We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay when in Capitol City Windhoek!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel Pension Uhland has great clean rooms, nice grounds, a great breakfast and a great staff. This is my second year in staying with them when visiting Namibia's fine Capitol City. The hotel is nicely located and very safe anf the price is good and inline with the services provided.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amethyst-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pension Uhland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is okay. The owners are friendly but very business-minded. The distance to downtown is okay, but can be very strenous in the summerheat. There are some places to sit and relax in the poolarea, but don´t look around the corner in the backyard where there´s a lot of rubbish lying around. It´s okay for a short stay around arrival and departure ....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisekaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel location is okay.It was over 30 degrees in Windhoek and our room had a huge fan that did nothing to cool a room with a corrugated roofs, the fan's noise was worse than the heat.
Beds were also uncormfortable. we had handsoap in the shower as bath gel.....

Rooms are clean but old and not appealing (the one we had). There was a lot of noise in the morning as guests were driving off, the rooms face the parking. Breaksfast was fair, but kicthen staff looked tired and not keen to assist. For $85 during peak season, you can find a much better place like Villa Moringa where we had also stayed. Would not go back.

Room Tip: Dont take the rooms that face the parking, they are prefabs, so get so hot and noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here overnight before departing for a trip around Namibia and for an overnight stay was OK. Not all of the rooms have air conditioning and the rooms would benefit from refurbishment. They were however clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located conveniently close to the centre oh Windhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Location is convenient. Breakfasts nice. There was not a remote to use the air conditioning in my room. I had mentioned this to to the front desk, but did not receive one. Had to take a cold shower in the evening for lack of hot water. There is a pool. Internet is available on a terminal in the dining room, but you pay in ten minute increments. If I had no other options, I would stay here again but think there are are better options to pursue in Windhoek.

Room Tip: Check to see if shower works.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Uhland guest house is a very pleasant and friendly place to stay during your time in Windhoek. It is well located, just on the fringes of the central city in a quiet suburb, an easy15 min walk into the central city. Great places nearby for running and walking and views over the city.

The guest house is in a secure compound with lots of large trees and a limited amount of free car parking. The rooms are of good quality with plenty of windows, AC, stocked fridge, TV, and ensuite bathrooms. My room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, and I had a very good night’s sleep. There is free Wifi throughout which is a nice touch but the connection is rather slow, as in most of the country. The whole place looked well-maintained and cared for. Except for the pool. The small pool didn’t appear all that clean, with leaves and debris floating all over it.

The breakfast was reasonable but nothing great. The dining area was actually a bit cramped and I had to wait a few minutes for a place to sit down. Don’t arrive late or there won’t be much left there for you to eat! They’re not very diligent about refilling and replacing the food. The guesthouse staff are friendly and helpful and I felt at home here.

I had a great stay here. I recommend this guest house to other travelers and I will continue to stay here again in the future. I felt it was great value for about $70/night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

beautiful hotel, nice people, everything perfect. We love breakfast at the hotel, the family room was large and clean. It is a very quiet hotel, Well located for those who want to stay near the center of Windhoek. it was a family holiday , and we took our two kids 2 and 4 years, they loved it! the dogs are friendly with the guests. we will return.

família Cruz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4cruzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
1,393 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#16 of 16 in Windhoek
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing