We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly and all round pretty horrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Palace Hotel
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly and all round pretty horrid”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Not sure of the general standards of hotels in Abuja but I found this one pretty horrible. The rooms are old and grotty, the bedlinen smelt terrible and had bodily secretions embedded in it. Food was horrible - they have an all day buffet and it pretty much looks like it has been there all day. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ibadan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Located in Area 11 off Gymbia Street, on Port Harcourt Crescent. A busy nightclub area so lots of places to sit outside for a drink, food, music or a soccer game on tv.

Basic accomodation, but clean, reliable water, electricity and best internet that I have found in Nigeria! Staff are very cheerful, great Nigerian food. Supermarket across the street is a good source of yogurt, bread, chocolate, water, juice, etc.

Some rooms noisy if you are on the side next to nightclubs

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

a fairly good hotel, especially if compared with the 7 or 8 other hotels I checked before choosing the Crystall Palace. A good trade-off between price and overall quality. rooms are clean enough, internet, although slow is available in the rooms, the restaurant provides cheap food at all times and one can get a discount for stays longer than 3 nights. On top, the staff is definitely helpful. It is strange that some people felt the opposite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pit_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I was most put off this hotel by the lazy, slow reacting staff who smile and seem polite but are unhelpful generally. I phoned for help and it took over an hour for someone to come up to the room- which I wanted to change. I was promised a change but it never came, eventually exhausted I tried to sleep. Room was small and smelled of 'air-freshener' - it didnt, just overpowered smell! When I found internet not working I again phoned for help but got no reply. I went down to reception on 3 occasions too. I eventually worked out that the staff were extremely well versed in smiling politely and giving false assurances. I was unable to sleep and my children were bitten by some insect in the bedding. Horrible experience. The food was also not kept as one would expect health and safety dictates.

Sadly I have been told this is one of Abuja's better hotels!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMI_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The Crystal Palace is a home from home in Abuja for VSO volunteers in Nigeria. The staff have always made us extremely welcome and 'really try' to help. In the past few months many of the rooms have been modernised and are looking sleek although don't look too closely at some of the workmanship (a general piece of advice for visitors to this great country).

All rooms have computers and internet access is fairly reliable and cheap/free and power supply is almost constant. Besides which it's on the liveliest street in Abuja - although choose your room carefully to avoid experiencing the vibe of the local beer gardens in your room....

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CJBROWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Of the 5 hotels I tried this was the cheapest by far at £58 for the best room in the house! It may have been the cheapest but it wasn't the worst. It was in my opinion the best value for money. You would need to be fairly independent and willing to go out of the hotel to find good food, nightlife etc. but if you want to see what Abuja is really like this is the place to stay.

The bed was firm but clean.
The bath was in need of some minor repairs (chipped enamel, panel coming off) but otherwise fine.
Internet was available at an extra cost (I didn't bother) but the PC was supplied all be it with a ripped of copy of Windows running on it.
I stayed on a Friday night and the party / disco / nightclub in the next street was going great, Sadly I just wanted to sleep in my bed so the music didn't really help me but I managed to sleep through it in the end and it was silent by 12:30am.
Do make sure that the UPS for the PC is OFF before going to bed otherwise you might get woken at 12:30am when the mains fails and the UPS starts to beep!

The onsite Cafe and pool hall seems to be a local hangout. The food is all clearly priced and reasonable for both cost and quality. This is a great place to do people watching and there's no hassle.

Breakfast is extra, DON'T HAVE IT. all items on the buffet breakfast are individually priced HOWEVER breakfast is a fixed price so the individual pricing means nothing (so I found out). I had Coffee and Omelette. The Coffee was OK but the omelette was stone cold almost like it came out of a fridge, and generally only just edible. I was hungry and knew this was the last chance I would get to eat for 7 hours otherwise I would certainly have not bothered.

All in all stay here to find out what the real Abuja is like and save a fortune over some of the other Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FOAD_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

I am frequent visitor of Crystal Palace Hotel since its opening in 2000. Although the overall appearance and furniture are becoming bit outdated and need some refurbrishing, all these "negatives" are balanced by very helpfull and efficient staff.
From the owner of the hotel, retired General of the Army and once a federal minister (who is most of the time around) down to the last cleaner, all the staff is VERY friendly and always trying their best.
Usual food available are buffet types for reasonable prices. Never order anythig a la carte, since the service takes ages.
Drinks available are basic for good prices, so just the set-up and limited space of the bar are disadvantageous.
I must also give credit to very good (for Nigerian measures) wireless internet connection and very professional manager of Business Centre.
Try the hospitality of old general and genleman.

  • Liked — Staff services.
  • Disliked — Noisy bars in close neighbourhood.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Petermarkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
Grand Ibro Hotel Annex
#32 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#31 of 83 in Abuja
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tranquil Mews
Tranquil Mews
#14 of 83 in Abuja
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcade Suites
Arcade Suites
#19 of 83 in Abuja
1 reviews
7.6 mi away
Shafami Suites
Shafami Suites
#13 of 83 in Abuja
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Hotel
Mediterranean Hotel
#53 of 83 in Abuja
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Hotel

Property: Crystal Palace Hotel
Address: Plot 29 Port Harcourt Crescent, Off Gimbiya Street, Area 11, Abuja 905102, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Crystal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing