We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamboti Guest House
Ranked #22 of 99 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We spent a total of 5 nights at this lovely Guest hotel in Windhoek. The owner and staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. The hotel grounds and rooms were kept very clean, and the terrace and breakfast room nicely decorated. Quiet neighborhood.

The well stocked fridge with beer, wine, water and cold drinks proved to be a major convenience. In walking distance away from grocery stores and banks and center town.

Highly recommended. Would definitely stay there again next time we're in Windhoek

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed here twice in August - before and after a trip to the north of Namibia. The guesthouse is a convenient 10 minute walk into town during the day and about €4 at night. Each of the rooms open out onto various courtyards and there are two swimming pools. There is a self service bar which offers a wide range of drinks and its easy to order food if you don't want to go out.
We were warmly welcomed on each occasion to Tamboti, the breakfast was tasty with really good fresh bread. The rooms we had were ensuite with tv, phone etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending Tamboti to friends who are looking for a reasonably priced but friendly and comfortable accommodation option in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed two different nights in Tamboti - one in the middle of our trip and one at the end of our trip. It is a lovely guesthouse. Very clean and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The decoration is simple and the rooms have the standard amenities. What stood out for us was the yummy breakfast, internet, bar, pool, and ability to our laundry - a big plus after a week of camping. The hosts arranged taxis for us and even organized a take out meal when we arrived late. It is a short (10 min.) walk to the center of Windhoek. This is a very hospital place and a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My family and I have stayed in this centrally located guesthouse many times over the past year (we live in a smaller town 2.5h north of Windhoek). Rooms are clean, spacious. Two pools that are fresh and cool (my favorite being the deep pool by the bar). Breakfast is cold (no eggs or bacon), but always very well done and certainly adequate.The guesthouse is 15 minutes walking from the Craftcenter, 20 minutes from Post Street mall. The owners are extremely gracious and have always worked overtime to get us into a room that works well for us and our two year old son. German-oriented and very welcoming to expats and visitors from anywhere. If you have come to Namibia to spend your money and time at Etosha, Sossussvlei or Caprivi, this is a great and economical spot to start your adventures.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed here twice on our recent three week safari to Namibia & Vic Falls. We enjoyed the peace and quiet after each weeks camping.

The rooms we had were very both good and the second one even had a sitting area with couch and chairs. Breakfasts are great and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. There's a terrace for drinks, an honesty bar, pools and internet access.

We walked to a local restaurant (Bauernstube) and took taxis back but it's close enough to walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Surrey_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I have now stayed at this guest house three years in a row and thoroughly enjoyed it each time. The couple who own and run Tamboti make you feel very welcome, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. Tamboti is ideally located on Kerby street a 5 minute walk from the centre of Windhoek.
Ziggy is a wonderful hostess and is very helpful in giving local advise, calling cabs and if you need it reccomending local eateries etc. (although Joes Beer House is the most popular choice!!) The guest house is an ideal starting and ending point if you are taking an overland tour and is a great base if you are making shorter trips out of Windhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Janey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Steiner
Hotel Pension Steiner
#20 of 99 in Windhoek
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#11 of 99 in Windhoek
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vondelhof Guesthouse
Vondelhof Guesthouse
#16 of 99 in Windhoek
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
Maison Ambre Guesthouse
#14 of 99 in Windhoek
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Guest House

Address: 9 Kerby St. | P O Box 40377, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing