We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“I enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights last december at sheraton. The staff was very responsive and attentive to any requests. Internet worked fine. Food (breakfast buffet) was excellent. Location is good.
I will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockandpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the review, hope to see you back in Abuja soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    118
    109
    89
    62
See reviews for
9
11
32
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Deutschland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room was spacious and clean even so it looked a bit old and worn out. The bathroom was clean as well and I didn't see any bugs crawling around, something you usually expect in these places. The breakfast buffet was very good, many choices. Considering that it is located in Nigeria you cannot fail it...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time, it really means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dear Sheraton world management, pleas make yourself a great favor and pay someone to take this place out of your otherwise respectable and regarded network. The place does not worthy of carrying the Sheraton brand and is only damaging it.
Even the 'recently renovated room' ridiculously named 'superior' and charged at close to 200 euro per night, are old, outdated, filthy and gloomy. Ants and other bugs in the room are not a rare site and although its Africa if I'd like a nature vacation I'll take a tent in the wilderness and not a 'superior room in a Sheraton '.
Staff is nothing more than useless with no ability to make any meaningful answer unless its within their written guide of what to do and what to say.
Breakfast was disgusting and although itms had some visual resemblance to things you may know, flavor was nothing even close.
But the funniest thing is the fact you need to get your bags x-rayed every time coming in, and after the first time you realize that no one is actually looking at the screen and I'm not even sure the machine was working - very reassuring !

Room Tip: Good room is probably in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Y66 for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time.

Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

However, It might interest you to note that the hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment which will address all the issues you mentioned. The other concerns you raised will be addressed with the relevant departments as well.

Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Abuja.

Sincerely,
Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is long overdue some TLC. The accommodation is very tired and, in places, dilapidated. The room I stayed in had dated and broken furniture, thread bear and stained carpets, no safe, inoperable power points, nicotine coloured paint, and intermittent noisy air conditioning. That said, it was kept clean by the room attendant, and the linen and towels were changed on a regular basis. The bed was clean and comfortable, the shower hot, and the fridge cold - so I could almost live with the rest. Despite the condition of some of the rooms, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and there are areas of the hotel that are of a reasonable standard, including the lobby, restaurants, and gym. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice of food, albeit very overpriced (about £20 a head, irrespective of what you eat). The restaurants are all well maintained, with pleasant decor, and a good choice and quality of food, but again very overpriced. Wine was also ridiculously expensive (£30+ for what I would describe as a £5.99 quaffing plonk).
The hotel has a unsupervised outdoor pool, which is of an acceptable standard but needs some landscape repairs, and a gym which is reasonably well equipped and has some modern fitness equipment.
I have experienced far worse hotels in my travels around Africa, but hotel chains, and the African service industry, need to wake up to the fact that business travellers deserve far better than this. Overall, this hotel is not 'Sheraton' standard and really does need some major investment. The staff, in the main, provided very good service, but this does not detract from the fact that this hotel charges premium prices for sub-standard accommodation in the knowledge that they have guaranteed business customers. The litmus test is - would I bring my family here? No.

Room Tip: Stipulate on arrival that you want a safe, a refurbished room, and 'non-smoking'. No guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much Singbe for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we are grateful that you could share it with us.

Our sincere apologies that the room you stayed in was not comfortable enough. To that, It might interest you to know that the hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment. This will address all the issues you mentioned. We also appreciate you did point out that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Abuja.

Sincerely
Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came from Lagos and my company booked me to stay a night at Sheraton, first the lady at the front desk (Blessing by name) was so rude!! I stayed in 7th floor, everything in the room was old and faded. I was so disappointed, I am a Nigerian and I expected more from Sheraton.
Even the food was just average... I doubt if I will use Sheraton again especially because of the way the Blessing lady attended to me..

Layi +2348052603665

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olayiwola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are grateful that you could take out time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We would like to assure you that your next stay would be a memorable one. The hotel is also scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues you mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Manager apologised and said that a huge multi million dollar refit was agreed and was already starting. However that won't stop the staff lying about the condition of the rooms.."I want a room with a safe please?" "Of course, this room has a safe Madam?"...'Well it must be invisible'. Food very poor, Swimming pool could be cleaner. All very very run down. My first room all the furniture was broken - the sliding wardrobe doors, didn't, they jsut fell on you as did the double glazed windows. The bed was rickety, stains on the carpet and coverlets, cracked bathroom fittings. And this was apparently a 'superior room'. When I came back and asked for a change of room...it was all very difficult, and asking for non smoking was impossible. This is supposed to be a Sheraton for goodness sake with 5 star prices to match. Don't go there - ever.

Room Tip: There is a noisy road side and a quiet side. the problem is that when you ask for the quiet side th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel (as you may already know), is scheduled for a full refurbishment and this will address all the issues you mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the this hotel thats supposed to be either 4 or 5 star but please don't expect better than a European 2 star.
I wander what the regular rooms will be like, as I stayed in room 813 on the Preferred guest "Club" floor, what a mess!
There were no pillow cases on the pillow, everything was dated and had a slight smell, it was dirt floors, horrible, horrible bathroom.
Since I paid for an all inclusive, I expected to see a healthy breakfast but alas! I was disappointed with limp vegetables and croissants as hard as scones.
Sheraton need to remove their brand name from that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are grateful that you could take out time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is also scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#13 of 80 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.1 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#7 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing