We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shame about the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great staff, shame about the rooms”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is long overdue some TLC. The accommodation is very tired and, in places, dilapidated. The room I stayed in had dated and broken furniture, thread bear and stained carpets, no safe, inoperable power points, nicotine coloured paint, and intermittent noisy air conditioning. That said, it was kept clean by the room attendant, and the linen and towels were changed on a regular basis. The bed was clean and comfortable, the shower hot, and the fridge cold - so I could almost live with the rest. Despite the condition of some of the rooms, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and there are areas of the hotel that are of a reasonable standard, including the lobby, restaurants, and gym. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice of food, albeit very overpriced (about £20 a head, irrespective of what you eat). The restaurants are all well maintained, with pleasant decor, and a good choice and quality of food, but again very overpriced. Wine was also ridiculously expensive (£30+ for what I would describe as a £5.99 quaffing plonk).
The hotel has a unsupervised outdoor pool, which is of an acceptable standard but needs some landscape repairs, and a gym which is reasonably well equipped and has some modern fitness equipment.
I have experienced far worse hotels in my travels around Africa, but hotel chains, and the African service industry, need to wake up to the fact that business travellers deserve far better than this. Overall, this hotel is not 'Sheraton' standard and really does need some major investment. The staff, in the main, provided very good service, but this does not detract from the fact that this hotel charges premium prices for sub-standard accommodation in the knowledge that they have guaranteed business customers. The litmus test is - would I bring my family here? No.

Room Tip: Stipulate on arrival that you want a safe, a refurbished room, and 'non-smoking'. No guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much Singbe for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we are grateful that you could share it with us.

Our sincere apologies that the room you stayed in was not comfortable enough. To that, It might interest you to know that the hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment. This will address all the issues you mentioned. We also appreciate you did point out that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Abuja.

Sincerely
Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    122
    110
    91
    62
See reviews for
10
12
33
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came from Lagos and my company booked me to stay a night at Sheraton, first the lady at the front desk (Blessing by name) was so rude!! I stayed in 7th floor, everything in the room was old and faded. I was so disappointed, I am a Nigerian and I expected more from Sheraton.
Even the food was just average... I doubt if I will use Sheraton again especially because of the way the Blessing lady attended to me..

Layi +2348052603665

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olayiwola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are grateful that you could take out time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We would like to assure you that your next stay would be a memorable one. The hotel is also scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues you mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakar, Senegal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Manager apologised and said that a huge multi million dollar refit was agreed and was already starting. However that won't stop the staff lying about the condition of the rooms.."I want a room with a safe please?" "Of course, this room has a safe Madam?"...'Well it must be invisible'. Food very poor, Swimming pool could be cleaner. All very very run down. My first room all the furniture was broken - the sliding wardrobe doors, didn't, they jsut fell on you as did the double glazed windows. The bed was rickety, stains on the carpet and coverlets, cracked bathroom fittings. And this was apparently a 'superior room'. When I came back and asked for a change of room...it was all very difficult, and asking for non smoking was impossible. This is supposed to be a Sheraton for goodness sake with 5 star prices to match. Don't go there - ever.

Room Tip: There is a noisy road side and a quiet side. the problem is that when you ask for the quiet side th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel (as you may already know), is scheduled for a full refurbishment and this will address all the issues you mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the this hotel thats supposed to be either 4 or 5 star but please don't expect better than a European 2 star.
I wander what the regular rooms will be like, as I stayed in room 813 on the Preferred guest "Club" floor, what a mess!
There were no pillow cases on the pillow, everything was dated and had a slight smell, it was dirt floors, horrible, horrible bathroom.
Since I paid for an all inclusive, I expected to see a healthy breakfast but alas! I was disappointed with limp vegetables and croissants as hard as scones.
Sheraton need to remove their brand name from that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyoAnj, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are grateful that you could take out time to write a review of your stay at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your opinion is highly valued and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is also scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

I would love to have the opportunity of meeting with you when next you come to our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon and wish you all the best.

Ayo Anjorin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sheraton Abuja has a "Club" -level, where rooms are nice and include access to a special lobby. Taking care of practicalities like paying with a credit card or getting your invoices printed seem to be complicated. The prices are ridiculous. The cheapest Club -level room costs some 500 euros. What you get with that is a standard room. However, everything works, you get hot water and breakfast etc. And the poolside bar is nice in the evenings. But it is clear that all these basic services are highly overpriced.

Room Tip: Club level rooms. Try to negotiate a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, much appreciated, please do contact me when you are in Abuja next. Note, pricing is on the high side but then again most items are imported.

Boris Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N. Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel especially Margaret, customer relations, Hannah in the lobby bar and staff at the Boathouse went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, thankfully a much needed refurbishment of the non club rooms is ongoing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Magret was thrilled with your comments, thank you. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

So I stayed here over a year ago for a business trip and it was terrible. Unfortunately my company gets some kind of deal here so I had to stay here again.
I came here knowing what to expect but hoping they would have renovated and overhauled some thng. Negative!!
Carpets are still coming off, showers/tubs look 200yrs old, wood is peeling off doors,ceiling is peeling too. general structure looks solid but not properly mainting just painted to look a bit better. Furniture, upholstery and everythng else is so old I feel like they ooze germs.
Sharaton, this is a big disgrace to your standards, SPG same thng.
The swimming pools do not look inviting at all cos the floor tiles or watever r so old n discouloured.
Staff are quite friendly but restaurant food taste can be improved. Variety is pretty good tho.
Not worth the money AT ALL!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShallyWaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
141 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing