We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm staff and value for your money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Bently

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Bently
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Warm staff and value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed about 10days on business and really felt the staff were warm, friendly and making every effort to assist, i also got access to the manager for a chat which i felt was good. I believe for what i paid in comparison to other places i got value for my money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am glad you were impressed with our hotel and the service delivery from our team.

We are a driven by a strong desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
8
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I flew 5,000 plus miles and when we got to the hotel they lost our reservation. Funny thing is I had the confirmation and showed them the email. We were told no rooms available and asked to leave. The guard at the gate wouldn't even get up to lift the gate for us, we had to crawl under it. I checked on Hotels.com later on when we were settled and I was surprised to find rooms were available. Don't stay at this hotel, it's over priced, out of the way and pointless.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is regrettable that you had a bad experience during your visit to our property. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

As a result of the popularity of Hotel De Bently, it is always advisable that potential guest guarantee their booking by prepaying in advance online. All confirmed bookings are always honored 100%.

Once again, thank you for your views and I look forward to welcoming you at Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja for an opportunity to really experience the Bently Experience.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lagos
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel de bently is located in a peaceful environment although not too far from the central business districts of Abuja.
Wifi is relatively fast, is free and you can access it in your room and anywhere within the hotel.
There is also complimentary buffet breafast which is served warm.
Staff are friendly and helpful especially front desk staff and facilities is the rooms are ok.
I will be back to hotel de bently in my next visit to Abuja.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goziem j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The facility itself is totally fine, but the staff seemed as if they all just began working last week. Their "policies" were inconsistent and my stay was riddled with contradicting information -- can I sign the bill or do I have to pay cash? The answer/policy changed from day to day. Might I have an itemized bill? This wasn't allowed, for some unspecified reason. The list goes on. I won't begin to mention that our "meeting room" was actually the bar... you get the idea! Not sure why this is a top ranked hotel, as they seriously have much learning to do.... Save yourself some frustration and stay somewhere else. I personally won't be back here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global_traveler1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis O, General Manager at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is regrettable that you had a bad experience during your stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues you have raised.

From the 5th of July to 20th July 2012, the hotel has been very busy which has necessitated the employment of adhoc staff. As a result of your experience, we have commenced full training of standby Adhoc staff to always be available for call up whenever the Hotel is as busy as it was during your stay. With this they will be grounded on the hotel policies and trained to understand the exceptional customer service culture of the Hotel.

On the issue of itemized billing, we believe it is your right to have itemized billing. I have raised this issue with the front office staff. Please be rest assured of our best efforts to solving this problem.

The hotel has 3 meeting rooms of different capacity and for different cost implications. Sometimes the bar can be used as a meeting room. This is because of the cost benefits accrue-able to the organizers of the meeting.

I am pleased though that you noticed that Hotel De Bently is a top ranked hotel. This is because of our exceptional customer service and our desire to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all time.

Once again, thank you for your views and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have traveled within West Africa and Nigeria for over 10 years. During that time, I have stayed in some good hotels and some really awful ones. Price does not always go hand in hand with the hotel's condition or amenities. The Hotel DeBently has been a wonderful find for me in Abuja. The rooms are great, and staff are great good internet condition good car park good poor side

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank div s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

I spent 4 nights at De Bently during December 2011. We organised a conference there with nigerian participants. Briefly: It was an excellent event, all participants have been very much satisfied with the conditions! De Bently clearly stands out! It offers excellent value for money, considering quality of the rooms, facilities and staff services.

The room was perfectly clean. All appliances (air-co, TV, safe) in place and working fine. Wireless internet was working fast.

he hotel staff is thoroughly service minded and often "walks that additional mile" to satisfy their guests needs. I just have to praise the service! Room Service, waiters, drivers - without any exception outstanding service orientated! All member of the service team were absolutely friendly, discrete and efficient. This enables us to organize a perfect event without any stress. You feel as a friend in this house.

The hotel's chef is very much talented. All meals that I had at the hotel were well cooked and tasty. Outstanding African Dishes!The breakfast buffet is excellent, with traditional Nigerian food, changing every day.

There is a well-kept swimming pool with waiter services. Adjacent to the pool, a small albeit sufficiently equipped gym is available with generous opening hours and a helpful instructor.

My compliments to the general manager and his staff!

De Bently met and even exceeded my expectations! It definitely merits its 5 stars. We are already planning another conference there in 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The place has so has so much potential, but is completely mismanaged.
I had a RAT in my room which I reported to the front desk. Apparently this amused the man behind the desk, who made absolutely no attempt to address the problem.

Business center is a disaster - there are so many viruses on their PC's that they wiped out my entire memory stick when I asked them to print a document (and found it funny). The staff just seem to lounge around the "business center" with little regard for their actual jobs.
No WIFI in coverage in any of my room(s).

Rooms are a good size and well furnished.
Bathrooms look like they were put together by a 3 year old, and have clearly been thrown together with extremely shoddy construction practices, with REALLY cheap Chinese materials used throughout the hotel.

They obviously discovered low-voltage lights, because I could not see myself in the inthe elevator or bathroom mirror due to the lack of light.

Restaurant is just woefully run. Staff eating food of the buffet when they think you're not looking. Breakfast had been reheated from 1 day ago.

With proper management this place would be great, and it is truly shame.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkinAbuja, Owner at Hotel De Bently, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is regrettable that you had a bad experience during your stay with us. Our desire is to create a pleasant and wonderful experience for our guests at all times.

Please be assured of my best efforts to address all the issues you have raised.

Your comments on internet access and the business centre are noted. Although all our rooms have fast wifi access but the virus issue is of particular concern to us and be assured that it will be resolved immediately.

I am pleased though that you noticed the potential in our Hotel. We are sincerely working real hard to reach these potentials

Once again, thank you for your views and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel De Bently on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Francis Ogugua
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#13 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#27 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.1 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#11 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
#32 of 79 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 79 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#2 of 79 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Bently? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Bently

Property: Hotel De Bently
Address: 894 N. Okonjo Iweala Way | Utako, Abuja 11136, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Bently 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Bently is a contemporary, fashionable hotel – the absolute choice for the style-conscious guest. Inspired by cutting edge design, the hotel captures the imagination with its vibrant and creative environment. A unique hotel experience, from the designer bedrooms, sumptuous Fine Dining Restaurant, to the industrial-chic destination bar, Hotel de Bentley sets out to be very different whilst at the same time, offering exceptional quality and service throughout every aspect. Hotel De Bently is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the new Abuja City of Utako and just a gemstone's throw away from the central district of Abuja, Hotel De Bently represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel De Bently reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing