We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$143
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Grove(Windhoek)
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivendell Guest House(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
$45
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$79
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
$51
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
$126
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
54
56
23
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
56
23
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice guesthouseone nightsafe placeexcellent locationplace to staylast night in namibiawalking distanceolafziggytaxistartgatesafari
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 145 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Tamboti at both the start and end of our safari with Wild Dog who had booked this as part of the package. Our experience seems to have been much better than others who have reported. We had a very warm and pleasant welcome from the owner, we were quickly shown to our rooms and had the facilities explained. After the long journey from the UK we did not feel like going out for a meal; Tamboti has an arrangement with a local take-away service and we opted to use this. An excellent meal arrived very promptly, well washed down with drinks from the bar that operates on an honour system. Those expecting a cooked breakfast will be dissapointed, but the continental berakfast that was served was really good and way above average; special mention for the superb fresh bread rolls and the seemingly endless fresh brewed coffee and tea. Like others we chose Joe's beer house on the other two nights, but had no complaints at all about the taxi that Tamboti arranged; on time, clean, licensed etc. and arrived to return us to Tamboti at the arranged time. The rooms are clean comfortable and simple, not all have a bath but all have a shower. Would we use Taboti on a future visit - YES.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbriatravellers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

In a similar scenario as Kryptikmo we had encountered a taxi fiasco with Tamboti. We were recommended Joe's for dinner and they suggested that we only use their "private" taxis as most other taxis would not know where the guesthouse is. On our first stay we had no problems. The taxi driver apparently has been working for Tamboti for over 14 yrs. The driver gave us his cell number and asked us to text him when we were ready to be picked up from Joe's. He had sent another driver and the guy didn't make himself clear who he was working for so we had some hesistancy in getting into the car initially.

On our 2nd stay at Tamboti (a necessity, as Windhoek was our last stop) the driver appeared to be under-the-influence of something. He managed to get us to Joe's beer house (seems to be the only place in Windhoek for good game steak!) in one piece but we had very bad indication that he would cause issues later. We had finished our meal at 21:30 and texted as before. This time there was no response...a long story short - we had to resort to speak to the manager (Raymond?) who managed to call Tamboti after no taxi arrived and other taxi companies seemed to be inundated on the busy Friday. Tamboti refused to call their "private taxi" for us and didn't suggest any alternative. They told Raymond it was "insane" to call them so late and that they were "not a taxi service". Walking back that late from north Windhoek was NOT an option. They were very rude on the phone to Raymond who was pretty shocked. It had taken us over two hours to get back to Tamboti. Raymond called a reputable taxi for us.

The next morning - Tamboti shrugged off the whole incident and didnt seemed to care about out experience and that their driver was less than reliable. No apologies, no sense of empathy. Blamed us for staying out after 10pm!!

Breakfasts were very basic. We had better breakfasts whilst camping! Although the bread rolls were fresh and pretty good.

The bathrooms were very poorly ventilated leading to the rooms feeling and smelling damp.

Bottom line: NOT recommended. I would suggest a guesthouse closer to areas with decent eateries. Our trip to Namibia was marred only by this experience. Everyone else we had contact with had been so friendly and helpful in contrast.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was out stop over point after a flight into Windhoek. The rooms are small, but comfortable enough and the bathrooms are fine also. Breakfast was disappointing - no hot food and fairly basic. The TV has only a few channels and there's nowhere we were told about within walking distance for dinner or drinks. It's fine for a brief stop over before or after a flight, but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night. There is a fridge with drinks in it, self-service and working on the honour system. Our only interaction with the owner was not very pleasant.

We had a bit of a kerfuffle about dinner. We asked the owner to book a taxi to take us to Joe's Beer House for dinner, and she said it should be 10 minutes. Half an hour later (I checked on my watch), it had not arrived and I went to ask her if she could call again. She told me she had only called ten minutes ago and that I should wait longer in a style that made it clear she thought I was being unreasonable...that annoyed me, I must admit.

20 minutes later, the (seemingly unlicensed) 200000km taxi (with broken seatbelts and doors) turned up. She had booked the same taxi for other guests, who had to wait until we were delivered and the taxi returned - they must have been waiting 60 minutes in total for the car.

On the way back, we asked Joe's to book us a taxi to the guest house. This taxi was new, licensed, arrived within 5 minutes and was the same price as the taxi booked by Tamboti. The whole thing left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth over an otherwise comfortable, if rather basic, stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kryptikmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Found this guest house to be acceptable for a one night stop over after a long flight. The rooms are very basic, although the grounds are nice. We found a little missing in the hospitality. The guesthouse does not serve dinner which is fine but after 24 hours of travel we were looking for some dinner. We were shown to our room by the owners son and after some questioning we were told of a local restaurant that delivers but told we could not remove the menu from the common area. After determining our order we went back to our room to phone only to find the place closed on sunday. We approached a second time and again were given a menu for a different restaurant but told not to remove it. This was also the only place in our 3 week stay that did not serve a hot breakfast. They have internet but it was very expensive. Owner also tried to charge us for a pre paid room insisting the voucher we provided stated room had not been paid. When she retreived voucher she realized her error and did apologize. In general the whole experience just seemed a little harder than it should have been

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudoldve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Basic room with a fridge, air con, twin beds, en-suite etc. Plenty of space for luggage and secure storage offered for a late check out. Walked to a local restaurant which was recommended. Felt safe. Good value for a City. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. Internet available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews