We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terminal”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
United States
Level Contributor
225 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
“Terminal”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A pit. Really poor. Maybe because this stay was in a bungalow, but by the way the rest of the facility looked, and the behavior attitude of the staff, would not give this Terminus the benefit of the doubt. For it to be highest ranked, either management is submitting reviews or every other place in town is either so bad or too expensive. Room was decrepit, cheaply furnished, lowest quality bed, and near derelict bath. Restaurant food simple, ok, took a long time in coming; while waiting at outdoor dining area you yourself are a meal for the mosquitos. Very uncomfortable situation. The compound is sprawling, parts of it seem abandoned, unkempt. There's a bar lounge, room for meetings, and indoor dining which did not appear to be open. Security at gate, cabs inside are fair value, extensive souvenir items being sold of dubious provenance some of them by very in your face shopkeepers. Efficient free shuttle service, possibly accounts for good part of their business: they never responded to e-mail reservation request, yet the shuttle was there waiting at arrivals, driver and card with our name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at Terminus for one week, and I was very satisfied with it, given that it is Niamey where everything, with the exception of the Brochette at the Grand Hotel and the Piscine Olympique, is rubbish.
The room was a bit run down, and think plug in the sink would not open (but luckily it leaked) and I couldn't get it fixed. However, the WiFi was surprisingly good and only went down during frequent power cuts. The air-con was noisy and very powerful, but don't turn it off because the mozzies will get you if you do: I ended up sleeping fully clothed to battle the freezing gale coming from the air-con. The bar was good: Ice cold Niger beer and ham and cheese sandwiches did the trick two or three times. Breakfast was disappointing and far too expensive, especially since one can get a omelette just outside the front gate for 5% of the cost and contribute to the local economy insodoing.
The room boy was very efficient in organising laundry, but he insisted that I pay him and he ripped me off. After a couple of days the room boy gave up servicing the room at all, so there was no cleaning done for about 4 days. However, on my last day he stuck to me like glue informing me that I was his 'patron'. Needless to say, this patron didn't give tips.
A word of warning. Do not be tempted to enter in to one of the souvenir shops in the hotel car park. I did, asked for a price for something, and tried to leave when I didn't remotely like the sound of it. The shop owner grabbed hold of me to prevent me from leaving, and this was the only time in my life that I have felt physically threatened like this.
I think that when I return to Niamey I'll stay in the Grand Hotel for easy access to their truely glorious brochettes, so long as I can fend off the prostitutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RexyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

For the Niamey hostel average Terminus is a good proposition. However there is so much to do in this hotel: wall painting is going down, TV channels are not fixed, beds are very old, everything looks out of age in this hotel, phone/TV cables everywhere, AC noisy and dirty, even the reception should have a good cleaning to fell confortable when you arrive. The swimming pool is big, but do not look very clean.

Goods points are for the restaurant and the bar where you have a good propositions. Employees are nice.

Although i am not really happy of this hotel, i continue to book here as it is for me the most quiet hotel of Niamey.

But please, if the owner look for here, could you fix the most visible works like painting, plumbing works, TV tuning, clean or change your defective AC and change all your bedding and towels !!

Room Tip: Ask for the room over 140. Do not take the "bungalow" as they are the worst in term of con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I spent 5 weeks in 2010 and 3 weeks in March 2012 at Hotel Terminus in Niamey. In general I would say, Hotels are not cheap here at all, but Terminus is reasonable if you consider the large and clean swimming pool as well as the size of the rooms (i.e. called bungalows). The site is quite spacious and also popular with several huge but harmless peacocks.
The rooms are kept clean and the beds have good matrasses, but it is also visible that the whole setup has come into age. Access to the internet is slow and shaky, but this is not the hotel's fault but rather comon in Niger. The garden restaurant operates only in the evening and is really good as well as the sunday buffet lunch in the main building.
The staff is always very friendly and helpful to get around town. If you don't fear the dark you can walk in the evening to a near bye terrasse-cafe behind the "piscine olympique" for a sundowner ore a snack on the bank of Niger River.

Room Tip: if you chose a "bungalow" room, make sure you are not near the generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotzenblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed in this place for four weeks. The rooms are OK but a bit run-down; however they are clean. The rooms are not the strongest point of this hotel, though: There is a good swimming pool, a nice garden with a restaurant offering good food, nice atmosphere and very good service. Wireless internet was working most of the time (does not work in all of the rooms, though). There is a gym on the hotel compound (very small one). So, if you don’t bother that the rooms are simple, this is a good place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dspalthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

For a number of days I stayed in this hotel and I enjoyed it. The staff is friendly, the food in the open air restaurant is ok (but it can be very hot there) and there is Wifi plus good security. In view of the fact that Niger is one of the poorest countries in the world the hotel is pleasant with a large swimming pool but it is very old (over 40 years?) and the age is noticeable.
However the rooms are clean and have an airco.
Sometimes no water pressure (then forget taking a shower), power breakdowns, etc.
The hotel does not offer musquito nets, so bring one.
The staff is speaking French (only) and TV has only CNN English channel (now and then).
I can really recommend the restaurant Amandine in town for lunch and diner (also take away) close to the market; take a taxi or go to the restaurant of the Grand hotel with a large terras at the river side.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My room, at 40.000 FCFA /night (or 60 €) can only be described as run-down, and although it might have been a comfortable room if it would have been decently equiped, the problem was that everything was run down - from the noisy AC, the mattress, the bed, the chairs, the bathroom.
Luckily it was kept relatively clean.
For those of you longer then 1.70 m, ask for a room where there is a bed where you can have your feet dangling over the end of the bed. My room (139) had a horrible bed.
Luckily, decent WiFi even in the rooms.
The restaurant is fairly OK in the evening as long as you arrive past 8 PM (anyway there is nobody to serve you before).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niamey hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Tapoa
Hotel de la Tapoa
#1 of 8 in Niamey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
24.9 mi away
Tenere Hotel
Tenere Hotel
#6 of 8 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niger Soluxe Hotel
Niger Soluxe Hotel
#4 of 14 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Homeland Hotel
Homeland Hotel
#8 of 14 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gaweye
Hotel Gaweye
#7 of 8 in Niamey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Les Collines
#7 of 14 in Niamey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: BP. 882, Niamey, Niger
Location: Niger > Niamey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing