We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, just minor faults.”
Review of Hotel De Bently

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Bently
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a week here starting at the end of Jan. and overall, it was really good. The room is spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the furniture and bathroom looked recently updated (including a large screen HDTV), and it was very clean. The staff was eager to please and for the most part did an excellent job.

The faults were pretty minor, but worth mentioning. On our first day, the housekeeping staff somehow missed our room. We didn't need more towels, we just needed the garbage cans emptied and that was attended to quickly after a call to the front desk. We had a couple of other maintenance issues and they were also fixed within a short period of time.
The food was great, the Internet was pretty slow as well, but its worth the money paid for. If you tired of staying in Hilton, Sheraton and rockview because of their ridiculous pricing and not getting the services you pay for, the this hotel is a place to try. Overall everything was great, from the management to the staff, their willingness to attend to issues was really amazing. I will definitely recommend to the hotel to other travelers coming into abuja and looking a reasonable pricing and getting your value for money, then try this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Bently
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I generally felt quite lost in this hotel. It's huge but messy with many corridors. There's a pool and bar for which you have to walk a distance across the parking lot. It lacks style, in fact there isn't any.

The rooms are large, but especially the bathroom needed paint and rehabilitation. Bed, etc. are ok, but there was no internet. Wifi was not operational and the LAN cable did not provide any signal. When I asked for assistance, they send the shoe polisher who didn't know what to do either and finally he took me to the closed business center where I could connect.

Personal was generally friendly, but made it difficult with tickets for breakfast, asking for jobs, offering beautiful Nigerian women, and so on. Somehow, they had already found vacancies page of my institutes website and he wanted to know how to become rice breeder...

This hotel was quite a Nigerian experience (for 160 US$ !!!), but not a good one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is regrettable that you had a bad experience during your stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

It is surprising you had difficulties with internet connection during your stay. Internet facility at De Bently is regarded as the best in Abuja. I will definitely investigate what went wrong during your stay. We take staff discipline very seriously and can not tolerate offers for women at the hotel. This is definitely not what Hotel De Bently stands for or encourages. A full scale investigation has been launched. Be rest assured of my best effort to arrest this ugly situation. All other points are also noted. Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues that you have raised.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Generally experience was good. Staff were pleasant, polite & helpful. Room was clean. Small maintenance needs to be kept on top of. Front desk needs to know content of online deals to avoid embarrassment to guests. Location was great and will be even better once road is finished. Good choice for guests not wanting to pay the costs of the Hilton, Sheraton or Protea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank LynnNAbuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

good hotel i will say good food but your network is bad which the I.T boy ask me to pay which i pay but the network is not good no good IT personl front office the man i see the last time that fix my laptop i did not see him agin look for a good IT person that can do a good job for the hotel i love your hotel thanx

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank national w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

The Hotel has engaged the services of a 1st class IT personnel and all the IT problems you witnessed during your last stay has been fully resolved.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Today December 26-2012 I just checked out of de bently hotel after spending 3 nights with my family in Abuja during Christmas. I can't claim it's the best hotel I've been to, but I can still recommend it for people who are not willing to spend 500 dollars a night or more in Hilton or Sheraton (excluding very expensive food and beverages).

De bently's best feature is spacious rooms furnished to taste with modern furniture. I also liked their small gym and swimming pool. Despite the fact that the pool is small (not up to 8m X 16m) but it's very neat and water is being changed constantly.

Their staff are all polite and helpful (despite the fact that they lack more team work and coordination together). The check in and check out did not take up to 5 minutes, and all our complains were answered promptly. Even the manager visited our room himself the first day we came, to make sure that the A/C we complained about is working properly.

They also have three different bars fully loaded with all kinds of drinks with excellent prices.

De bently food menu is also very good, containing varieties of local and continental dishes. And what made them special is that I've never asked for a continental dish and it won't be available (unlike other Nigerian local hotels).

My remarks to the management are: first they shall enhance on rooms cleaning (each time we used to go out and come back, my wife used to call the cleaners to come and clean again under her supervision). Second, they shall plan seriously to have a better restaurant, I mean comon guys!! you have a big and nice hotel in addition to an excellent chef, so why do you have such a small and poorly furnished and poorly decorated restaurant?

One more word I have to say to the staff and management is: please keep the good work and improve by taking all your guests remarks into consideration because we will surely come again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JibranSaadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Be rest assured that areas you have expressed concern will be given immediate attention

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I arrived late and was put into a room that was pretty grim. It was right at the end of the building and was run down. The shower cubicle had live electrical leads to the telephone coming out of the wall, the A/C was very noisy and I wasnt impressed atr all - especially for the price.
Breakfast was in a characterless room with service levels that were 'slow' at best and just unprofessional at worst.
Sorry people - wont be seeing me again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is regrettable that you had a bad experience during your stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Your points are noted. Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues that you have raised.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

No team work n dey dnt treat deir staffs well. Staff r always frowned n r nt welled paid!good n wonderful place to stay wen u r in abuja. Wish dey wil ave branches!spacious compound n well vintaled rooms,I love how big de compound is n also de neatness of de swimming pool. De gmy needs more equipments oh to enhance de place!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwachinaimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel, from the well ventilated rooms to the spacious compound and our uncompromising high level of hygiene.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Be assured of my best efforts to address other issues you raised particularly in the area of team work. Also be assured of our commitment to meet the demands of our clients by opening more branches across the country.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#13 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#28 of 83 in Abuja
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nippon Grand Hotel
Nippon Grand Hotel
#20 of 83 in Abuja
3 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
2.4 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#32 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bently? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bently

Address: 894 N. Okonjo Iweala Way | Utako, Abuja 11136, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: $46 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Bently 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Bently is a contemporary, fashionable hotel – the absolute choice for the style-conscious guest. Inspired by cutting edge design, the hotel captures the imagination with its vibrant and creative environment. A unique hotel experience, from the designer bedrooms, sumptuous Fine Dining Restaurant, to the industrial-chic destination bar, Hotel de Bentley sets out to be very different whilst at the same time, offering exceptional quality and service throughout every aspect. Hotel De Bently is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the new Abuja City of Utako and just a gemstone's throw away from the central district of Abuja, Hotel De Bently represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Bently reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing