We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pension Uhland
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very disappointed in the place. July is winter in Windhoek and I am accustomed to winter in southern Africa and know most establishments do not have central heat. That is no problem. But, they should have provided a space heater - it was down right freezing. The shower had hot water in the evening but not in the morning. The shower sprays all over the place. The TV has 22 channels and ALL 22 channels play the one same station. Not all the room's electrical outlets work, and those that do work only some times work. The one desk clerk I encountered was "business-like," one was down right rude, and one was very nice/friendly. Breakfast food was good, but on one day the breakfast staff was rude and on the other day they were courteous, but not overly. Security fence on the driveway starts you off with a real bad taste for Windhoek. Internet was down right horrid. They should be ashamed for charging for it. Some times it worked and some times it did not. It usually did not. When it worked it was painfully slow. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klipspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

At first sight Pension Uhland is not very exciting: a non-descript house in a non-descript neighborhood. But every time I go to Windhoek on business, it’s where I tend to stay, because this German-run guesthouse works like clockwork, is impeccably clean… and is within walking distance of my appointments. Guesthouses tend to be ground floor only, with plenty of vegetation, and that means little sun or light. Uhland has a first floor, with a balcony, you do get the sun all day long, and that’s a blessing in the chilly winter months. An efficient AC/heater makes sure that the temperature remains comfortable throughout the baroque variations of the Windhoek climate (when I was there last July, it was - 1° C at night, and + 22° C in the afternoon… ). The furniture is simple and reminiscent of the Schwarzwald Klinik, but it’s functional. And, last but not least, there is a huge table to work on. Outdoors, you can work on your tan on the loungers gathered around the small pool. The cool but professional managers, Jürgen and Irmgard, live in a little house in the compound, they have a baby, a dog and two cats, that are part of the daily scenery, so it’s like being at home. Breakfast is OK, don’t arrive too late though, since nearly all guests are German tourists fresh from the plane and embarking after one night at Uhland on a desert tour at ungodly hours, which means that by 7h30am most of them are on the road with a full stomach courtesy of Uhland, leaving behind an empty buffet – not always restocked for the remaining guests. Dinner, I am sorry to say, is best avoided at Uhland. I tried a few times but it was heavy, greasy, in a nutshell not good. And the fumes coming up from the kitchen every night into my room were a daily reminder that I was right to rather look for dinner elsewhere. You can walk (I know, you are not supposed to walk at night in Windhoek, but I never felt threatened) to Portuga (great Portuguese restaurant) or the tacky but fun Joe’s Beerhouse. Actually it’s a 15-20 mn pleasant walk to downtown, which makes Uhland one of the most central guesthouses in Windhoek, since most of them are located in residential, hence more out of the way, neighborhoods.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
3  Thank RendezVousParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Booked through Cardboard Box with no problems.

Hotel is a good value B&B place - £40 per room per night - with spacious rooms that are bedroom and lounge combined. Ours was clean and adequately furnished with TV, tea/coffee maker, mini-bar fridge and usual furniture. Bathroom and shower good. Breakfast is a reasonable buffet. If you want it dinner is served in the evening (missed out on warthog due to catching plane out - drat!). There is also an unmanned outside bar where you just write down in a notebook what you've consumed. It also has a swimming pool and secure parking, plus an aviary full of lovebirds. The hosts are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m0ne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrannersmann, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Heike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres 7/8/9/10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürgen R, Inhaber at Hotel Pension Uhland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cheetah04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 17 in Windhoek
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Uhland

Address: 147 Dr. Kenneth David Kaunda Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: $42 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Uhland 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pension Uhland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing