We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bolingo Hotel and Towers
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed December 20, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Bolingo for about 8 days in January while we visited family living in Abuja, and the hotel staff was excellent. The room we had was clean, spacious, had a great view of the city and we even had free internet service, which was quite useful. The room service and meals in the dining area were also always good, we never had one meal that was bad. The gym was also a great asset for us, as we are very active athletes.
The reason we highly recommend this hotel is because the management was very accomodating when we missed our flight back to the US and had to check back into the hotel. We requested and received the same room we had just left, and we were even given a discount rate because the manager saw we were really having a bad night.
Again, highly recommended!!

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank naijaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Bolingo Hotel and Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2007

Me and my project team stayed at the Bolingo off and on for almost a year (September 2006 - August 2007). The only reason we kept using the place was because it was cheap (I had negotiated a $70/night deal).

Overall, it is a pretty horrible hotel.

The good points: 1) Rooms are basic but functional. 2) Staff are generally pleasant. 3) The fitness room is OK.

The bad points: 1) There frequently isn't hot water. 2) The food is appalling. 3) The service in the restaurant is appalling. 4) A band has taken to performing most nights in the (souless) bar - once the amusement has work off as to how terrible they are then you have to endure the din. 5) The pool is a joke. 6) The internet connection is very hit and miss (particularly the wireless).

If you want to save money, use The Golden Gate in Wuse 5 instead.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StuartJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

This was my first visit to Nigeria and I would normally stay in a Hilton but I am so pleased I did not. The staff at check in where very welcoming and the porter was helpful with my bags...I stayed in a suite which was very nice indeed and had everything I needed. Th decor was a little dated but I believe they are looking to refurb the hotel shortly anyway. The facilities are great on site and this made me happy as being my first visit to Nigeria I did not want to explore the outside world on my own. All I can say is, if you are staying in Abuja, stay at the Bolingo Hotel......

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank firstclass007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, united kingdom
112
Reviewed November 19, 2005

I was on business in Abuja for the month of November, and through my visit i stayed at 3 different hotels, The Hilton, Le Meridian and Bolingo Hotel And towers.
I must say that of all my nights in Abuja, I had the best sleep and felt more at home at Bolingo.
The Hotel is Under excellent Swiss Management, the food was excellent, and the service was great. The facilities for business were readily available, 24hr intrnet access in the rooms and a good business centre.
The tranquil location of this hotel is enhanced by the wonderful landscaping and the view of the city from the rooms especially at night is priceless.
For anyone who likes to relax on business trips or holidays, this is the hotel to stay. Keep your worries at bay and enjoy your visit, at least that is how i felt during my visit.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2004

Protea, the South African hotel chain, ran this place for over a year. The hotel's name is now the Bolingo, its old name before Protea management came and left. As for the South Africans, same old same old in Nigeria. Their joint partner was holding back payments and giving Protea a difficult time, wanted more money. So Protea cut and ran to better management opportunities. A major hinderance to foreign investment in Nigeria is that a large percentage of any hotel or venture has to be in Nigerian hands. That means you can easily get cheated or have to wait to get paid, like most who deal in Nigeria.

The hotel is on the main road in from the airport, really close to the business and government area. The new US Embassy, yet to be completed, is basically across the busy highway. Not a bad location, and nice building, but the property has fallen into typically poor management.

The grounds are secure, the lobby is nice with a so-so restaurant. The service and rooms under Protea's management were fair, now under new Nigerian management the hotel is on the decline. Not sure what it is with Nigeria, hotels are overpriced, service is usally poor, nothing stays clean for long, every wall and window seems to have fingerprints or filth on it. The government owned hotels, Bolingo is not, are some of the worst in the world. I've been to some rat holes, but hotels like the Lake Chad in Maiduguri and the Central Hotel in Kano could not be more dirty or unwelcoming. Even the airport Shearton in Lagos is a study in filth, though the restaurant is ok, and service tends to be better in Lagos.

So the Bolingo, no longer Protea, is still newer, the elevators still work, towels still resemble towel not dish rags. It is an ok choice, but for the money go to the Rockview, near the Hilton, the Mediterrean near ECOWAS. Or just pay more and stay at Hilton or Sheraton.

25  Thank vlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#28 of 83 in Abuja
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#15 of 83 in Abuja
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#18 of 83 in Abuja
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolingo Hotel and Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolingo Hotel and Towers

Address: Independent Avenue, Phase 2, Abuja, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Abuja)
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bolingo Hotel and Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolingo Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing