We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton ???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sheraton ???”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

How this hotel still bears the Sheraton brand is beyond explanation! The hotel is in poor condition - paint peeling off the walls, air conditioning broken in the two rooms I had, filthy bathroom and shower. The lobby is the nicest thing about the hotel. Beyond this area, it all starts to go south real quick. I had the opportunity, more like an experience, to be present when the hotel was cleaning my room. It smelled like they cleaned the floor with turpentine! I had to air out my room for almost 30 minutes to get rid of the odor, which brought on a nasty headache for me. The bathroom is in poor condition (both rooms), I had ants in the second room, and the balcony sliding doors were almost impossible to get open/closed. I will not stay here again and recommend you look elsewhere, like the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyers_fan8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    125
    113
    91
    62
See reviews for
10
12
33
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My stay in the sheraton made me feel very welcome by Rose Onyenweuzo. She was very friendly and polite and pleasure to meet. She makes yours stay worth while and gives you special treatmeant.
I defiently recommend a stay at the Sheraton hotel Abuja.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAM-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time.

Your constructive review means a lot to us, thank you. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A refreshing experience, enjoyed every bit of my stay, I had an event at the banquet hall and afterwards lodged in the hotel, the service was cordial and very professional, I had to extend my stay at the hotel for another day just to soak in all the coziness of my room and the hotel environment. If you plan to stay at a five star in Abuja, then I will recommend the Sheraton to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adejoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have visited Sheraton in the good old days, and that was when they were about the best hotel in Nigeria.
Going back there was a totally different experience, I have been to this hotel about 3 times and it never crossed my mind to do a review on them. Now this is the time.
Sheraton hotel Abuja reception is too blank, full of many people without business in the hotel. They crowd in on you from the parking lot and honestly, its a very embarassing place to be.
The food is ok, i must say. The hotel seems to hold one big event after another so the activity level there is very high, infact its always a carnival in sheraton. A carnival of human beings.

Not to forget, since the hotel is soft on security and manner of people that come in, you can bet all manner of vices will also happen here. My phone was stolen in this hotel at the Ladi Kwali Hall.

If you want to go to shearton, thats fine, But don't have high expectations plssss

Room Tip: A room facing the pool is of a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As per other reviewers, not as you would expect for the Sheraton chain of Hotels. Even being an SPG member, does not hold water here, like the faucets when turned on spits lots of air and takes a long time before you get your water temperature of preference to come through in a solid stream, if that even happens at all. Breakfast was ok, make sure you order your eggs a few days in advance, then and only then you may receive them but don't expect them as you ordered. Lost in translation is the only thing i can rack it up to. Rooms are so tired, i think my father at 75 is more spritely and fresh in appearance. And yes AC needs a call to maintenance to get their ladder and juggle around in the box above the door to get something cool coming out. Overall this is the third Hotel i have been in Abuja, and would rate it against its value as probably better in its class in Abuja. The Hilton is very nice, but be prepared to pay much much more. And yes i think there is limited choices in this price range in Abuja. I would stay here again, as the other Hotel i stayed at at this price range was much worse than Sheraton in most aspects.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

When they took me to my room after walking for what seemed a very long time along decrepit and unlit corridors I could not believe what I saw: the room had four light bulbs missing, two outlets that did not work, ripped carpeting, dirty bathroom and everything in the room looked like it was 50 years old and very worn out. I thought "how can the name Sheraton be associated with this horrible set up"? It took four hours to get new light bulbs put in and one outlet functioning so that I could at least plug in my computer. The next day my office complained and after many phone calls they switched me to a nicer and cleaner room. Then it was fine even though there were still two light bulbs missing which the hotel fixed right away. The head of sales services made sure everything was fine after that and they even sent a basket of fruits to make up for the problems.
There are many prostitutes in the hotel, which makes you wonder what Sheraton thinks of that too.? Now the alternatives in Abuja are limited so you have to go with what is available and your expectations should be lower than average.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolande M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

While Nigeria suffers and tourists are discouraged from travelling - those who have to go there need to know that the hotel they have been directed to is safe and secure.

The Sheraton reviews on Tripadvisor are very accurate.

The hotel is guarded by numerous men in uniforms and they all carry AK47s. They smile and tend to inspect car boots a lot.

I am not sure if a determined suicide bomber would find much to stop them at the Sheraton.

However once through the guards the next thing to greet you are the staff. Wow they don't want you there - it is clear. Guests just make their lives difficult. Don't expect to change any money - (There are no money changing facilities at the airport - beware) as this is a real pain and they tend to not carry much cash anyway.. because who needs cash?

The rooms are very basic - and have equipment that might work - if your kettle doesn't work don't worry they will bring you a replacement that also doesn't work.

The door may look as if it has been broken in to and the security chain removed - this should not alarm you as there are many other such doors and you should not worry - they will never find you in the hotel!

The pool bar is a joy. The pool is warm and welcoming - unfortunately the bar staff are there to encourage you to go back into the hotel. Their welcome is cooler than the AC in the main restaurant. (Oh and don't ask for a receipt! it just upsets them!)

Shabby, unwelcoming, poor service and incredibly expensive.. but they know they have a "captive audience" - my advice - go to the Hilton!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing