We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
58
60
25
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
60
25
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice guesthouse one night safe place excellent location wi fi place to stay city centre last night in namibia walking distance olaf ziggy taxi hosts start gate safari
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 155 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed here twice in August - before and after a trip to the north of Namibia. The guesthouse is a convenient 10 minute walk into town during the day and about €4 at night. Each of the rooms open out onto various courtyards and there are two swimming pools. There is a self service bar which offers a wide range of drinks and its easy to order food if you don't want to go out.
We were warmly welcomed on each occasion to Tamboti, the breakfast was tasty with really good fresh bread. The rooms we had were ensuite with tv, phone etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending Tamboti to friends who are looking for a reasonably priced but friendly and comfortable accommodation option in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed two different nights in Tamboti - one in the middle of our trip and one at the end of our trip. It is a lovely guesthouse. Very clean and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The decoration is simple and the rooms have the standard amenities. What stood out for us was the yummy breakfast, internet, bar, pool, and ability to our laundry - a big plus after a week of camping. The hosts arranged taxis for us and even organized a take out meal when we arrived late. It is a short (10 min.) walk to the center of Windhoek. This is a very hospital place and a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My family and I have stayed in this centrally located guesthouse many times over the past year (we live in a smaller town 2.5h north of Windhoek). Rooms are clean, spacious. Two pools that are fresh and cool (my favorite being the deep pool by the bar). Breakfast is cold (no eggs or bacon), but always very well done and certainly adequate.The guesthouse is 15 minutes walking from the Craftcenter, 20 minutes from Post Street mall. The owners are extremely gracious and have always worked overtime to get us into a room that works well for us and our two year old son. German-oriented and very welcoming to expats and visitors from anywhere. If you have come to Namibia to spend your money and time at Etosha, Sossussvlei or Caprivi, this is a great and economical spot to start your adventures.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed here twice on our recent three week safari to Namibia & Vic Falls. We enjoyed the peace and quiet after each weeks camping.

The rooms we had were very both good and the second one even had a sitting area with couch and chairs. Breakfasts are great and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. There's a terrace for drinks, an honesty bar, pools and internet access.

We walked to a local restaurant (Bauernstube) and took taxis back but it's close enough to walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Surrey_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I have now stayed at this guest house three years in a row and thoroughly enjoyed it each time. The couple who own and run Tamboti make you feel very welcome, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. Tamboti is ideally located on Kerby street a 5 minute walk from the centre of Windhoek.
Ziggy is a wonderful hostess and is very helpful in giving local advise, calling cabs and if you need it reccomending local eateries etc. (although Joes Beer House is the most popular choice!!) The guest house is an ideal starting and ending point if you are taking an overland tour and is a great base if you are making shorter trips out of Windhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Janey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews