We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bitter- Sweet experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nordic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nordic Villa
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Certificate of Excellence
Ibadan, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bitter- Sweet experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at The Nordic Villa in July 2012. The room was clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well in my room so it was easy to keep up with my official tasks and other business transactions and contacts. It felt like I never left my office desk back at home. Breakfast could be better. I had very serious issue with payment. The website showed that credit cards are accepted so I came with mine only to be told payment must be made in cash. This totally wrecked my trip as I had to search all over Abuja to get an ATM which could transfer cash out of my VISA credit card. I missed my flight and much more. Management ought to rectify this issue as a matter of urgency.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wumiyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear wumiyeye,

Thank you for your review as it has given us valuable information to improve our standards and services. We appreciate that you took your time to review The Nordic Villa.

We have now decided to include our breakfast in the room rate, so the next time you visit The Nordic Villa, you will have a free continental and well prepared breakfast.

We are very sorry for the situation our payment system has put you through. For this reason, we have corrected the wording in our payment options on our website. We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

We hope to see you at The Nordic Villa soon again as we will do our very best to live up to your expectations.

Best regards
Fortune
Manager, The Nordic Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    94
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
15
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Simple, no frills, clean, airy, quiet, friendly, B&B. Only took me 5 minutes to get to a meeting at the Sheraton. Rooms need minor improvements (curtains did not cover windows fully), exposed power boxes and trunking, some details in the bathroom also. But most people may not notice. Walk in showers would be nice improvement to have, especially for the larger rooms. Great value for money in Abuja.

Cons
Online booking showed no rooms. Called and got one! However, still did not receive email confirmation until arrival.
Only 10 rooms, so no real flexibility in changing check out dates or rooms. Needed to stay an extra night but had to move out after 1 night.
Did not find Wifi signals in room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ufi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Ufi3

Thank you for your review of The Nordic Villa. We highly appreciate it and will work hard on improving our rooms so they live fully up to you and our other guest’s standards.

We are lucky to have many bookings at The Nordic Villa, however we do experience last minute cancellations once in a while - when that happens the cancellation will not appear in the booking system immediately when the cancellations in made by phone. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Our Internet connection is normally very stabile but during heavy rains we sometimes do experience bad connectivity because we're running on a satellite connection which is affected by some of the rain storms during rainy season. However we are working on speeding up the connection and making it even stronger so we can avoid situations like the one you've experienced.

We do hope you welcome you back to The Nordic Villa soon again.

Best regards,
Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kano
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had an excellent stay here and will be returning.

Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Staff are exceptionally friendly.

Excellent communal facilities that allow guest to work and socialise in the villa.

I will surely return here again whenever I am in town.

The breakfast is good value but the only drawback is there is a lack of items on the menu for and evening meal. This is not a problem is you plan to eat out.

I would thoroughly recommend the Nordic Villa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Kevin C

Thank you very much for a kind review. We are pleased that you took your time to review The Nordic Villa.

We always strive to create the best stay for our guests and give them the best service possible.

We will take the comment on breakfast into consideration. Already, we have from 1 September included the breakfast in the room rate to do a little extra for our guests.

Best regards,
Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times since we discovered it last year. For a boutique style property, this is probably the best in the country. The most appealing factor is the simplicity in design which is a rare find in Nigeria where more is usually deemed better. Staff is attentive and very happy to go the extra mile, prices are incredibly affordable by any standards. I would never sleep anywhere else in Abuja unless rooms are unavailable at the Nordic villa. Its just a beautiful property.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankHosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear FrankHosea

Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try to do our very best to live up to our guests’ expectations and we are always trying hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope to welcome you back in The Nordic Villa again. It makes us proud when we have returning customers.

Best,
Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I arrived from Frankfurt at 5pm on a Saturday - The Nordic Villa is at it tells you a Villa but you need to know the Number of the street to find the villa - Number 52 - It has no Hotel sign or even a Villa Sign and nothing tells you it is the Nordic Villa - Strange - I tried to book it on line - it stated it was full - however having sent an e-mail I got a room confirmed - the most expensive as it turned out however in a City where the Hilton is Euro 280 a night and not the best looking Hilton I have ever been in and the Sheraton ( which is a broken down dirty Dump ) charges Euro 200 plus the Nordic villa is only Euro 137 - the rooms are clean - it is like a show room of ikea - the staff are friendly and the food and drink limited however you will not starve ! - The TV works as long as the power lasts - it goes on and off - but that is Abuja -Would I stay again - yes - be warned though they want cash at the end of the stay - No credit cards - even though the web site tells you other wise! - Buy the way I only saw one other person in the Hotel over my two days - so I don t think the online reservation systems works either - always send an e-mail ! - the rates go up in September so count on Euro 150 per night Band B - If you want a Taxi go out onto the street and grab one - The Hotel car a Golf of about 25 years old was a death trap and the driver had a death wish !- An experience !!

Room Tip: All the room are the same you just pay more for the bigger rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear TOPCAT010

Thank you very much for taking your time to review The Nordic Villa. We take all reviews seriously and go through them with our staff to ensure that we can learn from any observations raised from our guests.

The Nordic Villa is a private boutique hotel - we cherish our guests and their privacy. We would like to keep The Nordic Villa a quiet and private hotel where our guests can relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. I’m sure that's why you didn’t meet too many guests in the hallways. Our guests are always more than welcome to spend time in our lobby and watch TV or browse on our free high-speed Internet while perhaps enjoying a cold drink and a snack.

We are proud to say that we experience high interest in The Nordic Villa and are typically fully booked weeks in advance. So far we have not experienced any errors in our online booking system. We do however sometimes get cancellations and if we do not manually remove these bookings immediately from the online booking system the availability will not show. We are terribly sorry that you’ve had this experience, but we can see in our system that this is what you have experienced when you got the message that we were fully booked.

Regarding your comment on the credit card issue we are only able to take credit cards at the time of booking for guests coming from outside Nigeria. Paypal our secure online payment gateway does unfortunately not allow us to process cards in Nigeria. We will take action and make this more clear on our website.

Regarding your comment on the hotel car being a 25 year old Golf I can comfortably say that this is not our car. We do have a couple of cars that we use for our guests - all are 2011 models with AC and very responsible drivers.

We hope to see you back at The Nordic Villa another time.

Best,
Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nordic Villa offers very good value for money. It is a little out of the centre, but a taxi ride to just about anywhere will only set you back 2-3 Euros. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Most rooms have a bath, but no walk-in shower, which I missed terribly. The WiFi works fine. Power cuts are common all over Nigeria, but the backup generator is reliable. For a decent meal, be sure to visit Wakkis. Ask the desk how to get there. Nordic Villa does not serve evening dinner although they can organise a take-away for you if you ask (they do breakfast, be it simple and over-priced). I went to next door Hotel Chida every now and again; they do a very decent buffet in the evening. Nearby Hotel 3J's have a decent hair dresser. Enjoy your visit. I did!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same Scandinavian standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BastiaanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear BastiaanR

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time to review The Nordic Villa. We are happy that you appreciated the comfort in our rooms and our room rates. We take pride in having a place in Abuja where price and quality match.

We do realize that the power cuts can be frustrating sometimes but we try our best to provide a super fast back-up solution. I’m happy that you found it reliable.

Your input is very valuable and is helping us understand where we are getting it right, and where we can improve. We always strive to provide the highest standards of service and comfort to our guests, and it is only through observations like yours, that we can improve our hospitality and services.

We hope to welcome you back to The Nordic Villa, Abuja soon.

Best,
Fortune
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent hotel kept in the Scandinavian style - clean, nice and simple.
Friendly staff and security's good.
Reasonable prices.
Nice and calm area with easy access to all areas of Abuja and the airport.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNordicVilla, Manager at The Nordic Villa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Hans
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back in The Nordic Villa soon again.
Best,
Fortune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.7 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
0.2 mi away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 80 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#6 of 80 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
#5 of 80 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 80 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Villa

Property: The Nordic Villa
Address: 52, Mike Akhigbe Way | Jabi, Abuja 900003, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nordic Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Villa is a boutique hotel in Abuja. Furnished in a modern Scandinavian style The Nordic Villa offers 15 beautiful rooms in a peaceful and safe environment suited for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nordic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing