We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are in Abuja on Business or Pleasure, Transcorp Hilton is the best location to be, centrally located, security is not a major concern. Service is polite in the Nigeria but expect delays and please forget about how much the room is costing you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samozalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the warm Hilton hospitality from our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Safe travels.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    375
    213
    76
    28
See reviews for
56
36
61
806
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Transcorp Hilton Abuja has very good security - as it must have - but it is very intrusive. You can't go out to play tennis or go in the garden at the back without circling back round the hotel to pass through the security gate at the front. But the rooms are spacious, clean, and generally of (slightly old-fashioned) Hilton standard. The whole property really needs updating, but it works. Service is generally good, the bars and restaurants are pricey but of good quality. It is a very large hotel with constant business and activity taking place - a bit like staying in an airport terminal.

Room Tip: Go high if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am glad you enjoyed the security of our hotel and you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality.

All of us at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja are passionate about delivering a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
263 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the recommended venue for a business trip due to the security they provide. However for the excessive price (I haven't paid $380 for one night at a hotel in a long time) I was expecting much more.

For example there were no bath robes and the carpet was the cleanest possible. The remote control for the TV was missing. I had the A/C (an older one with a dial ranging from Red to Blue without numbers) set to minimum but was still freezing. Turning it off made the room humid in minutes....a digital thermostat would have been a nice touch?

For the price, the food and service at the Bucca restaurant were leaving a lot to be desired. The open buffet doesn't include water (it was added separately) and a few food items ran out. The quality was not great either - I was looking forward to a better Nigerian treat. The waiters did not bring more utensils when they remove plates and insisted on giving us a bill after our first plates were cleared. They seemed surprised when we said we were still eating....

To top it off, there is no free drinking water and I was overcharged for breakfast. During check-out I realized the very normal looking bottled water sitting by the mirror in the bathroom was not complimentary. Every hotel in Africa and the Middle East gives at least 1-2 bottles of free water, especially when the hotel tells you not to drink the tap water. And Hilton HHonors members get free water even at a $60 Hilton Garden in the US. They later said I should have gotten 1 for free at check in but that hadn't happened for me or my colleague.

Room Tip: Ask for the A/C to be set for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourrmetGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback regarding your recent stay in our
hotel.

I am certainly disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and I would like to apologise on behalf of the team for all inconveniences you might have experienced.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional service experience for all our guests and the service gaps you experienced are certainly not typical. Please be assured that I will address all the issues raised with my team with a view to improving our overall service delivery.

Once again, do accept my apologies and I do hope you will give us another opportunity of being of service to you on your next trip to Abuja.

Thank you and best regards.

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
167 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

clean comfortable rooms.. no wireless in the rooms.. though internet works fine in the room.. good lunch buffet at zuma, good breakfast..poor chinese restaurant..very poor conference rooms..service at pool restaurant lousy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumeetbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.

Whilst we appreciate your kind comments about your positive experiences, I would like to apologise for any inconveniences you must have experienced during your stay with us.

Your comments about wireless internet are noted. Please be assured that logistics are being put in place for the extension of wireless internet coverage to our guestrooms.

I will be pleased to receive more insights into your experiences at our Oriental and Pool restaurants with a view to improving service delivery.

Once again thank you for your views. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I visited this hotel in July 2012 on a business trip. To be fair the hotel has almost everything one could ask for, but it is big and brash. It is a pity that the management dont place restrictions of the ladies of the night, who can be a nuisance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your experience during your recent stay at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

We take a lot pride in creating a refreshing experience where all our guests feel cared for, valued and respected. I sincerely apologise for any inconveniences you must have experienced during your stay with us.

Your views are respected and I assure you of our best efforts to address your concerns for the overall benefit of all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Transcorp Hilton on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good hotel in Abuja basically on a Western standard. Security checks have decreased during the last times I have been there in the last year, but still seems to be on a good level. Rooms are big and well equipped.
The conference center on 1st floor was not very well but fully sufficient.
Restaurants are all quite good, steaks at Zuma Grill are outstanding! Breakfast is also great and nothing to complain.
The staff if doing a good job as well.

But the price is on such a high level and not valuable anyhow!
As there are not many other options you may choose in Abuja, the Hilton can for sure be a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice_T_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of your experience at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

I am delighted you were impressed with our facilities and service standards during your stay with us. We feel gratified only when our guests leave our hotel feeling cared for, valued and respected.

It is great to know you had a pleasant culinary experience at the Zuma Grill. Our Executive Chef and his team are constantly seeking ways and means of creating memorable culinary experiences for our guests.

Creating value for price is very important to us and I would like to assure you of our best efforts at giving value for money spent by our guests at all times.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments; we look forward to welcoming back to our hotel on your next trip o Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is the best hotel in Abuja, but it doesn't have much competition, and is very expensive! The check-in and out service was competent and friendly, and the BBQ prawns at the pool bar were very tasty - although the sauces had all been finished and were not replenished...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter551365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your experience during your recent stay at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

We are glad you had a pleasant experience staying with us and appreciate your complimentary remarks on the service delivery from our team members. We are committed to the delivery of our Brand Promise and I would like to assure you of our best efforts at giving value for money spent in our hotel at all times.

Once again, thank you for your comments; I look forward to welcoming you back to the Transcorp and trust you will have an even better experience of our Prawns Night at the Fulani Pool Restaurant on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 79 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 79 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
4.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#11 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
0.8 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#16 of 79 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.8 mi away
BON Hotel Abuja
BON Hotel Abuja
#15 of 79 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Property: Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Address: 1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing