We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Nearby Hotels
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SV Chrome(Abuja)
$109
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
376
437
230
82
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
437
230
82
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbukka restaurantexecutive floorcapital barpiano barbusiness triproom servicehome away from homean upgradeenjoyed my stayhiltonsecurityzumaafricagyminternetrenovationenvironment
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel OK by Nigerian standards but very expensive - we paid over US$300 per night for a room on the executive floor which is actually quite a good rate that was negotiated locally through a contact. The hotel is very dated - avocado and chocolate brown bathroom suites - nice - but the staff are friendly and I believe try very hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Checking in and out is a laborious affair. They tell you what a good deal they are giving you when really you know you are being ripped off.

The food is diabolical and so are the waiting staff. One night my pizza was served with the cardboard still stuck to its underside. We ordered white wine and were assured it was cold - 20 minutes later when we asked where the wine was they told us they didn't have any white wine! We had similar experiences in the Chinese - 20 mins after ordering the prawns they told us they didn't have any and 10 mins later the same with the chicken.

There's not a great choice in Abuja and I am told this is the best. Leaves me wondering what the others are like.

Finally, there are the bars and nightclub - full of scantily clad ladies of the night. Not my thing but presumably an attraction for some of the guests!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0N4H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Many thanks for staying with us at our hotel and for taking the time to leave a feedback about your experience.

I am disappointed to hear about your less-than-satisfactory experience at our food and beverage outlet(s). Your experience, as described in your review, is certainly not our standard and I have addressed this with my food and beverage team with a view to improving overall service delivery. Please permit me to emphasise that our standards are global and we would like to be assessed only by global standards.

I would like to assure you of our commitment to ensuring that all our guests get good value for money spent in our hotel.

One again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had to go to Abuja on business.

This hotel was the best we have ever stayed in whilst in Nigeria.

The attention to detail of the staff and their service to its customers was second to none.

The food was of an exemplary and the house plonk (Red) was superb, a little pricey but well worth it.

The only downside was the high price of the rooms, no way can such prices be justified, at least 60% - 100% more for similar hotels in Europe and the USA, and for that matter anywhere else in the world!!!

Obviously the average Nigerian Businessman has far too much money to waste or worst still not enough competition on the hotel front!!!

This was the only downside, the facilities were excellent, room we good, but a standard room was almost twice the price of an exec room of the Hilton Waldorf, London!!!

You need to haggle with them before you book the prices.

Also I noticed that there were several room tarrifs, if you went on the Internet in Nigeria, the tarrif was different if you went on the internet from the UK,!!!!

Room service was superb.

Great hotel, but prices were bordering on a bit of a rip off.

Room Tip: Haggle before you book, as the prices are bordering on extortionate!! Hotel is great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business visit to Abuja.

I am pleased to hear that we were able to delight you with authentic Hilton hospitality during your stay with us.

Your comments about our prices are noted; our prices are actually a function of the cost of operating to deliver quality service to our guests. Be rest assured, however, that we are committed to ensuring that our guests always get value for money spent in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Transcorp Hilton Abuja soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Well the room are clean the hotel is HUGE for africa (+1000 rooms), and service is kinna a ok for african standard.
4 restaurants (one buffet quite ok, a mongolian one for sunday night bbq, the fancy Zuma Grill that used to be good but not any more as the previous chef ran away! and the pool bar where they have theme nights, used to love the Burger night on thursday, but they canceled it a shame!)
Lounge on the tenth floor for diamond members and club floor rates rooms, is ok with a real bar and food for diner.
Live band in the bar across the lobby.
When in Abuja you will appreciate going back to this private island after a hard working day and in Nigeria the only easy day was yesterday!
The last but not the least prices are really high count 350 euros a night in average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am happy to hear you found the culinary offers in all four restaurants to your liking. We have recently reviewed the theme nights at the Fulani Pool restaurants in addition to the introduction of daily lunch barbecue. I am sure you will like the new culinary concepts.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look foward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Three months posting, not much to do here but this place is a must. The show was unforgettable. Cynthia was the best dancer, Israel the amazing guitarist and Abi the best male dancer with real talent and the patience to dance with an old lady intent on having fun. The wannabe Beyonce was hilarious in her prima Donna style and the old guy , a comic, with a mobile was huge fun. There was a little guy who was talented too. So much talent there. My hosts were just great so thanks to big Ray and La Perle and Blakes for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lagalloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am happy to hear you found time to experience one of the off-site entertainment options that the city of Abuja offers.

We look forward to welcoming you and serving your travel needs at our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hilton in Abuja is a good hotel with a very very large and spacious lobby, giving the impression of wasted space - quantitative as opposed to qualitative...

I was in residence during a conference so the hotel was very busy; the front desk staff had cancelled the booking for some strange reason and it took 3 hours to get them to call the manager to resolve the problem, which was really poor and shoddy for a Hilton.

Rooms are fairly good although not notably spectacular. Good for business or holiday.

Room Tip: Higher up is better...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for the feedback on your experience during your stay with us at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am glad your overall impression of our hotel was good. I am, however, disappointed that you did not have a pleasant check-in experience and I do apologise for this.

Please be assured that your experience has been addressed with the Front Desk team with a view to ensuring an excellent check-in experience for all our guests.

Thank you once again for your valuable views and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews