We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with Amazing people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Blanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Blanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel with Amazing people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We loved this hotel as the rooms were nice with great beds and hot showers. The grounds were clean and well kept. The service was very friendly and hospitable. I felt like I was among family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasillarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I have stayed at this guest house since its inception. I have found the attention to detail exceptional creating a very comfortable stay. The owners, together with their staff, make sure of your comfort at all times.
I travel (on business), as a rule, with my wife who is quite happy to remain at the guest house during the day sitting outside soaking up the sun and in summer, using the pool.
As we have stayed here so many times, the relationship with the owners, Elke & Peter, has become peronal.
The breakfasts are substantial & they serve a preset delicious dinner at night. I have found this establishment ideal as a businessman whether with my wife or alone & recomend it to anyone coming to Windhoek either on business or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelmanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

This is a beautiful small hotel or large guest house with totally gorgeous gardens, interesting decor, yummy breakfast and a range of comfortable and stylish rooms. More importantly though, the hosts went out of their way to find room for us even when the hotel was already full, chatted, gave advice (and remained cheerful and helpful even when our youngest threw up on the garden path ;-)

Totally recommended; one of our nicest stays in Namibia.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatefromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

I was surprised to be the first to review this very pleasant small hotel / guesthouse.

We arrived at this hotel late in the night and departed quite early, so there may be a limit on our knowledge of the place. It should also be borne in mind that Windhoek seems a city of either small hotels / guesthouses or fairly large (and apparently not highly regarded) commercial operations. So the lover of the small to mid-sized boutique hotel may find slim pickings (the Olive Grove, but perhaps not the Heinitzburg if its restaurant and tripadvisor reviews are anything to go by, looks worthwhile in this regard).

Further, with Windhoek's guesthouse-type operations, it is best to be a little more tolerant than one would be with a true hotel. These are often family-run establishments, without quite the level of professionalism that one would normally expect. On the other hand, they can have a great deal of character and be very warm and welcoming.

So it was with CBH. It is decorated very tastefully, with lovely pool and courtyard areas. The owners gave us a warm welcome, despite our late arrivel (after 9.00 pm). They even opened up the laundry for me to do our ironing (my preferred outlet for my masculinity), ahead of our early departure. A new iron / board would not go astray, but I'm told I'm more fussy than most about having ironing facilities in my accommodation.

The owners even kindly let us have a local friend drop in for breakfast, without charge, notwithstanding that we had not had the time to notify them in advance. The breakfast and service were quite good.

We were lucky enough to get the upstairs room with a balcony area, which had significant privacy and nice views of Windhoek. The room and the shower were nicely decorated and spacious. There was a good, though not blue chip, range of toiletries and a well stocked mini-bar (newcomers to southern Africa should try a vodka and red grapetizer....mmmmm).

The suburb in which CBH is located seems very leafy and upmarket. There is some sort of bar / steakhouse in the immediate area which looks okay. Otherwise, as we were leaving the city, we noticed some very nice areas with a few fashionable looking bars and restaurants not too far from Pioneers Park. This is worth researching further, not least because on a previous visit to Windhoek we had found the city centre and its venues decidedly underwhelming.

CBH is then a very good choice. It should be approached as more of a guesthouse than a boutique hotel. As such, it is well worth a stay.

  • Liked — Buildings, warm welcome
  • Disliked — More of a guesthouse than a boutique hotel
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OJ_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.5 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Hotel

Property: Casa Blanca Hotel
Address: 52 Fritsche Street | P O Box 30547, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Blanca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing