We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Sheraton is one of those safe havens in developing countries that you hear about ever so often. Security is taken rather seriously with vehicle searches at the gate and security at the door.
Once inside and as long as you can afford it there is no reason to leave. there are several restaurants from Steak to Indian to Italian, a little bakery, a large pool, tennis courts, fitness center, business center (including a small bank), bars, a night club / casino and so on...
Staff is friendly.
There are a few shopping centers as well as an artists village nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, starting later this year.

I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Abuja Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 453 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Perhaps not the best Sheraton I I have stayed in, but comfortable enough for short business trips. Security is taken very seriously with vehicle searches at the main entrance and metal detectors on the front door but is not particularly thorough on occasion.
The Papillion restaurant serves a good breakfast and the standard buffet lunch I have had in several African Hotels, there are additional restaurants on site.
The rooms are acceptble but in need of refurbishment or some maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet you expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My fifth stay at Sheraton this year. Sheraton is improving with lots of efforts by the new management but the icy cold lobby and reception could benefit from a better tuned air conditioning (recently replaced I was told). Luckily the Friday wine tasting social hour warmed up a bit the place.
Staff friendly as usual and ready to help ( I got an extra blanket in 5 minutes). Too bad the Elephant Bar was closed for renovation during my stay (8 days), I missed the great live band on Fridays and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Of course club floors are better. Avoid rooms above lobby on the 3rd floor there are too cold due to...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will start later this year.

The life band is now playing at the pool on Fridays, a great venue in summer. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Let me repeat the review I've already added to the Starwood website:

This would be an "acceptable" hotel if it were not as costly and if it were not branded "Sheraton" and "Starwood." The price, the photos on the website and the brand names (Sheraton and Starwood) led me to expect a far better experience. The Meridien Hotel, in N'Djamena, Chad, for example, is a very nice hotel that lives up to my expectations despite being in a city that is much less developed than Abuja. The saving grace of the hotel is the staff - who were very friendly. The Director of Sales and Marketing, Daniel Sekoni, was very friendly and seemed genuinely concerned with my disappointment in the room.

This hotel either needs to lower it's prices, or upgrade it's offering. As it stands, the hotel gives a poor and out-dated return for the expensive investment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklynjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager
t — +234.9.4612000 f — +234.9.4601511

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel isn't in the best shape, not super clean or well organized but it wasn't horrible all considered. Some of the rooms have apparently been remodeled (mine wasn't) but the bed was fine and the sugar ants migrating from the bathroom to the patio door stuck to the wall and avoided the furniture.

The AC worked about half the time, not all that comfortable and I found myself working in the lobby just to stay cool. On the plus side the internet, while slow was reasonably priced and worked reliably the whole time I was there. The dining options were okay, nothing great but it was food. The elephant? bar near the lobby seems sketchy.

One nice thing is that it's a bit off the radar, looking at the Hilton its surrounded by the army and police, seems to be much more of a target when compared to the lower key security around the Sheraton.

For the price the Sheraton isn't a great value but it's good enough and I'd probably stay there again the next time I'm in Abuja.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room, the ones on the higher floors seem nicer than those down below.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbkdotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. As always, your comments is very helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet you expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The crowning glory of my truncated stay at the Sheraton was at checkout, when the receptionist was able to staple my bill, but not find an envelope in which to put it. How emblematic!

It is sometimes said in defense of the Sheraton/Abuja that their security is excellent. On the contrary, security is appalling. No bomber in his right mind would pass through the Sheraton’s entrance door, which is heavily guarded. Any bomber with an IQ of 99 can stroll in through their exit door, which, lightly guarded, swings in both directions on its hinges. Has the hotel management learned nothing from decades of terrorist attacks?

Prostitutes do not raise the level of Sheratons, either here or elsewhere. If you do not wish to be parted from your money, avoid the nocturnal traffic jams at the Elephant Bar.

Is hot water a scarce commodity in Nigeria? I sponge bathed my first night when the hot water came out tepid in my bathtub.

Three good points: there is wireless connectivity, the standby generators kick in after power cuts, and the cable TV offerings are passable.

To approach $200 per night (bed only, no breakfast) is unfortunate. I paid the UN rate, and don’t know what the general public is paying.

If Sheraton’s home office knew the reputational damage which the local owners were inflicting on their good name, they’d sell it, as they sold the Sheraton/Harare. Nobody blames the Sheraton chain for the (numerous) faults of Rainbow Towers, the ex-Sheraton/Harare.

The Rockview Classic is said to be an attractive alternative to the Sheraton, and a damned sight cheaper.

Room Tip: Higher floors escape the noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet you expectations. I assure you it will be followed up. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager
t — +234.9.4612000 f — +234.9.4601511

SHERATON ABUJA HOTEL
1 Ladi Kwali Street, P.M.B 143, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria
www.sheraton.com/Abuja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I think this hotel is run down and does not match the usual Sheraton standard. The management is aware and i think they are in a renovation mode. To continue in business, they presently offer good rates and considering the fact that they are also strategically located in the Abuja city, i won't complain too much about the room quality.

Aside the rooms, they have very good restaurant and and the food is also quite good.

The elephant bar is a no go area for me. Filled with Commercial Sex Workers and they even wonder around in the lobby fishing for customers. I really wander how Sheraton will allow this in the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother going for the expensive rooms if you just need a good nights sleep. Most of the fa...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.

Boris Bornman
General Manager

Boris Bornman

General Manager
t — +234.9.4612000 f — +234.9.4601511

SHERATON ABUJA HOTEL
1 Ladi Kwali Street, P.M.B 143, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
146 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#23 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reiz Continental Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $235 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing