We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Went to Abuja for a week in march 2007 found it very good safe and pleasant,the night club was great the girls very nice, the atmosphere excellant the music good good place to relax without venturing out of the hotel.
The pool bar great on sunday afternoon to relax and watch the world go by .
The rooms very good but expensive for what you get ,food ok service good staff friendly and good manered.
Worth a visit. mikey.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fergal5fer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel based on 'word-of-mouth' recommedation of thi snotel being the best in Abuja. I was so glad I did.

Being a Nigerian based in the UK and who has travelled quite a bit, I was pleasantly surprised during my stay here. The staff were extremely polite and nothing was too much for them to do. Room service was unbelievably quick - 10 minutes.

The staff expecially David were extremely charming. Apart from a mishap re: explaining the bill (thought I had paid online, but was surprised to be told that I hadn't), I had no other complaints.

The bed (Ahhhhh! The bed), was so soft and the pillows were so comfy. I had such a good nights' sleep, almost couldn't get up.

Saw lots of families with kids, and a children's park close by, so good for young families. The weekends are much quieter, but am told that during the week, it's more business like.

Would definitely stay there again. Can't wait to go back.

Only snag is - slightly too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shalom0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Lived in Nigeria for 4 years and stayed at this hotel many times, the first point to say is that if we say Ok for this Hotel means Ok for a West African standard and i can easly say that probably in West Africa is one of the best Hotels, safe, big, some shops inside, a few restaurants and a LOT of confuson that is tipical of the place, rooms are not too bad and services are ok (remember what i said before)
If we consider it under an international standard point of view i will say... dirty, not properly organised, too many people around, car showrooms inside the hotel (???) rooms are old and water is yellow, pools outside are dirty and food is terrible, please don't ask for room service and refrain to ask something different from standards (they will never understand what you mean) ... pre-payment is mandatory and if you spend less that what paid expect bounces of dirty cash to bring with you....... but can you expect more from Nigeria ?????

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GDP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Stayed at the Transcorp Hilton on business. Overall, it was OK. Food was good and there was an adequate variety of restaurants. Interestingly enough, it is one of the few hotels I have been to which is surrounded by high walls and concertina wire. The rooms were good but the furniture looked like something out of late 1970's vintage and the air conditioning in the rooms was quite noisy. The gym facilities were good with nice modern treadmills. Check-in staff was buisness like, neutral, neither friendly nor rude.
On the overall good considering one is in Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Franto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

After staying with a relative in a pretty average part of Lagos....staying at the Hilton was really nice. It's really quite beautiful, very refreshing for Nigeria. I believe it is the best hotel in Nigeria. However, my family and I had to move our room twice because the walls were not clean enough for my mother. I enjoyed most things about it, but as expected everything was overpriced and the staff were less than friendly. People often write about how the hotel staff in Nigeria are so rude and bitter, but this is probably because they are likely extremely underpaid....I would be a little disgruntled too. However, the house-keeping staff I found were the most polite! The food is amazing, the breakfast buffet was delicious...very impressive. The dinner buffet was also great. The nightclub downstairs by the casino kind of sucked, but we went on a Wednesday so I didn't really expect much. There were also prostitutes...but it wasn't that bad. The Lounge upstairs was fun too, good musician and entertainment. All in all I liked this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

This is a pretty nice hotel. Not on the same level as Hiltons elsewhere in the world maybe but a lot better than other hotels in Abuja.

The food is good epecially as there's a good choice of restaurants and bars. The pool bar is lovely at night but don't go if you're hungry and want to eat quickly, the service is incredibly slow, but the staff are friendly.

Internet access is very expensive here and cashing a travellers cheque can take forever! (I was advised not to use a credit card in Nigeria so I took cheques, may need to rethink that if I go again)

Overall a good hotel, with a great buzz about it in the evenings.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank futuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

It is two years I live in Nigeria and since the NICON is the center of activities in Town I know it quite well.
If you are looking for an upmarket place were to stay I don't believe that the NICON give you a good "quality/price" value.
Anyhow if you just want to stay in your room and use the hotel facilities (all but the bars and the disco, where you will be overwhelmed by the "courtesy" of "bar girls") there is no alternative among the 5 stars hotel category in Abuja.

However unless you don't stay in the super delux room or suite for a much lower price you can find alterantive at the Rockview Hotel at the Sheraton, at Le Meridiane and at the Mediterranean Hotel

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank oyhibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 84 in Abuja
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.3 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 84 in Abuja
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 84 in Abuja
153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#29 of 84 in Abuja
32 reviews
4.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 84 in Abuja
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#4 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $230 - $1,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom. From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for board meetings, press conferences, receptions or private dining parties. The mezzanine and foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing