are at advanced stages with all stakeholders and we will commence a major refurbishment of the hotel in the next few months. I am pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi internet connection is now available in all the bedrooms and public areas of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Reception: The hotel has a very welcoming reception and you feel great being there
General Organisation: Apart from some rush and lack of organisation for the large crowd that storms the hotel, it is well organised
Hygiene: Neat..
Food: The food is really terrible. Quite expensive with no taste. its either too vegan or too salty or too much sugar.. its all in the excess
Pool: This is way too crowded. I am exactly not impressed that persons not lodged in the hotel also partake in the poolactivities. It is very unhygenic
Entertainment: Fairly good

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adebenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am happy to hear you found the hospitality of our Team Members and cleanliness of our hotel to to your liking. Your comments about your culinary experiences are noted and I would be sure to address them with our food and beverages team.

Thanks once again, and we look forward to seeing you return soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a two day stay at the hotel,my room was cleaned but bedsheets not Change,when I informed the housekeeping two gentle men were sent up and to my amazement one of then said to me ooh,ooh, mike na you as if I was not suppose to complain been a former employee. I was furious, and told him I am staying here for free. My guest was also very disappointed. Again I had a bitter experience with check, used my own credit card to settled my bills which after the front desk staff insisted I should provide an identity card that will be photocopied, i became very furious because my credit card has all my details on it. It took the intervention of duty manager Mr, Saakwen before I was allow to go, I almost missed my flight that night back to the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for leaving a feedback about your experience.

I am disappointed that your overall experience with us was not pleasant. I apologise for our failures and would like to assure you that the service gaps you have highlighted have been addressed with a view to improving overall service delivery.

Once again, thank you for your views and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
221 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#23 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#32 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Agui Ironsi St. | Maitama, Abuja 900271, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $213 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing