We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at the nordic villa felt like home while away from home.”
Review of The Nordic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nordic Villa
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I would recommend the nordic villa to all and sundry: a quiet, serene and refreshing environment...the staff are cool, and Mr Fortune(the manager) is uniquely gifted in the art of making customers feel relaxed.

i know that things can only get better. see you all at the top!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fqtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear fqtee, On behalf of The Nordic Villa team, i would like to thank you sincerely for taking out time to post a review of your recent stay at The Nordic Villa, Abuja. We are grateful for your patronage.
We are pleased to see you have enjoyed your visit to us. As you rightly said, things can only get better as we strive to offer our esteem guests the best at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Best regards,

Fortune
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Nordic Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

After having stayed several times at The Nordic Residence, I decided to give the villa a try. I arrived Sunday at noon, which I had announced by email some days prior to my arrival, and waited more than an hour until I could get into the room. I know, official arrival is 15h, but that is why I announced that my flight arrives late morning and I would be there around noon.
The room, Oslo, was up to the expected standard, except for the more than half empty ice cream box someone left in the freezer. And the rather weak (=slow) internet signal (2 out of 5 bars).
Breakfast was disappointing; it took 2 attempts to get a fried egg, sunny-side-up, with the egg yolk not destroyed; the selection card asks you to choose between fries, fruit and yoghurt, however, there are no fruits or yoghurt (same on the following morning, nobody bothered to buy fruits or yoghurt, not exactly difficult in Africa, they sell pineapple, popo, banana, mango, apples etc. on every street corner); there was also not the slightest attempt to make up for this deficiency, for example by offering a second cup of coffee, extra jam or juice, two eggs instead of one, anything.... the coffee is served with a sugar bowl, but no milk (on both mornings, I did however get milk when I asked for it).

Room Tip: They said the WIFI router was upstairs; if you need internet, stay upstairs
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear artalmon, The Nordic Villa team and i thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated in guiding our efforts. We are pleased to hear that the room you stayed was up to the expected standard. We sincerely apologise for the delay in check in. We are pleased to let you know that our internet is working perfect in all rooms, lobby and other important areas now.
We also apologise for the bad experience you had with the breakfast, all these has been corrected and we promise to make it up during your next visit. Your feedback has helped us greatly to put a lot of things in order.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have stayed at the Nordic Villa several times now and can recommend it to travelers looking for affordable, clean, safe and friendly environs when in Abuja. Mr. Fortune and his staff always do their best to make the visit pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Marlene M, We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments. The trust imposed on us will never be taking for granted. We promise to live up to expectation at all times. We know it takes courage and trust to recommend The Nordic Villa to all. This gesture will enhance more commitment to the task ahead of us.
We take you as part of us and your presence will always be appreciated.
We wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at the Nordic Villa for business from 1-9 February. The hotel was clean and quiet.
The rooms are big, the beds comfortable. The wireless connection is stable. The only minus with the rooms is the limited TVchannel selection (no Olympics!) and rather dim lighting. The rooms come with breakfast, which is average, but filling.

The biggest plus is the wonderful staff and customer service. My colleague and I faced a couple of logistical challenges, and Mr. Fortune and the staff went above and beyond to assist. I can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Nicole L, The Nordic Villa, Abuja team and i thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated in guiding our efforts. We are grateful to know that we were able to go extra miles to make your stay a memorable one. Every feedback is carefully noted and attended to as soon as possible and yours is not an exception, some issues raised will be looked into immediately.
We appreciate your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

We wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Best hotel I've stayed in so far in Abuja. The reviews I'd read beforehand were definitely good advice. I like the Nordic decor, rooms are clean and neat and, above all, service is significantly better than other places. Stayed in the Pori room and it was quiet, facing a green lush inner courtyard giving extra privacy. Breakfast a la carte with good tranquil music playing is very nice, the not so big menu selection was totally enough for me, but it could be quicker though for people on a tight morning schedule. The hotel feels safe and secure, and although the Villa is out in Jabi it didn't take more than 30 minutes to get to Asokoro.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malinelisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Malinelisabet, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at The Nordic Villa, Abuja. The team and i are very encouraged that we were able to meet your expectations. The reviews are our guests experiences and those reviews mean so much to us. We are committed to quality service delivery at all times. The music in the breakfast place is one of the ways to make you feel at home while enjoying your breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have stayed several times in the Nordic Villas in Abuja now and found the experience most satisfying. The place is modern, clean and most important quiet. The staff and service is amazing and nothing is too much trouble for the team. The breakfast, though limited in menu choice is a perfect way to start the day. The hotel taxi service, though expensive is very good. The only negatives if there had to be some would be the limited choice of TV channels on offer, erratic internet and lack of a real room service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waseemmahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Waseemmahmood, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Nordic Villa, Abuja. The team and i sincerely appreciate your feedback, it helps us reorganising ourselves in the area of service delivery and keeping details on the job. We are grateful we were able to meet your expectations. Your comments mean so much to us and we promise never to relent until every point you raised is look into speedily. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very calm and relaxing environment great service and staff. Great value for money aswell. My husband and i really enjoyed the privacy I mostly enjoyed the breakfast room. Definitely the place il be staying at the next time im in abuja

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanithevenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, General Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Amanithevenin, On behalf of the team here at The Nordic Villa, Abuja, i thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of The Nordic Villa. We are grateful for your encouragement and patronage, we never take this for granted given the many hotel choices in Abuja. We assure you that we will always strive to meet your expectations and that of our other guests at all times.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Fortune.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
4.3 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
0.7 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
146 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 83 in Abuja
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
0.2 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#23 of 83 in Abuja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Villa

Address: 52, Mike Akhigbe Way | Jabi, Abuja 900003, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: $112 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nordic Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Villa is a boutique hotel in Abuja. Furnished in a modern Scandinavian style The Nordic Villa offers 15 beautiful rooms in a peaceful and safe environment suited for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Nordic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing