We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niamey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel du Niger
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel several times over the past few years. I have always had a pleasant stay- it is safe, the staff is fantastic, the food is good, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, the location is great, and last time, my internet was strong enough to Skype WITH video! (a 1st for me in Niger). I've only stayed in the bungalows, and I prefer them. It's not luxury by western standards, but you can't neglect the context. Yes, it's expensive, but the vast majority of people staying there are on per diem so...

Do go and visit some of the other places in Niamey, for example the Almandine, Chez Binta and the airconditioned cafe next door to it, which have wonderful food and are much cheaper. Piscine Olympique is also fantastic for cheap beer and brochettes with great views. The borchettes in Niamey are the highlight of my trips.

If you are looking for something newer, Tabakady is great with an amazing pool, and the restaurant is top notch- but it is also very expensive, and I'm not a big fan of it's location. Terminus, down the street from the Grand, is also good- it is cheaper and I very much liked the pool.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anxd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed two nights and had a bungalow room. It wasn't luxurious, but it was clean and big enough, the bed was fine, the wifi worked, the hot water and air conditioning and fridge and TV worked, the in room safe was big enough for a laptop. Staff was polite and helpful. Hotel is in a good location, you can walk 10-15 minutes to nearby bars and restaurants (or to the disappointing national museum and zoo) if you are feeling adventurous. Two ATM machines in the lobby, one machine worked with my foreign card. The free shuttle to and from the airport was a nice bonus.

Note that in the bungalows, there is a green button on the bathroom wall that turns on the water heater. There is also a green button on the wall in the room that powers the air conditioner. If there is a momentary power outage and your A/C goes off, hit the green button.

I had some difficulty booking online, just call the hotel to reserve a room, they have enough staff that speaks English.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank STLvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 for 10 days on a work trip. The hotel is worn out in terms of decor. I would recommend the bungalows or the new extension building although they are more expensive than the main building and you need to be comfortable being away from the main building and little on the side..The bungalow has a tile floor, no stained old carpet, a big bathroom and the room itself is rather big, with a bed, desk and chair, fridge and a tv. It was clean, and water pressure is good and warm water worked well. AC is powerful, unless there is a power cut. Breakfast is poor for the price you pay; you get juice, coffee, some fruit salad, baguette and cheese, and if you pay extra they make you an omelet. Dinner on the terrace is ok, the brochettes and capitaine filet are good choices. Security wise..they have guards at the gate, and some in the premises. The internet worked pretty well from the bungalow and also in the bar. They have an ATM and they accept amex only, which is kind of strange. Service is not so great but things got done, like fixing the shower when i only got hot water. Their lunch buffet was good. Would stay again, after experimenting with Gaweye and Sagel as well..

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Icefloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Though the cost of staying at this hotel was almost half my entire trip cost, it was a perfect sanctuary after long days spent working at the nearby National Hospital. The staff were all unfailingly polite and helpful the pool with the view of the Niger River was a particular bonus. If I had the money again I wouldn't hesitate to stay there. The only drawback was the elevator was often out of service and a bit scary even when it was operational. An inconvenience hardly worth mentioning but FYI.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine_Redinbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Once you lower your expectations, and realize that this is as good as it is gonna get for you in Niamey, this property isnt bad. Security is good, food doesn't require Pepto. They keep the hookers out of the lobby. Ask for a 'bungalow' and you get a nice quiet room away from the tower with good A/C, CNN and a frig. Bring your own shampoo, soap, kleenex. and don'te expect free bottled water.

Room Tip: bungalow! worth the extra francs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherm121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Small picture here is good enough. Coming to Niamey? Save yourself a lot of aggravation and just reserve to stay at this Grand Hotel du Niger. Built as first-class facility (probably shortly after independence), sited securely well off the road and overlooking the river in this overgrown village of a capital city. Shortcomings which could be criticized or nitpicked, but knowing the other options as we do, staying at the Grand is a no brainer, well worth the extra 25 or so euros. This stay was in main building where the rooms are big and set back from the hallway. Room 108 everything was in working order, bathroom patched up ok, room frayed showing its age but freshened. Bed and linens ok, although pillows in need of replacement. Nice pool. There are also bungalows, and superior bungalows, newer, and a small hike from main building but might be suitable for longterm stay in Niamey. Restaurant food was quite good (other than the tinned haricots-vert) and fairly priced. (Was looking forward to the afternoon dejeuner buffet, but missed out.) Convenience store outside front gate, and coffee restaurant, and maquis for evenings. On site souvenirs on sale here pretty lame, much better at Terminus hotel around the corner. Airport pick-up and transfer included in hotel's van. Note the internet is free here in room and was excellent as was the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The rooms are large. Whilst it is clean the decor is very tired. The shower head was virtually broken and I had to hold it in my hand t o have a shower. I had to have the air conditioning on all night to sleep.

The breakfast was very very basic, orange juice poor quality.

I had one dinner on the terrace. I found getting served difficult. They then took everything off my table after the main course and presented me with a bill when I wanted a pudding. They are lots of waiters/servers who seem to spend most of their time standing round the bar/bbq talking. I thought the service was poor for the money charged.

Worst thing with the hotel was that they did not take credit cards only American Express which I did not have,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niamey hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#2 of 8 in Niamey
66 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de la Tapoa
Hotel de la Tapoa
#1 of 8 in Niamey
15 reviews
0 mi away
Tenere Hotel
Tenere Hotel
#5 of 8 in Niamey
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Niger Soluxe Hotel
Niger Soluxe Hotel
#4 of 14 in Niamey
61 reviews
0 mi away
Homeland Hotel
Homeland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Niamey
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Niger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Niger

Address: Niamey, Niger
Location: Niger > Niamey
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Niger 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Niamey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing