We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is not the best hotel in the city but its ok for short stay. The swimming pool is big enough and in a quite place while the gym is very small and dirty. The food is generally good but expect to wait a long time before be served. The hotel has also a discotheque that become crowded from friday to sunday. The staff is generally friendly and polite.

Room Tip: I personally enjoyed the grill at Obudu restaurant. Rooms are generally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager
t — +234.9.4612000 f — +234.9.4601511

SHERATON ABUJA HOTEL
1 Ladi Kwali Street, P.M.B 143, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria
sheraton.com/Abuja Also on &

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 471 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the absolute worst Sheraton anywhere on the planet!

While some of the staff is helpful, I picked the check-in agent who took 30 minutes to input my credit card details, copy my passport, search for a key, etc etc I could not figure out what was taking him so long, while the other agents were checking in one person after the other.

The entire place is in a general state of disrepair and neglect. My room had a strong musty smell, the battery of the safe was empty, burned out lightbulbs in the bathroom. Some of my co-travelers changed rooms several times because the A/C was not working or dripping, etc.

The most interesting thing (for a Sheraton) is that the hotel is actually a thriving brothel. When entering the elevators, there is a register - I was not asked to put my name down, but at night I observed several (admittedly very attractive) ladies putting down their names. I assume this is to keep track of their fees back to the hotel. The Elephant bar is the showroom for the ladies, so not recommended when looking for a simple dinner.

Quite unbelievable that this hotel is permitted to carry the Sheraton brand!

Room Tip: Apparently there are refurbished rooms, but all I saw was that the tile floor had been replaced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The banqueting staff was the most helpful and organised team during my stay at the Sheraton in Abuja. The conference went very well and all staff was always at hand to assist during our 5-day conference. I have stayed in a few Sheraton hotels before, even in Harare, Zimbabwe, so I was quite dissapointed in the state of the bedrooms... The lobby was clean and access to wi-fi was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Where to start...Let's do the positive point it will be quick. The italian restaurant is doing ok pizza for nigeria but don't expect anything better than the worst pizza hut...The obudu grill on the other hand is serve really nice meat. Voila for the rest it is a tragedy that Sheraton gives this hotel the franchise the rooms are dirty and old the lounge upstairs smell bad and serve disgusting breakfast, the hotel bar is a aggressive hooker place.
Price are cheaper than the Hilton but 250 Euros for this dump is high street robbery. When you know the kind of money that is floating around in Nigeria leaving the sheraton franchise to property is an insult for the brand and customer who are lured in by the brand and find themselves in a s...hole!

Room Tip: just avoid this hotel spend an extra 100 euros and go to the hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family holds an SPG membership and since i live in abuja i was eager to use the point for a quiet retreat with the girlfriend. The receptionist was extremely lovely, thereby giving me high hopes for the rooms and service.

Here is where the trouble started:

The elevators were shaky and frankly quite scary ( i hear they've been remodeled)
there was water dripping all over the corridors
the toilet seat was circular while the toilet bowl was square, very uncomfortable to use
the furniture was thread bare and from the 80s i must say
TV channel selection was poor
the room service took ages, my girlfriend actually ran out of the hotel to get a shawarma from a restaurant and was back in bed before the spaghetti bolognaise arrived (good laugh)

the hotel was too expensive for the poor service

my trip was in 2011 heard some work has been done

Room Tip: as for new rooms facing the highway it has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugwu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Absolutely shocking hotel. Run down, noisy and overpriced. Very low standards. If you are forced to stay in this hotel very least you need to do is make sure you're well away from the Elephant bar which is noisy and seedy.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Honestcritic99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I read reviews before deciding to give this hotel the benefit fo the doubt because I heard it was being upgraded. I insisted on seeing a room before confirming and checking in. The front desk took 15mins before arranging this simple task. One quick look at the room and I was on my way out. Furniture was disgraceful (definitely same ones from the 90s or possibly 80s), the mattress was hard as a rock. There was noise from the highway. Only the floor looked like it had been upgraded to wooden laminate. And I was supposed to pay $400 for this "luxury"! The next morning, a business partner who stayed there said he had no hot water. I was told the executive floors were better (albeit at a cost). When last did the folks at Sheraton (Starwood Hotels) group visit this hotel?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ufi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 85 in Abuja
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 85 in Abuja
162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#31 of 85 in Abuja
33 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 85 in Abuja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $205 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing