We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pension, good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Uhland. Could walk to downtown Windhoek easily. Wifi in room was a littl
e unreliable, but otherwise had no problems and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Good value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saaltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pension Uhland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Uhland for one night prior to leaving on tour and four nights ending our tour in Namibia.
We stayed in a superior room on the second floor, the room was spacious and all facility needed we had in the room.
This hotel is very well located with a short walk to city centre.
The owner helped us tremendously due to our loss of money, passports etc, they did everything to help us out.
We also got a very god contact with the very nice staff working there.
We admire the owners initiative (HUBE) to help children to be able to get education and we really recommend you to go with a staff to a church service if you are there on a Sunday.
Thank you very much Irmgard and Juergen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backman189836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Gunnel
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy that we could help you in this difficult situation and are really looking forward to welcoming you again another time.

Best regards
Irmgard and Jürgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We started and finished our trip to Namibia at the Uhland. Its clean, basic and very very friendly.
The reception staff are very warm and friendly with a nice dose of sarcasm thrown in.
We arrived late on the first night and the service was quick, we got out rooms and then had a bite to eat and lovely bottle of wine. We felt relaxed straight away and that was after a 16 hour flight. On our last morning we had to be before dawn and again the service was great, packed breakfast was ready, car arrived on time. no complaints at all. its not fancy but its good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ausgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've been at your place and tried others, but then we just have to return again. Thank you for the friendly and inviting atmosphere. We especially enjoyed the breakfast.
They hotel is situated near the town centre, which makes it excellent for business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very charming place and staff very helpfull. We arrived at the hotel at 6:30, from the bus terminal and we could have a very good breakfast, in a clear and sunny breakfast room, and wait by the pool until our room was ready, around 9:00. We really appreciated this, it was conforting after a 19 hours bus ride from Livingstone.
Room number 6 was large and sunny, but directly on the parking so a bit noisy with the late arrivals or early departures of the other guest. On the surroundings there are a lot of chairs to relax. I'll be back next week after our tour for our last night in Namibia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was allocated room 9. The air con unit was noisy but I used the ceiling fan instead and this was fairly quiet. Tea/coffee making facilities provided, but no milk. A good selection in the mini bar at reasonable prices. TV was basic and reception varied. A clean room and good shower. There were some small stains on the carpet. An efficient laundry service-in by 1000 washed and dried by 1600. A good choice at breakfast, especially the yoghurt. Dinner snacks were provided and although the choice was limited, the food was tasty and freshly cooked. This was convenient and saved going out to the city centre by taxi. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the main shops on Independence Avenue. Very helpful staff on reception. The packed breakfast, due to an early morning flight was small and disappointing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed at the Uhland for one night prior to leaving on tour. The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us get our bearings with great tips about traveling in town.. The room was plain but comfortable. The breakfast were very good and the breakfast room inviting and sunny. Stayed by the pool waiting for pick up after our stay and the honor bar at the pool is a great touch. The location was good - a bit of a walk into town but not too bad. Would recommend this hotel to people wanting a home base in Windhoek.

Room Tip: If you can't walk up a fllight of stairs be sure to mention that at booking time.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#16 of 16 in Windhoek
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing