We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed August 19, 2011

To Expensive to stay on that old hotel. There has not been any renevation since they build the hotel. They say on Web and signs that they accept MasterCard but it was not working. Alot of hookers at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highland_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

As per other people reviews of the Sheraton Hotel in Abuja they are really not exaggerating The place is so run down. The room furniture is dilapidated as if it was just freshly brought in from an abandoned house, the bathroom tiles are stained and grouting is coming up, the bathrooms look like they were painted a decade ago, the room safes don't open consistently when you enter your pin, the beds were hard and uncomfortable and the sheets had holes in them... and last but not least, they're were cockroaches running around.

This all does not sound bad ....I've stayed in much worse, but when paying $266 a night (with discount by the way) and an internet connection fee of $25 a day... this is an outright joke.

Obviously this place is a total rip off but management don't care. People still come as there is limited accommodation in Abuja, so basically you just need to bend over and take it unless you do your homework and find alternative places to stay (which there are apparently for much cheaper and much better quality).

I personally have been so put off this Sheraton experience that I refuse to ever stay in a Sheraton based hotel again. Its one thing to leave your hotel to rot and simultaneously abuse the countries situation by over charging customers, but to put the name of Sheraton at jeopardy just to earn a quick buck, it sure does not make business sense to me. I sure hope Nigerians have a good memory when competition comes into the sector.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caneburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodNigeria, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear Nato1974,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience at the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. Your feedback is certainly valuable and has been passed on to our respective teams in order to implement the necessary changes. We are shortly commencing renovations which will give our hotel the facelift it requires. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Abuja.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I can't believe this is actually a Sheraton hotel...it's made me completely rethink the brand and wonder what's keeping this one in their portfolio. I'm a single female, this was my fourth trip to Nigeria in 12 months, so I was kind of used to how it works over there...but thank goodness I was travelling as part of a large group .Several of my group moved out to the Hilton (I've stayed there, it's much better) because room doors wouldn't shut, let alone lock. Others had doors which had obviously been bashed in...you really don't need to feel that you're not safe in your bed on business. My room was fine but I think I was on the refurbished side - I wish I could tell you which side that was but you should insist upon it. Either way, the room was NOISY - the Elephant Bar on one side, the traffic on the other: so you're kept awake late by one and woken up early by the other.
On the plus side (well, it's a moot point) I had the most hilarious night I've had for a long while on business talking to the prostitutes in the Elephant Bar (it was a quiet night for the girls) but then again, if I'd been there on my own or had wanted to take clients there...professional credibility down the pan!
What can I say that's positive? The pool was a good size - but take lots of mosquito repellant if you're out there after dusk. The staff were generally friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Good: The Elephant restaraunt was good, although Nigerian food never fails to disappoint. The service is very good.
The Bad: Everything else. There are two sections - the old one is simply terrible. Doors that do not shut, a room door that did not lock, broken phone, tiny 20th Century TV, stains in the bathroom, broken tiles, stains on the carpet. The new wing was better - the door locked but had a really old fashioned and substandard inner lock that could easily be broken into, generally clean, bamboo floor instead of carpet (no stains!), no closet (just an open rack at the front door), "refrigerator" sitting in the open. The hotel rooms are outdoors, so mosquitos are an issue - bring a mosquito net and take malaria piils. Common areas were terribly run down except the reception area. Special forces police walked around with machine guns, guards at the elevators, and a kennel full of guard dogs provided security, but there the hotel is indefensible to a truck bomb or concerted attack. Buy travel life insurance. Sheraton should be ashamed to have its name on this hotel. Try the Nicon Luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel four times now – Yes, The older rooms are shabby, and the external walls of the hotel desperately need a lick of paint. (The Grey internal walls don’t help – A change of color would help!) Agreed - This Hotel would do better trade if it was refurbished – no doubt about that!
But, I can recommend the Hotel to anyone visiting Abuja on business. For the following reasons: Good Security. Very good breakfast and a great steak house!
On the four occasions I have stayed it at this Hotel, the rooms have always been clean, and I have not had any problems sleeping. I have always had good service. In fact apart from the general run down appearance - nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: All ways ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keltronNiamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodNigeria, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear KeltronNiamey,

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Abuja Hotel and for recommending us to your network of friends and family. I'm glad you enjoyed the Obudu Grill and Steakhouse! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

When on business trips I generally stick affordable but decent places to stay, mainly Best Western hotels. There is no Best Western hotel in Abuja, and the Hilton and Protea hotels are generally more than $300 per night. So for this trip I chose the Sheraton, notwithstanding the negative reviews. Unfortunately all of those negative reviews were right: It is clear that the rooms have not been revamped in the 20-odd years since the hotel was built. The fridge in the room could not close properly leaked water, and must have done so for months, because wood of the cabinet has rotten away. Worst of all was the deafining noise coming from the night club every night. The one plus point of theSheraton is the wide choice of food available, although rather expensive. Internet was expensive, about USD 20 per night. The gym was average, with only one of the running machines working

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

There are more negative reviews than positive on TripAdvisor and I was quite apprehensive when I booked this hotel for a short business trip to Abuja.

The first impression as you drive into the hotel compound is pleasant enough. Well maintained grounds and a huge imposing structure, more like a large office block office block and mall rather than a hotel. The hotel is built around a large central courtyard with corridors running around the centre, leading off to the rooms.

Checkin was fast and I was in my room within 10 mins of arriving at the hotel. A word of caution...the machines they use for swiping your Credit Card has major connectivity issues and quite often they don't work. The staff is aware of this and have an old fashioned mechanical swiping device at hand. That's ok if you have Credit Cards with raised lettering but a problem if you have the newer "electronic use only" Cards. I had to fish out an old Credit Card! That also means do budget atleast 15 mins for chekout...you never know how long it might take to settle your bill. But for all of that, the staff are friendly and eager to serve.

As long as you are in an upper floor...say 3rd floor and above, there's no problem with noise and sleep quality. Choose rooms with wooden parquet flooring, those seem to be nicer than the old fashioned mossaic/marble flooring. Rooms are big and the upper floor rooms have balconies. But even then, all rooms look rather tired...upholstery, flooring, furnishing etc. However, I had absolutely no problems with plumbing or water. or lights. Everything worked fine.

There's plenty to choose from when it comes to drinking and eating. Service is quick and quality is good but expensive. That is not exclusive to this hotel...at Nigeria all 4/5 star hotels charge excessively. The buffet breakfast is good with a huge spread. Room service is fast and reliable. The Casino is lively and heats up late in the evening. But air-conditioning in the public areas is bad. Comfortable early in the morning but gets uncomfortably warm as the day progresses.

There are a dozen odd free terminals for internet access at the ground floor lobby opposite the front desk. For accessing from rooms they charge Naiara 1000 (USD 7) per day. That's bad for a 4 star hotel. Should have come for free.

Safety and security is often an issue at Nigeria. Not at this hotel though. You never feel threatened and I have often hired taxis from the hotel. Simply asked the guard outside to get me one. None of the drivers have ever tried to cheat me.

Overall...this is certainly not Sheraton standard if you go by the condition of the rooms. But all other services and facilities are actually quite good.
The rooms

Room Tip: 3rd level and above rooms with wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
3.7 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 84 in Abuja
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 84 in Abuja
160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#31 of 84 in Abuja
33 reviews
3.6 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 84 in Abuja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range: $206 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing