We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockview Hotel Royale
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey and average”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Located in Wuse II area, not far from the Amigo supermarket. Rockview is a fairly typical Abuja hotel with basic equipped rooms. Internet is complimentary and works OK (by Nigerian standards). The hotel has a restaurant serving thematic buffet dinners and the quality s OK, otherwise the poolbar serves barfood. The hotel has a medium sized pool, a good gym and tennis courts that are complimentary to guests. The level of service is comparable to other mid priced hotels. Prepare for a 20-30 min check out!

Room Tip: Rates can be negotiated/upgrades are possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GadaGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Located in a very good spot in town, Rockview is overpriced for the kind of service and amenities available. The service culture is unbelievably poor. Food isn't any better.

I requested for the room service menu and did not get it. Internet is ok (Wi-fi). If you are using cellular data, Some rooms may not have good coverage and may limit your Internet speed.

Swimming pool, gym and tennis courts are all complimentary.

All in all, no value for money spent. Rooms are priced from $180 upwards.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deyuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lagos
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. 21st-23rd February. While the facilities and service can be deemed as average, you need to note the following before booking this hotel

1. The beds are as hard as a rock: I'm not kidding about this. One of the things you look forward to when staying at a hotel is the comfort of the soft and inviting beds but this is not so here. I had 2 horrible nights and woke up with a headache today.

2. If you need to stay here, bring along an iron. The hotel will not provide you with one even when you request for it. They'll insist on doing the ironing for you. It cost me N900 to iron a dress and it takes a minimum of 2 hours. One of the laundry staff, Mr Linus was kind enough to iron some items under an hour

3. Don't use the pool if you are not a very experienced swimmer: This pool is rather sub-standard. It’s not well lighted so the water appears cloudy. There is nothing to hold along the perimeter of the pool which makes it dangerous!

The hotel management needs to note the above as well as improve on the housekeeping standards as some of the furniture in our room was falling apart and quite dusty.
In all it was not a good hotel experience and I would not recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

It's okay, in a slightly grim way. The restaurant serves a good breakfast and an expensive evening meal. I loved that they have Nigerian night! There is a small-ish pool at the other Rockview and a gym on-site which is surprisingly good. The bar is okay with snack-type food and there is a snack shop selling high carb but quite inexpensive snacks when you're desperate and can't face another 'buffet' in the restaurant.

The rooms are okay. Quite big, with shabby bathroom.

Internet is slow and you have to insist on a room that actually gets the Wifi they promise.

Check-out is complex. Leave plenty of time.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that really gets WiFi. You may have to walk a mile along corridors to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The title of my review is "Average" as you can see, but that masks a lot of variation between the various factors of the hotel. For one, the room was fairly stinky, in a chemical rather than organic way, but smelly nonetheless (i.e. too much mosquito spray).

However, this is a cheap hotel given the size and facilities, and should be considered in this light. For example, it is less than half the price of the Sheraton or Hilton. That price gives a reasonable expression of the quality as well.

The plus sides of the hotel are very friendly and professional staff, a very nice swimming pool, a decent restaurant and a nice bar area. Also a decent gym. On these grounds I think there is enough of an offset to the smelly room with fairly loud air conditioning systems.

Average. Average place. But fairly priced. I paid 14,000 Naira for the room. This review is for the Rockview Classic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeAndAway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I have always stayed here and I recommended the hotel to others. I checked in and 10 minutes later wanted to keep things in the safe and i realized it was locked. I called the reception to get the engineer to open the safe and was told to wait for minutes. I called severally and I got several assurances that someone would come and open the safe. 26 hours later, i was told the safe has a problem. I asked for a change of room and the comment from the receptionist was " I am in tight corner as to what to do"
It is sad to see this level of physical structure on ground but without a commensurate human capital to manage it. Really sad

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed at the Classic just down the road from the Royale. The two other reviews I saw complained about the rooms, but they are almost done with a major revamp, and my room was spotless, much better than the Sheraton. And unlike the Sheraton, there is no nearby nightclub that will keep you awake until the small hours. The gym was quite good, with only one running machine not working. Overall much better value for money than the Sheraton, I paid about $150 per night.

On the down side, the restaurant was terrible. I only had one meal there, which was supposed to be beef, but I am convinced was camel meat from a camel that had died of old age. After that I had all my meals in the restaurant inside a supermarket a few hundred meters from the hotel.

Beware of the way they charge a deposit to your credit card: They don't reserve funds on your credit card, they actually charge the full amount when you check in. I had to check out a week earlier than planned, the front desk staff told me they could not refund the difference at the hotel, they referred it to "head office" who would arrange with Visa for the refund. Needless to say, a week later and the refund has not happened. I hope to get Visa to reverse the charge, if it depends on the hotel, I've been conned in Nigeria once again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.6 mi away
Valencia Hotels Abuja
Valencia Hotels Abuja
#20 of 83 in Abuja
26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
143 reviews
3.9 mi away
BON Hotel Grand Pela
BON Hotel Grand Pela
#10 of 83 in Abuja
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gombe Jewel Hotel
Gombe Jewel Hotel
#26 of 83 in Abuja
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denis Hotel
Denis Hotel
#30 of 83 in Abuja
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Hotel Royale

Property: Rockview Hotel Royale
Address: Plot 196, Adetokunbo Ademola Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockview Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rockview Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing