We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly spot for a stay in Windhoek.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Uhland guest house is a very pleasant and friendly place to stay during your time in Windhoek. It is well located, just on the fringes of the central city in a quiet suburb, an easy15 min walk into the central city. Great places nearby for running and walking and views over the city.

The guest house is in a secure compound with lots of large trees and a limited amount of free car parking. The rooms are of good quality with plenty of windows, AC, stocked fridge, TV, and ensuite bathrooms. My room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, and I had a very good night’s sleep. There is free Wifi throughout which is a nice touch but the connection is rather slow, as in most of the country. The whole place looked well-maintained and cared for. Except for the pool. The small pool didn’t appear all that clean, with leaves and debris floating all over it.

The breakfast was reasonable but nothing great. The dining area was actually a bit cramped and I had to wait a few minutes for a place to sit down. Don’t arrive late or there won’t be much left there for you to eat! They’re not very diligent about refilling and replacing the food. The guesthouse staff are friendly and helpful and I felt at home here.

I had a great stay here. I recommend this guest house to other travelers and I will continue to stay here again in the future. I felt it was great value for about $70/night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

beautiful hotel, nice people, everything perfect. We love breakfast at the hotel, the family room was large and clean. It is a very quiet hotel, Well located for those who want to stay near the center of Windhoek. it was a family holiday , and we took our two kids 2 and 4 years, they loved it! the dogs are friendly with the guests. we will return.

família Cruz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4cruzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very disappointed in the place. July is winter in Windhoek and I am accustomed to winter in southern Africa and know most establishments do not have central heat. That is no problem. But, they should have provided a space heater - it was down right freezing. The shower had hot water in the evening but not in the morning. The shower sprays all over the place. The TV has 22 channels and ALL 22 channels play the one same station. Not all the room's electrical outlets work, and those that do work only some times work. The one desk clerk I encountered was "business-like," one was down right rude, and one was very nice/friendly. Breakfast food was good, but on one day the breakfast staff was rude and on the other day they were courteous, but not overly. Security fence on the driveway starts you off with a real bad taste for Windhoek. Internet was down right horrid. They should be ashamed for charging for it. Some times it worked and some times it did not. It usually did not. When it worked it was painfully slow. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klipspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

At first sight Pension Uhland is not very exciting: a non-descript house in a non-descript neighborhood. But every time I go to Windhoek on business, it’s where I tend to stay, because this German-run guesthouse works like clockwork, is impeccably clean… and is within walking distance of my appointments. Guesthouses tend to be ground floor only, with plenty of vegetation, and that means little sun or light. Uhland has a first floor, with a balcony, you do get the sun all day long, and that’s a blessing in the chilly winter months. An efficient AC/heater makes sure that the temperature remains comfortable throughout the baroque variations of the Windhoek climate (when I was there last July, it was - 1° C at night, and + 22° C in the afternoon… ). The furniture is simple and reminiscent of the Schwarzwald Klinik, but it’s functional. And, last but not least, there is a huge table to work on. Outdoors, you can work on your tan on the loungers gathered around the small pool. The cool but professional managers, Jürgen and Irmgard, live in a little house in the compound, they have a baby, a dog and two cats, that are part of the daily scenery, so it’s like being at home. Breakfast is OK, don’t arrive too late though, since nearly all guests are German tourists fresh from the plane and embarking after one night at Uhland on a desert tour at ungodly hours, which means that by 7h30am most of them are on the road with a full stomach courtesy of Uhland, leaving behind an empty buffet – not always restocked for the remaining guests. Dinner, I am sorry to say, is best avoided at Uhland. I tried a few times but it was heavy, greasy, in a nutshell not good. And the fumes coming up from the kitchen every night into my room were a daily reminder that I was right to rather look for dinner elsewhere. You can walk (I know, you are not supposed to walk at night in Windhoek, but I never felt threatened) to Portuga (great Portuguese restaurant) or the tacky but fun Joe’s Beerhouse. Actually it’s a 15-20 mn pleasant walk to downtown, which makes Uhland one of the most central guesthouses in Windhoek, since most of them are located in residential, hence more out of the way, neighborhoods.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
3  Thank RendezVousParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Booked through Cardboard Box with no problems.

Hotel is a good value B&B place - £40 per room per night - with spacious rooms that are bedroom and lounge combined. Ours was clean and adequately furnished with TV, tea/coffee maker, mini-bar fridge and usual furniture. Bathroom and shower good. Breakfast is a reasonable buffet. If you want it dinner is served in the evening (missed out on warthog due to catching plane out - drat!). There is also an unmanned outside bar where you just write down in a notebook what you've consumed. It also has a swimming pool and secure parking, plus an aviary full of lovebirds. The hosts are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Partyverleiher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank XSExxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
252 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,462 reviews
3 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#16 of 17 in Windhoek
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $55 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing