We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olive Grove
Nearby Hotels
$168
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
$154
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Country Bed & Breakfast(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension Uhland(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
$57
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
$60
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
$148
$128
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
254
260
76
23
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
260
76
23
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolished concreteone nightexecutive suiteprince harrylast nightguest houseluxury roomplunge pooltravel agentlarge bathroomcity centrejoe's beerhousebreakfast was excellentfirst stoplovely guesthousepacked breakfastself drive
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 615 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Before arriving in Namibia, we visited Capetown, Sa. We took the Robben Island tour, and I have to say, other than the bedding, and the flush toilets, the room at the Olive Grove reminded me of Nelson Mandella's cell. The concrete floor made the room look like they had just ripped out the carpeting, tile , or whatever. The room was cold and charmless. In addition when you are paying first class rates, the least you expect is a complimentary bottle of water in the room (they do have water for a charge in the mini bar). When you check in, they tell you about the computer that is available for your use; then you find out, that you must pay by the minute for useage. In our visit of three countries in Africa, this is the only property, that charged for these products. Unfortunately Windhoek apperars to be nothing more than a transfer point in Namibia, and I am not sure there is anything much better; perhaps the Relais and Chateaux property might be a better alternative, but it was not available on our night.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank haba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

This is a great place to use a base when doing the loops around Namibia. The owners bend over backwards to help, they're friendly and efficient - and the staff are great. The breakfasts are truly memorable!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank brightonmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at Olive Grove for a couple of nights at the beginning and end of our Namibia trip. To be honest, we were also completely surprised by the beautiful design and layout of the guest house.

It is a perfect haven of cleanliness, peace and tranquillity after the dust and heat of the rest of Namibia. The lounge area is cosy and comfortable - perfect for a G&T - and the bedrooms were immaculately clean, with great designed bathrooms and well stocked minibar (including lovely homemade biscuits).

Olive Grove is also perfectly placed for Joe's Beerhouse which is a must for any traveller to Windhoek (although we would also recommend eating at Nice which is the other side of town near the Polytechnic).

All in all a brilliant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Backpack1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

The Olive Grove is a great choice for an upmarket relaxing stay in Windhoek before/after a Namibia tour. Windhoek has little to keep the
tourist entertained but you can easily relax here for the day in the airy courtyard / pool area.

The rooms are finished in a polished concrete style which makes them lovely and cool in Summer but could make them cold in Winter. The bed and linen were all of a high standard.

A delicious breakfast is served on a lovely patio area. The hotel also
does evening meals.

The cheaper rooms are close to the breakfast area which could make them a litlle noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We spent one night at the Olive Grove at the start of our trip and it was excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated, although if you don't like natural stone decor its probably not the place for you to stay. It also has a small plunge pool, jacuzzi and sun terrace.

Breakfast and lunch were very good, and dinner looked nice - although we headed to nearby Joe's Steakhouse which was well worth a visit.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the first night set us up nicely for the rest of the trip.

However, you probably wouldn't want to spend much more than a night here, possibly at the start/end of your trip, as the location isn't great for central Windhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews