We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is not luxurious at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nicon Luxury, Abuja
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The hotel is not luxurious at all.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The cleaning crew are the only ones who seemed happy to have me there. I don't know if there is any establishment who would have guests fill out a visitors form to see the manager to make your complaints. The staff here need a whole lot of work. I had such high expectation, the luxury in the name had me fooled.
Finally, there is a bit of gender discrimination apparent in the restaurant. I was a young female diner, and I didn't get as much courteous service as other male diners, the only ladies I saw getting better service were in the company of male diners.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunmiFibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    18
    12
    18
See reviews for
3
2
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel has had some terrible reviews, so let me add one more perspective! Cons: rooms and public areas are shabby, particularly the bathrooms; standard of cleaning is appalling - my room had thick sticky marks on the tables, litter on the floor, and hair and filth coating the bathroom (and I actually am pretty tolerant of this kind of thing); wifi close to useless; regular power cuts; very expensive food and beverages, but not of very good quality. So far, so Nigeria! But there are some pros too: excellent AC, a very comfortable large bed (even though the sheets were dirty, with lipstick marks and black smudges - probably not washed since last guest); and most particularly a friendly and well equipped gym, which was great for exercise (with music) and to meet a few friendly souls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regular-conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms were not as bad as I was made to believe, except for the bathroom paint that was peeling off. The carpets outside the rooms were so dirty - with stains all over and not smelling too good. Breakfast was ok though service at times was not the best.

Room Tip: Use it as a last resort..............rooms on the side of the convention centre on the 6th floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmabaledi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I want to be kind. The a/c worked well and so did the hot water and the television. The rooms are big. That's about the size of it on the positive side. The carpets and chairs are filthy; I woke up one morning to a flooded bathroom; the bathroom fixtures are broken, chipped, worn and need a good, long clean. For the period of my stay the internet never worked and the operators at the business centre - which was the only other option- were rude beyond belief. I got stuck in the elevator (thankfully it was only for about 1 minutes, while some colleagues were stuck for an hour). The menu over seven days was changeless and the staff was, for the most part, unfriendly and unpleasant. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosamondElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Dont be fooled by the use of the term "luxury" in the title. It means nothing. One colleague was flooded out of her bedroom from the floor above by scalding hot water. Power cuts frequent. Internet a joke. Air conditioning in some but not all rooms (it was +36C outside). Food across a whole week of staying (both breakfast and evening) was exactly the same each day.

My bedroom was ok, though not too sure about the sheets, pillow cases or cleaning.

Only thing that made this tolerable were some (but not all) of the staff who were friendly and helpful. But it is unlikely they will do what they said they would do or that there is any evidence of management.

Had to be here for a conference / work - but not a place I would willingly come back to.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else..but if you have to stay fourth floor seems the place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Murgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Words fail me how poor this sad excuse for a hotel actually is. I had the misfortune of staying here for 3 nights from September 30th 2013. I actually tried on my second night, to check out, but unfortunately could not find a short notice available room else where.

The rooms appear to have been left in time somewhere around 1977. Dirty, tired with stains all over the carpets. Wardrobe doors falling off or literally on the floor. Limited TV channels with so much fuzz on the screen you can barely make out what channel it is. There were countless stains which appeared to resemble blood stains all over my sheets.

The bathroom was appalling. Yellow water coming for the taps and one dingy light in the bathroom. While showering it was almost like showering in the dark. Although fear not, as a shower never lasted more than 15 seconds as from day one there was no hot water either first thing in the morning or last thing at night. The bathroom was dirty and grubby.

The list of issues with this place is incredible and how they have the cheek to take guests money and advertise as a hotel is beyond mind boggling.

There was no wifi, the food was horrendous and when I complained both to the dining room manager and hotel manager both laughed! The staff were very rude and not at all helpful.

I stay in hotels across Africa 162 nights a year and I can honestly say I have never experienced anything worse than this. I have never written a review on trip advisor before as quiet frankly I never needed to but I felt so appalled by this place I felt it only necessary to advise potential guests booking to avoid this place at all costs.

Absolutely awful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriancafferkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Since only staying one night, and leaving early next morning, decided to pay bill at check in, MasterCard credit card declined twice, they then say don't accept foreign MasterCards despite a notice indicating they accept MasterCard - So why swipe it twice then ?
Colleague had similar experience, card declined - but checks with bank and money taken but hotel still say not paid.- cue many phone calls to UK to get sorted.

In the evening - ordered Room Service, came 40 mins later - signed the offered bill, 1/2 hour later very abusive phone call - "your supposed to pay cash ......blah, blah " no mention of it the menu nor did delivery guy ask for cash

No wireless access in room - colleague complained at reception/manager , was almost laughed at and told yes its broken on a number of floors

Next morning, up at 5, No hot water for shower - ran tap for 10 mins still no hot water !

Down to reception to check out - Said I refused to pay the room service bill ( c £20) on the basis of the abusive phone call, no wireless and no hot water
After a heated argument with a chap who claimed to be the manager but claimed to be unable to waive any charges or to be able to get any one who could

In the end, since we had a car waiting to leave for the flight and there was an increasing presence of 'security' it was clear I wasn't going to be allowed to leave without paying so I paid the room service bill marking it "paid under duress"

I will be writing the so called management a strong letter of complaint which I fully expect to be ignored

I also fully endorse the other comments here about the general run down state of the hotel, quality of the food and the shocking level of customer service

Will be keeping a close eye on my Credit Card bill for the next few months !!

Room Tip: Try another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_bartley_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abuja hotels
2.0 mi away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
0.7 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#45 of 83 in Abuja
64 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#17 of 83 in Abuja
8 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#11 of 83 in Abuja
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon Luxury, Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon Luxury, Abuja

Property: Nicon Luxury, Abuja
Address: Plot 903 Tafawa Balewa Way | Area 11, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicon Luxury, Abuja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Nicon Luxury, Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicon Luxury, Abuja Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing