We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”
Review of Hotel Thule

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Thule
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff of the hotel was extremely helpfull and the service is excellent. We could keep our room until we had to leave for the airport around 2pm and someone from the hotel "escorted" us in his own vehicle to show us a specific shopping mall where we had to buy something. Furthermore, the rooms are spacious (we had a family room) and everything is clean.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Cougar004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a lovely small hotel set in the hills of Windhoek with wonderful service

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

At the beginning of our time in Namibia, we stayed here based on reviews we read here. This hotel lived up to the reviews...very welcoming. Complementary computers and internet to use in the lobby, great views from the hotel and restaurant. We had very good food here. At the end of our time in country we stayed here again because we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scartwr408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a great hotel on the tallest hill in Windhoek. Great staff, bar, rooms all have a nice view, wella ppointed, and a comp bottle of SA red. Its a great hotel

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
Thank mosioatunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed one night with some friends, Great People and a Great Hotel. Hotel has a Great view and does get busy. We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia221122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Set on a hilltop in the Eros residential area of Windhoek (apparently the city’s equivalent of Beverly Hills), the hotel has good views from its restaurant, bar terrace and secure car park. The staff were very friendly, in particular those in the restaurant. The room was spacious (c.6m x 4m), as was the bathroom and the shower cabin which was large enough for even the stoutest person. The room decor itself was reminiscent of early 1990s eastern Germany but everything was clean and the sheets and towels were dazzling white. The food in the restaurant was delicious and extremely reasonably priced, as were drinks. An aperitif was offered courtesy of the house. There was a decent spread at breakfast with some very tasty chocolate croissants. The mini bar in the room was free but therefore understandably only lightly stocked. Note: the wing in which the rooms are situated has two storeys but no elevator access to the first floor so if you cannot do stairs or have heavy luggage, as I did, you might want to ask for a ground floor room (the female receptionist who showed me to my room asked if she could help me with my bag but there did not appear to be any baggage boys). Wi-Fi access was free and there were also a couple of computers in the reception area one could use.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Normally I like to stay at a hotel where I can walk places. Well, that is not really an option in Windhoek so through a friend I was recommended Hotel Thule. Great choice considering all other hotels are closed between Christmas and the NYE holiday. Crazy. Even the Thule closed the restaurant for lunch and dinner (but they offered free taxi service to your restaurant of choice).

The rooms are very basic. We actually stayed here twice on both sides of our safari. Our first stay we were on the ground level right next to reception and our front window looked out on the car park. It was a huge room (family room I believe) and it was fine. Our second room was tons better as it was upstairs and was more private. I don't think any of the rooms have a view to speak of, but the restaurant/happy hour patio is perfect for watching the sun set. Our rate inculded breakfast and it was basic but good with eggs to order, etc.

We did visit Hotel Heinitzburg for dinner, and they also have a beautiful sunset...and the dining room is very upscale. Didn't see a room, but our taxi driver said the rooms are upscale, but for the difference in price I'm glad I stayed at Thule. If you want high end...pick Heinitzburg, but if you want an easy place to stay Thule is the right choice. The staff was really nice and would assist with any request.

A tip for restaurants in Windhoek is Joe's Beerhouse. Doesn't sound appealing, but it is such a blast. The food is served in huge portions - tons of meat on the plate. The bar is a fun scene where we met the nicest people from Windhoek. Joe's is just a 5 minute ride from Thule, so that's a plus.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,431 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
381 reviews
4.9 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thule

Address: 1 Gorges Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Thule 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thule was originally a one-time luxury home built by the late Edmund Lafrenz in 1960 as a sumptuous home for himself and his late wife, Liselotte. It was purchased by Windhoek businessman and entrepreneur, Wolfgang Egerer just before the turn of the century, who then reconstructed it into the beautiful up-market 25 bedroom hotel it is today. The outstanding panoramic views over Windhoek are a unique and unparalleled feature of this pearl of Namibia. Hotel Thule offers first class accommodation, quality service, tranquillity and style to ensure customer satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing