We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel need renovation: it reminds me of the 80's, I feel like I just took a trip back in time. For almost 300 usd I expect a nice room with a flat screen tv and a complimentary bottle of water at least. The restaurant buffet is not bad but the staff didn't even greet us or take drink orders till we asked, the front desk staff are friendly though. The water wasn't that hot either.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShallyWaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    118
    109
    89
    62
See reviews for
9
11
32
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a badly run and run down 1970's hotel that lures guests that think they are going to a top class international hotel. The staff are poorly trained, and bureaucratic, the rooms run down and musty. Unbelievable that they can charge close to $300 for such a place.

Room Tip: If you have no other options insist on the modestly upgraded rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banking0nlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
World
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed last year about 3 months in Sheraton Abuja, and in few days I will return to Abuja and of course I booked myself again at Sheraton. I read a lot of bad reviews about the hotel and the bar and I am really surprised. Yes, it is not like Sheraton in USA, or Sheraton in Europe, helloooo-you are in Nigeria. From my experience-everyone was very very nice, polite and helpful. Maybe those people who complained that they were treated bad, maybe they treated the staff very rude ( saw many foreigners talking with the staff on a very rude way).
I am a single female, caucasian, blonde, and felt really comfortable and safe at the hotel and at the Elephant bar. I am going very often downstairs to the Elephant bar and always I was treated very nice by the staff there. I never had a problem there, people who are coming to the bar ( girls and guys) were always polite to me. Nobody ever bothered me there, no one was rude-had actually lot of fun. The band is pretty good and I do enjoy having my glass of wine or a beer, chatting and listening to live band there .There are some prostitutes coming there-yes, and? They never bother me or my friends ( male friends) . So...from a perspective of a single caucasian blonde female it's a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton for about a week while in Abuja on work. Overall the hotel is ok, and some of the other reviewers probably attach too much value to the Sheraton brand name. Food is good if very expensive (£18 for beef and chips, £4.50 for beer). Pool is nice and cool. Room was fine, except for the wardrobe door falling off on me! The Elephant Bar, a lively joint within the hotel, is extremely loud in the evenings until about 23:45, meaning it is impossible to sleep before that time. Staff are generally very friendly if you are polite.

Low point however was having $250 stolen from my wallet in my room. I reported this to the security staff, who proceeded to run a 5-day 'investigation'. I was finally told that there was not enough evidence to prove there was a theft. I complained to the manager who was extremely rude and unhelpful and refused any kind of redress for the theft. I therefore decided to cut short my stay and move elsewhere. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeAndAway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

A second long stay and still no improvement. Restaurant service good and really enjoyed the food, but very many unhelpful or moody members of staff elsewhere, especially the female employees. Complained to management about so many issues; was told by foreign management that it was just Nigerian culture. I find this offensive and inaccurate. I have stayed in many other Nigeria hotels where the level of service and attention to detail has been very good. This place needs huge renovation, beginning with management staff retraining. Also, inept security despite this hotel being identified as a potential terrorist target, and hotel bar always full of prostitutes, who are an irritating and pungent factor in the elevators in the mornings. Lock on room insecure and faulty. Not a safe environment at all, given the threat level.

Room Tip: Go to tyhe Hilton instead. There are no good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Probably world's worst Sheraton, it has single glass windows, I actually had to stay only here because of security needs my office demanded and had stayed 3 months in total in 2009. Most inefficient front desk staff, almost all rooms are dysfunctional, every time i checked in i had to change rooms 3 times to find all things working. First they didnt suggest me to join their Starwood programme, later i had to send a lengthy email, finally they enrolled me. Later in my second and third stay i was always upgraded to Suite as I become Gold and Platinum member. Alas these suites weren't any better, the only relief was that they gave free internet, had access to club lounge where there was some snack and fruits. Breakfast was better. Also the rooms right below the elephant bar was too noisy, the rooms on the side of the roads were too noisy as the windows were single glass. The Gym was sub standard. The pool, pool bar and the buffet in the evening were the only relief. For Lunch and Dinner i use to order food from Nando's or Wakki's for home delivery. If i compare this with Athnee Plaza in Bangkok or Le Meridian in Changmai this hotel wouldnt stand a chance. The Hilton was better, but it was always over booked... I dont know if there was any improvement.

Room Tip: Choose in the second and third set of blocks towards Swimming pool view above 4th floor - 6th Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeevaduraisamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

The staff here are excellent and go out of there way to be helpful and ensure you are comfortable and served. Many of the rooms have now been renovated, which is where I stayed. Well appointed with a big comfortable bed, an array of pillows, satellite TV, desk and en-suite. The hotel also had a range of restaurants. Security is obvious which is reassuring.
I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 80 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.1 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#7 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing