We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished rooms, but terrible restaurant and beware of deposit practice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockview Hotel Royale
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed at the Classic just down the road from the Royale. The two other reviews I saw complained about the rooms, but they are almost done with a major revamp, and my room was spotless, much better than the Sheraton. And unlike the Sheraton, there is no nearby nightclub that will keep you awake until the small hours. The gym was quite good, with only one running machine not working. Overall much better value for money than the Sheraton, I paid about $150 per night.

On the down side, the restaurant was terrible. I only had one meal there, which was supposed to be beef, but I am convinced was camel meat from a camel that had died of old age. After that I had all my meals in the restaurant inside a supermarket a few hundred meters from the hotel.

Beware of the way they charge a deposit to your credit card: They don't reserve funds on your credit card, they actually charge the full amount when you check in. I had to check out a week earlier than planned, the front desk staff told me they could not refund the difference at the hotel, they referred it to "head office" who would arrange with Visa for the refund. Needless to say, a week later and the refund has not happened. I hope to get Visa to reverse the charge, if it depends on the hotel, I've been conned in Nigeria once again...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Rockview Hotel Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Staying at Rockview Classic, as both Hilton and Sheraton seem to be overbooked. The Classic (just means old) part of Rockview is small, smelly, dark and quite an unpleasant place to stay or eat. Carpets in rooms smell. Small windows let little light in, and half of the lighting fixtures do not work. Aircons are very noisy, and it is practically impossible to sleep with an aircon on.

Had food poisoning after having a buffet dinner at the restaurant; the selection was limited, food was bland but costed about the same as a big buffet at Sheraton (3400 Naira for food + extra for drinks). No hair dryers available in rooms, no ironing facilities. Staff seem to be indifferent to what's going on around them.

Beds are very hard, not just firm, but hard. Bathroom facilities in need of upgrade. Overall - not recommending this at all. Trying to get a room in another hotel asap.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goldfrapp8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The worst staff I have ever met, quiet but dirty rooms without daily lightness. Furniture in rooms is very old and there is a lot of things which should be fixed. Bad service in restaurant and tasteless food. The best about this hotel are huge swimming pool and huge parking. I wouldn't visit it again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris_Lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
0.6 mi away
Valencia Hotels Abuja
Valencia Hotels Abuja
#24 of 83 in Abuja
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#13 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
3.6 mi away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Cubana Hotels
Grand Cubana Hotels
#28 of 83 in Abuja
7 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
221 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#32 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Hotel Royale

Address: Plot 196, Adetokunbo Ademola Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: $41 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockview Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rockview Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing