We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rooms are grungy and in serious need of upgrading. Internet is expensive ($20 per day) and slow. Front desk staff unable to make recommendations about anything useful in Abuja; restaurant staff slow, gym staff surly, but room staff and security very helpful and friendly. Restaurant food is mediocre and overpriced - the regular lunch and supper buffet costs N5000 which is over $30. The 'coffee' is some kinda brown water. The pool is good for lying next to (despite lots of noise from kids swimming classes) but too small for swimming laps.The gym is just nasty: very old machines, lots of broken equipment all crammes into one small room with no natural light. Neither of the ATMs in the lobby actually dispense cash. The money-changers across from the main entrance give a better rate (by around 10%) than the hotel. I would avoid this hotel like the plague.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'new' section and on the pool side of the building, not the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank facey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Having spent about 11 weeks total at this hotel, one of the best features is the variety of on-property restaurants to choose from - you don't have to go anywhere if you don't want to! Hotel staff is friendly and welcoming. Although response time is slower than Americans are used to, I have always received help with Internet, getting an iron, etc. As a woman traveling alone in a foreign country, I have always felt safe at the Sheraton. Whether getting sun by the pool, having a glass of wine and reading a book at the outside bar, taking the stairs or wandering the property by myself, I have never felt uncomfortable. I especially like the fact that I have randomly seen security staff wandering the guest room halls.

Room Tip: If you have the points, you want to be on the 8th floor. Tower 3 is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I doubt you can find a really "very good" or "outstanding" hotel in Abuja, except maybe the Protea Suites. That said, the Sheraton is a comfortable place by African standards, the staff are friendly and the food is consistently good, sometimes great. After over a dozen trips in two years and several hundred nights spent at the Sheraton, it has a sort of feeling of being at home. The rooms are old that is true but a model room was recently finished and maybe the hotel owners will begin to renovate in earnest. I find problems in the rooms are fixed promptly. And as one reviewer noted you are saving over $100 per night. I empathize with the reveiwer complaining about noise, if you're near the Elephant bar it can be noisy. I stay in Tower 3 and you get awaken by birds in the morning; a very quiet part of the hotel. I've had colleagues and flight crews complain about the noise at the Hilton so it is an issue there as well. The Elephant Bar has a lot of women at night though collegaues who are women do not hesitate to go to the bar and have a drink there, even if by themselves. The women are confined to the bar. It is easiest to avoid them by not visitng the bar. Colleagues have told me that is not the case at the Hilton these days with women roaming the lobby, halls and elevators though I not seen it firsthand. I think a bigger issue to consider for the frequent or occasional traveler is security. If the backup from the security check at the Sheraton is too long, you get out of your car walk 100 meters, at the Hilton you have to walk a kilometer. The Sheraton is spread out over 3 buildings and built like fortress with curved walls and atriums that would minimize damage. The lobby has concrete barriers that would prevent any car except maybe a Mini from getting through. All in all I prefer the Sheraton; it's comfortable, friendly, quiet and safe. Though they really need to begin room renovation.

Room Tip: Tower 3 facing the pool; lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadindar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Having stayed at this Hotel on several ocassions, I was pleased to return for this four week stay. Whilst some comments in other reviews have merit, overall I find this Hotel ver good to stay in. Most of the rooms are fine, if not better, the beds comfortable and I have had no problems with mossies (unlike many other Hotels in NIgeria).The air con works well, and does'nt, like in other Hotels, sound like a motor mower. There is a wide variety of food available in several bars and restaurants, from excellen steaks, good pasta, curries and even fish and chips. I have always found the staff here very polite and extremely helpful. The management constently strive to bring improvements, noticeable on this stay in the gym, the swimming pool area and the bars. I would always be pleased to return and recommend it to other business visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel three times but after last night I will not return. The rooms vary in standard but yesterday my room on the 5th floor was the worst room I have stayed in for many years of business travel, it was very basic and did not feel clean. Worse than this though is the noise, the rooms are far from soundproof and the loud music from the Elephant bar (the hotel pick up joint on ground floor) kept me awake until 2am. This is not good if you are booked on the morning flight to LHR and need to be awake before 5am. I will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggieCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was put into this hotel for two weeks, but I wouldn't use it by choice.

By international standards this is not a good hotel. What really lets it down is the "can't do" and "no" mentality of the staff. The female staff members seem to be the most unhelpful.

There is a constant smell of burning cooking fat in the mornings, and the rooms are like those of a cheap US motel.

Like all Nigeria hotels, it is very overpriced. Zero value for money.

The only saving grace is that the food is OK (but not great).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms at this enormous hotel vary - and I discovered that you apparently have to be in a 'superior' room if you want to have a safe in your room for your valuables. The staff were helpful, and it's a good base from which to do business in Abuja. If you're a woman on your own, though, watch out for the rather blatant prostitution here, which may make you uncomforatable. If it does, the Pool Bar is the place to go in the evenings, and definitely not the Elephant Bar in the lobby area!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 85 in Abuja
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 85 in Abuja
161 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#31 of 85 in Abuja
33 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 85 in Abuja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $205 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing