We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in Windhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Terra Africa
Ranked #20 of 102 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I have just stayed at Terra Africa in Windhoek - two nights on arrival in Namibia and one night prior to departure. I would rate this guesthouse very highly. Very clean, excellent quality of room fittings, bed linen etc. Everything one needs provided, including free access to a computer for email access etc. Also a lovely outdoor area and swimming pool. Excellent breakfasts - and the one dinner I had was also very good. To top it off a wonderful host - Rolf - and good staff. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HayseedNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Owner at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

We value and treasure the wonderful experience of meeting guests from all over the world - a true blessing!
Thank you for your feedback and confirming you also enjoyed your time with us! Our philosophy is that Namibian hospitality is personal, fussy and memorable, even with high standards that one should always aspire to!
Your comments warm our hearts and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the personal thank you in there for me too. This makes sharing Namibian and Terra Africa hospitality with the world even more worth it!
We look forward to many years of successful hosting on Terra Africa standards, but moreover, we hope that some day we can welcome back yourself to visit in Namibia again!
Thank you and many kind regards,
Rolf Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

Terra Africa is a remarkable place. We have stayed in many places in Windhoek, including, at one end of the price scale, the Windhoek Country Club and at the other end, Backpackers Unite. Hands down, Terra Africa is the best. Not at all expensive, but with all of the amenities, comfort, and beauty one can expect. Rolf is the nicest host you will ever meet - extremely helpful, as well as friendly.

The rooms are great -- we have always stayed in Room 5, which is large and very comfortable. The beds are incredible, with tons of pillows. The reception area is lovely, with very interesting African artwork. Terra Africa gets all the big, important things right, but also the little things that make all the difference between a good stay and a great stay (and which you don't find everywhere, even at very expensive places): excellent reading lights for the beds; a wireless Internet connection; cooked-to-order delicious breakfasts included in the room price (and they will also make lunch and dinner for you, upon request); air freshener in the bathrooms; a sink, stove, and refrigerator; washcloths and tissues; a really beautiful pool-and-terrace area; and tons of books and magazines to borrow.

The closest commercial area is Maurea Mall, which is walkable, but also is just a 5-minute cab ride. It a very upscale mall, with every kind of shop and business you can imagine, a movie theatre, and two very good restaurants. You do need a cab to get to central downtown Windhoek, but it's very easy; anyone sitting at the desk will be happy to call a cab for you.

We have been in Namibia for all of 2009 so far, and have found the Terra Africa to be top-flight and a terrific value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaLovesAllTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Co-Owner & Manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2009

Thank you for your feedback. It's heart-warming to hear that travellers from across the globe come home to Terra Africa and really feel at home with us.
We look forward to having you back with us and I promise to have room 5 ready for you on your next return ;-)
Warmest Spring Regards,
Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

a wonderfully warm welcome and very enticing lounge and outside areas , pool small but welcome after a day wandering the streets of windhoek - our room was very small and the bathroom was tiny and quite dated - our bedroom windows overlooked the carpark which meant the car lights came straight into our room and as we bordered the recpetion area we could hear every bit of noise - as we were only there for 2 nights this didint really matter but i woudlnt have been so happy if we were staying longer

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Co-owner & Manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2009

Dear Moorhen,

Thank you for your feedback. We always value both pro- and con's as this can only be beneficial for the future.

Regretably the same factors that has made Guesthouse Terra Africa a smashing success may sometimes be to our detriment, in that as our house was originally designed as a family house, so we have smaller rooms, largers rooms. Guest rooms inside and guest rooms outside, facing north and facing south - you name, our house has it :-)

The core matter we are happy for though is that you enjoyed your stay, serivce was good, you could relax in our solar-heated pool. And, even though bathrooms are not the most modern (and this is because the guesthouse is not focussed on modern, but rather homely and with reflection on personal touch and our love for art), you still enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to enviting you back to Namibia as holiday destination and trust the remainder of your Namibian-adventure was superbly memorable!

Kind regards,

Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

on the hills, overlooking Windhuek, just opposite the presidential grounds. Very nice staff, very nice garden - just a little bit too close to a busy street. But nevertheless a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilmannfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Co-owner & Manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2009

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us. We remain humbled by the lovely guests we receive and how much you enjoy staying with us, as we do hosting you.
Unfortunately cities will remain cities, with street noise and being situated on prominent location opposite State House and off one of the main artery ways for the East part of the City of Windhoek, one can not quite do anything about that one other than a bit of sound-proofing here and there and thick curtaining. This we have tried, but country-side peace and harmony one will only be able to find, well, out in lovely nature.
Thank you for other lovely positive feedback and we look forward to having you visit with us in the furture again.

Kind regards,

Rolf Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We visited Terra Africa at the beginning of our trip and came back at the end. The hosts are wonderful, friendly, funny and very relaxed. Very entertaining. Very nice, big quiet clean rooms. Several areas to relax. Good breakfast. The best B&B we had in Namibia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GermanTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Rolf Hansen, co-owner & manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2008

How brilliant to hear these comments from you! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as this contributes to a good memory of your visit to Namibia and means that hopefully you will be returning soon again to our lovely country!
Thank you for the comments - we will use them and cherish them to continue in striving to be the best we can be!
Warm Namibian Spring-timeRegards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent four nights at Terra Africa. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome. Rolf came out to greet us with welcome drinks and knew exactly who we were, took us to our comfortable rooms and invited us to settle in before coming out for a coffee in the garden.

The place feels inviting, the rooms are private and the communal areas are comfortable. Rolf has a real flair for the hospitality business and is well-suited to his profession.

Johanna is a smiling assistant. Nothing is too much trouble at Terra Africa. The food is excellent and good value. It’s a great place to relax after a long trip – in our case my daughter and I flew in from Australia to meet my husband coming from the Middle East.

Even before we arrived, Rolf was organising transport from the airport for us and when we returned for a social visit after our tour of Namibia, he was booking a restaurant for us. Sadly, there was no vacancy on the return trip and our stay ‘down the road’ further highlighted the difference between a welcoming B&B and one that doesn’t care much.

Our young daughter was enthralled with the search for resident tortoises and meerkats. She even braved the swimming pool. The garden is very relaxing and peaceful.

Terra Africa is highly recommended, you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bilasukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra-Africa, Rolf Hansen, co-owner & manager at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2008

Thank you very much for your warm-hearted feedback! It was indeed lovely to have your family with us! At Terra Africa we always strive to give our best as this reflects on Namibia as much as our Terra Africa-style of accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Terra Africa when hopefully returning to Namibia.
I once again also apologize for the hot water porblem experienced during your stay during the switch-over from electic to solar geysers - and thank you for your understanding - we finally got the new solar pannels sorted out and now we can proudly say the Terra Africa too has "gone green" as our hot water, as well as swimmingpool is now heated by solar panels - YEAYH!!
Keep well and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed at Terra Africa 2 days before safari and it was an ideal start to our holiday, Rolf is the perfect host, you feel like a friend more than a visitor, we returned after our 10 days safari and it was the perfect wind down place, we stayed 6 more nights and Rolf and his family and staff did everything possible to make our stay pleasant.

I would reccommend this place without hesitation, its well worth a visit and theres a fantastic garden to relax in after a long hard day travelling!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EnglandWiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.9 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AnJo Villa Guesthouse
AnJo Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 102 in Windhoek
59 reviews
3 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#3 of 102 in Windhoek
586 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#12 of 102 in Windhoek
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Terra Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Terra Africa

Address: 6 Kenneth McArthur Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: $109 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Terra Africa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hansen & Locher family welcome you to the Terra Africa House. We hope you will relax before or after a trip through our magical Namibia - OR for the business person, a home away from home! Guesthouse Terra Africa has welcomed guests for over a decade to Windhoek and we look forward to seeing you at the Terra Africa House too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Terra Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Terra Africa Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing