We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT BAD ON THE TERRACE”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niamey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel du Niger
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Reviewed September 7, 2012

GRAND HOTEL, NIAMEY, FOUR STARS

This is a modest hotel with much to be modet about. There are 12 channels on the TV, but all in French or Arabic. The best of the lot is France 24. No one uses the unheated pool. The breakfast room serves undistinguished breakfasts, but doubles at undistinguished buffet lunches.

The rooms are clean, and the A-C works. There is room service. Many guests prefer to do their Emails in the reception, near the hotspot. The bar is open all hours for the serious drinkers.

What sets the Grand off from the Terminus and the Gaweye is the lovely terrace restaurnt, overlooking the river. I liked the crepes au jambon, served from 7.45 PM. Some like the pizzas. De gustibus non disputandum est.The service is unhurried, to put it nicely, but why hurry in an ambience like this?

If you get bored by the menu, which is not too long, try the Pilier or the Bellissimo in town for good continental cuisine.

Do your check-out well in advance. The accounts are not computerized, so you wait while the guy writes out your totals in longhand.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river. Alternately, to save money, ask for a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Niamey. The outdoor dining area overlooking the Niger river is gorgeous. Be sure to order brochettes and une bière niger! The pool is really nice too.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank agadez822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Niamey is a challenging environment in which to run a hotel catering to international visitors. The challenges include heat, duststorms, power outages, crime, poor Internet connectivity, and water shortages. Nevertheless, the hotel copes relatively well. The housekeeping, restaurant, bar and reception staff are friendly and competent. The rooms are clean and well lit. The hotel is close to government ministries and embassies and the airport. It has a beautiful setting overlooking the Niger River and the Kennedy Bridge. There are a few modest convenience stores and restaurants just outside the hotel compound. There is an attractive pool, but the water is usually too hot and dusty to enjoy fully. A terrace bar and restaurant are pleasant in the evening, but the restaurant does not open until 8:00 PM. The continental breakfast could be improved with the addition of local fruits and a more varied selection. The hotel should also make room for a gym. There is not much to do if one is stuck, as I was, in the hotel for a month. The hotel is often fully booked, so one should use local connections and savoir faire to get a room.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so persons who don't like to climb too many stairs should request a second-flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

There are some very good features of this hotel, notably the well-known terrace bar and restaurant with fine views of the Niger river and where good food is served (slowly). But as others have noted, the Grand Hotel du Niger is a bit the worse for wear and has some disappointments, such as a very dull breakfast served in a very dull dining room, dusty staircases and an ugly reception area. My room was okay, though the air con was noisy and a coat of paint would have been welcome. The surly and unfriendly staff do not help to create a good impression, many mumbling incomprehensible phrases and seeming to consider the guests as an obstruction. A spruce up and some smiles would go a long way. My rating ("average") reflects low expections - Niger is after all one of Africa's poorest countries and currently travel to the country is not advised due to the unrest in the Sahel (notably in nieghbouring Mali and in northern Nigeria). In a region of extreme poverty and low intensity conflict, a struggling hotel seems almost appropriate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

the hotel is too old, rooms are in a very bad conditions, it's like a one star hotel. I've heard that it's the best hotel in Niamey...
to be fair they had good food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Said_Abi_Nader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I don't know who certified this hotel (self-certified?) as a 4 star hotel but it is not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel anywhere in the world. That being said, it is overall a good hotel - a little tired looking - and about 2 stars on the international scale.

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 1.5 weeks in March and found it better than other hotels in Niger (I'd stayed at Royal Palace Hotel in Niamey and in another "auberge" in Dosso). The Grand Hotel Bungalow rooms are nice - I had one which was very comfortable and overlooking the river. I saw a room in the main building, however, which was very worn and would not merit 2 stars.

There is running water - hot and cold - as well as electricity. I found the staff friendly but somewhat lacking in customer service. It was not a question of language (as I am a French speaker) but I found that as a women travelling alone I was somewhat of a riddle to them. I had one particularly bad experience with the cashier at the outdoor restaurant - a rude man called Chaibou - who took my order and after two hours told me that they did not have mutton brochettes and that I need to order from the menu. Needless to say, I was furious (and hungry) - at which point he proceeded to tell me that he told me to order from the menu and that he did not tell lies because he was a religious man. The conclusion to be drawn, therefore, was that it was I, the foreigner and atheist, who was not telling the truth. This man deserves to be reprimanded for his poor behaviour!

With regards to the food - the breakfast is a complete ripoff - for US$10 you get some tired-looking croissants, bread and strange-coloured juices. There is also boring old Lipton tea and fruit salad which just looks like watermelon pieces. I would suggest ordering a la carte, where the omelettes are decent and better value for money. And - the best part of the hotel - there is real coffee at the bar.

The restaurant is good and the food tasty but as many have said before, it is overpriced.

I enjoyed the pool but went swimming in the early morning because once the sun was out, I felt uncomfortable being stared at by passing staff.

If I go to Niamey again, I would certainly stay at the Grand Hotel again - I would just avoid Chaibou Caissier when placing my order for my meals!

Also, remember to bring mosquito repellent (the lobby is *infested* with mosquitoes!), decent shampoo and creams. The hotel provides (sometimes) some products but it was not consistent.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows - they are more expensive but look and feel more modern than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are looking for a five star hotel in this city, you'll never find one! This hotel may have been four stars when new, but I would give it maybe 2 1/2 now. The internet service in the hotel rooms is very, very weak in the rooms. The pool is nice, but very few swimmers. You have to ask for the key to the fitness room, a tiny, hidden location that is dusty and dark. Then you have to get directions to find it! The breakfast is adequate, but always the same, and it looks like they recycle the food from yesterday's breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow, up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70TucsonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niamey hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#2 of 8 in Niamey
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Tapoa
Hotel de la Tapoa
#1 of 8 in Niamey
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tenere Hotel
Tenere Hotel
#5 of 8 in Niamey
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Niger Soluxe Hotel
Niger Soluxe Hotel
#7 of 14 in Niamey
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeland Hotel
Homeland Hotel
#8 of 14 in Niamey
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Les Collines
#6 of 14 in Niamey
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Niger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Niger

Address: Niamey, Niger
Location: Niger > Niamey
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Niamey
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Niger 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Niamey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing