We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
“It's OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nice location and easily accessible. Its closeness to a mega store (Sahad Stores) is an added advantage. You can get your toiletries and refreshment at anytime. I wonder why liquor is not available at the bar. Management may have to review this in order not to give away a few of your guest that may require such items.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aadeniran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked the location and accessibility of our hotel. We appreciate your observation and suggestion on the non-availability of liquor in our hotel. Our hotel, like all Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham around the world, emphasizes value for the money by providing clean spacious suites with homely feel, free internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet with a wide variety of items for all guests. Bars serving alcohol are not part of our brand concept but our guests are free to bring their own liquor, as many of them do and they actually find it more economical to do so. Others visit many of the bars within close proximity of our hotel.

We look forward to your return and assure you that we will continue to keep our spacious suites neat and refreshed for you.

Sincerely,
Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
3
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

After having stayed in well known intl. hotels in Abuja, Hawthorn Suites is actually pretty ok. Although still not cheap, comparing value for money leaves a positive resume. Liked the excellent breakfast and - facing the court yard - enjoyed the quietness. Staff could be a little more attentive and 'motivated'. But we all have our moods depending on the day, don't we? Cheers, Michael

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - street views are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reflect-and-Consider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Free breakfast for all guests is a key attribute of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham brand. We agree that breakfast really is the most important meal of the day – this fact drives our continued commitment to keep finding ways to provide complimentary breakfast buffet that offers good variety. This and other amenities like spacious suites with kitchenettes and free internet access are some of the ways we add value to our very competitive room rates.

Your observation about the attentiveness and motivation of our staff is noted; we will continue to improve in this very important aspect. We are glad that you appreciate the quietness and privacy our hotel offers and hope you will continue to make us your hotel of choice in Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. Thay give a 50% discount for weekend rates...otherwise it is ridculously expensive for what is on offer. Even with the discount, the smallest room is about $150 a night.

Cons: The building is poorly built. The woodwork, painting and finishing is of low quality especially in the hallways and other communal areas. The safety latch on my suite door was broken so I had to lock the bedroom door when I went to sleep. Staff courtesy is hit or miss...some are very polite and others are flippant and almost rude. I was a solo female guest and I often felt uncomfortable with the lack of courteousness.

Pros: The buffet breakfast offers a good variety. The bed was averagely comfortable (a little lumpy and uneven). The microwave in the room came in very handy and I liked the open plan nature of the living area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hans411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. Knowing that our guests expect and deserve the best value for their money, we adopt a pricing strategy that incorporates careful attention to service delivery as well as the provision of value-added amenities like free unlimited internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet that offers a good variety as you kindly pointed out.

Our sincere apologies for the lapses you experienced. The paint patchwork you noticed was a result of a recent repair to the wall and was in the process of being repainted. We are grateful that you care enough to let us know where we need to improve and we shall take your feedback and act on it.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

A very neat and tidy place with smilingly serving staff out to help you and available at your beck and call.
Very warm and cozy place that makes you feel at home.
Never for a moment i felt to be far away from my home at New Delhi.

Room Tip: Best place for weekends. You get 50% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATULNEWDELHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

This Hotel is awesome and classy. My stay was very remarkable. Nice environment, safe, clean rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Has a vey well kept pool for the famly enjoyment. I visited from the United States and still had the feelings that I was in one of the top hotels in the States. I will recommend this hotel to all and am looking forward to going back. Good food too.

Room Tip: Make sure you make your reservations ahead of visit to secure a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hawthorne Suites in Abuja and was amazed and surprised by the exceptional customer service. I am one of those customers that always has a significant number of requests and each one of my requests was responded to promptly and to my total satisfaction. The general manager goes out of his way to get to know the guests, simply to make sure that they understand that they are important and their opinion counts. A superb hotel that I will stay in again and again becasue of their customer focus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49463Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Hawthorn. Rooms were spacious and clean. The service at the hotel was good and food adequate. There is a pool, gym and bar, which is nice to have as well. The GM knows how to cater to a wide set of clientele. I recommend it as one of the choice places to stay short or long when in Abuja.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
2.0 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#16 of 79 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#14 of 79 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#30 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#45 of 79 in Abuja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#13 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reiz Continental Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Address: 1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent full service extended stay hotel in the heart of Abuja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing